We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superior Service and Comfortable”
Review of The Parisi Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Parisi Hotel
Ranked #1 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superior Service and Comfortable”
Reviewed 9 September 2013

The best thing about the St. Deny's is the service! The sisters that operate this little hotel are wonderful. They are happy to help with almost any request and will go out of their way to make a person feel comfortable.

The bedrooms are clean and fresh. The breakfast is delicious.

The biggest drawback to the St. Deny's is the poor wi-fi connection. Travelers like to update their friends on their whereabouts and search for things to do in town during a visit. The wi-fi at the St. Deny's wasn't sufficient in 3 of the rooms that I tried it in.

Room Tip: Choose a room that faces the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jcs10der
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StDenysHotelYork, Owner at The Parisi Hotel, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Dear jcs10der, thank you so much for taking the time to review us and your kind words. We're glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are so sorry that the WiFi was not working for you during your stay. We're glad to say that we have subsequently upgraded the WiFi throughout the hotel and so hopefully if you were to return you would be able to stay well connected. All very best wishes, Maria and Sophie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

622 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    560
    55
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
58
455
16
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cockermouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Me and my boyfriend stayed here the 30th august until the 2nd september, the staff were all fantastic and very helpful. The room was lovely and clean and had everything you needed. The breakfast was great and nicely presented, the location couldn't of been better! we were only a 5-10 minute walk from the city centre, the hotel also has parking which was brilliant for us!!
We would defiantly stay here again and recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nicola1912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StDenysHotelYork, Owner at The Parisi Hotel, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Dear nicola1912, thank you so much for your lovely review. We really do appreciate it and are glad you had such a nice time. Hope to see you again soon! All best wishes, Sophie and Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Staff at this hotel are friendly and helpful, breakfast was excellent, Room was clean and well stocked with tea and coffee etc; ideally located and in walking distance of all of Yorks attractions. Would recommend. Would definitely stay again

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eileen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StDenysHotelYork, Owner at The Parisi Hotel, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Dear Eileen R, thank you so much for your kind words. We're really pleased you had a nice time here and hope to see you again soon! All best wishes, Maria and Sophie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Visited here for a 1 night stay. Ideal location from the city centre. Fantastic,helpful staff, made sure it was a comfortable stay. Room was clean, bed very comfortable. Breakfast was amazing. Everything you'd ever need!

Room Tip: Standard Double
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cazza75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StDenysHotelYork, Owner at The Parisi Hotel, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Dear cazza75, thank you so much for taking the time to review us and your kind words. We're really glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon! All best wishes, Sophie and Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
co durham
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

visited this hotel for a 1 night stay whilst at the ebor race meeting stayed in double room.
Room had a couple of stains on carpet but apart from this room was clean ,big jacuzzi bath comfortable bed ,breakfast very good and staff pleasant and helpful .
Only paid £59 for one night stay b/b ,very good value .
Hotel is not the ritz but was ideal for what we used it for sleeping and out.

Room Tip: like i said value for money if you just want a bed for the night
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peter c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StDenysHotelYork, Owner at The Parisi Hotel, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Dear peter c, thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. We are very glad that you found the hotel good value for money for a stay in the centre of York and we're pleased to read that you enjoyed the breakfast and that the staff were pleasant and helpful. We had just taken over the hotel during the Ebor races and have since embarked on a programme of refurbishment, including new carpets throughout. We hope that if you chose to return you would see quite a difference! All best wishes, Maria and Sophie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,258 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
1.9 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.8 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#19 of 47 in York
1,485 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Principal York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Parisi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Parisi Hotel

Property: The Parisi Hotel
Address: 51 St. Denys Road, York YO1 9QD, England (Formerly St Denys Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 47 Hotels in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Parisi Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Parisi Hotel (formerly St Denys Hotel) is a tiny boutique hotel with bags of character in York city centre. With only 11 rooms, we provide a truly personal service and our award-winning team is ready around the clock to give you as much or as little attention as you like. The building is unique; charming and historic, filled with original art, a mish mash of colours to create a warm and characterful place to relax. The hotel is handy for the train station or our on-site drop off area and free off-site parking makes bringing your car simple. Free wifi throughout the hotel keeps you connected if you want to be and a delicious, locally sourced, ethically produced breakfast is included in the rate if you book directly with us. York’s fascinating history and culture is on the doorstep, with York Minster and the many historic houses, museums and galleries a short stroll away, not to mention many of York’s best independent restaurants, cafes and shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Parisi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing