We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel in York”
Review of The Parisi Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Parisi Hotel
Ranked #1 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 August 2014

I travel around the world and know England well, and I can say quite simply that this little hotel near the center of town is one of the best I've stayed in: excellent service, comfortable rooms, great food, great location. If you're looking for a no frills, convenient, comfortable hotel, you can't go wrong. 5 stars, hands down.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FM123460763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StDenysHotelYork, Owner at The Parisi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Dear FM123460763, thank you so much for taking the time to write a review and for such high praise. We're thrilled to read the hotel is one of the best you have stayed in and that you found us so convenient and comfortable. We will pass on your kind words to all the team who will be really pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay so much. It was great to meet you and we hope we might see you again the next time you visit York. All very best wishes, Sophie and Maria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (646)
There are newer reviews for The Parisi Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

563 - 569 of 646 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2014

Stayed for 2 nights and can honestly say there was nothing we did not enjoy about our stay! Sophie and Maria are just lovely, and the little touches like having umbrellas to borrow if it is raining, to supplying make-up wipes in the room just made the stay that little bit more comfortable.
I would thoroughly recommend staying at the St Denys, and will definitely stay again the next time I visit York.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Delighted123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StDenysHotelYork, Owner at The Parisi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Dear Delighted123, thank you so much for taking the time to write a review and for your kind words about the place. We're so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back next time! All best wishes, Sophie and Maria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

My wife and I decided to book a night away in York together at St Denys hotel. This was due to the quality online reviews.
From arrival to departure the staff were extremely professional and polite. Advice was given on where to visit , along with recommendations for eating out.
The hotel itself was fantastic, room was immaculate with lovely little touches , breakfast in the morning was great, cereals and fruit to start followed by a full English, plenty of choice, even catered for gluten free.
Will definitely be returning and taking children with us next time.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StDenysHotelYork, Owner at The Parisi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Dear Carl and Gail, thank you so much for taking the time to write a review and for all your kind comments. We're so pleased to read that we lived up to the reviews you had read online before your stay - we have been so grateful to everyone who has shared their experience to help people who might enjoy staying with us to find us. We love making suggestions on places to visit and eat/drink to try to help people get the most out of their stay in York. We're glad you liked the breakfast - it is largely locally sourced, free range and the compotes are homemade. We can cater for gluten free as well as dairy free and vegetarian diets and if there is something specific people would like we are more than happy to try to get it. We very much look forward to seeing you again - our Biggest Room is ideal for families if you do decide to bring your children with you next time. Thanks again for your kind words. All very best wishes, Sophie and Maria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Spent a night in York with wife and 3 kids
Service was exceptional from the minute we got there
lucky enough to get the huge room with high ceilings on the main level
perfect location in the heart of medieval york
I wouldn't hesitate to stay there again
I only wish it was longer!

Room Tip: main level room is awesome if you can score it for a family
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Faizal B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StDenysHotelYork, Owner at The Parisi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Dear Faizal B, thank you so much for taking the time to review us and for all your kind words. We are really glad you enjoyed your stay and found the Biggest Room suited your needs. It is a lovely room with beautiful original shutters and plenty of space. We're also glad you found the location convenient being within the city walls and less than 5 minutes' walk from many of the attractions such as the Merchant Adventurers' Hall, the Shambles, the Jorvik Viking centre, the Castle Museum and Clifford's Tower and 10 minutes through the city centre to York Minster. We hope we might see you again if you and your family are ever back in this part of the world on another occasion. All very best wishes, Sophie and Maria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We stayed for a family wedding in York and the owners were helpful in advance suggesting a florist & places to eat nearby. Amazing place to stay! The owners were so very helpful they could not do enough for us - it is the little touches - Nepressos machines in the bedrooms - umbrellas left out when it rained little notes about the car parking & chocolates left for bedtime yum! Gave us extra bed in the room for our small children. It has fantastic paintings on the walls it is clean, welcoming, the breakfasts so delicious we had to leave before we moved up a dress size - homemade compots and scrambled eggs with salmon, or the full English breakfast works. The toiletries are from a small organic company in Sedbergh. The bed were very comfortable. We had several members of the family come as non-residents for breakfast with six children under seven, which was very special as we live on three different continents and was super for all the little cousins to get together. The St Denys is truly one of the most comfortable best places I have stayed in the past year.

Room Tip: We had the super room with two little children in it and was a bit of a squash but the family room w...
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank katie_emma_reeves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StDenysHotelYork, Owner at The Parisi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Dear katie_emma_reeves, thank you so much for your lovely review. We're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and that you liked so much about the place. We love trying to help out with advice and suggestions if we can. We're glad you liked the little touches - sadly the weather over the past couple of weeks has meant we've seen far too much of our umbrella stash recently! We're also glad you enjoyed the breakfasts - we source as much as we can from some great local suppliers such as outdoor reared pork sausages and bacon and locally smoked salmon. We searched high and low for toiletries that were organic and locally made and are so pleased you liked them. They are very pure and so great for sensitive skin and we have gone for big bottles so people can use as much as they like while they're here. Thanks again for all your kind words and we hope we might see you again if you are back in this neck of the woods on another occasion. All best wishes, Sophie and Maria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

This hotel is such a find in york.i booked it on the reviews of other trip advisor reviews.me and my husband were not dissappointed at all.one of the scott sisters met us on arrival to carry ourv luggage to our room.this was nice touch as we had already informed them we needed a room nearest reception area because i had a back problem.they put us in room 1 which was ideal.the owners in my opinion have got all the finer touches right ie complimentary toiletries,tissues ,pens ,note paper etc.the breakfast was superb with plenty of choice plus lighter options as well.our room was cleaned impeccably and the bed was very comfortable.the hotel is on a quiet side street with a 5 mins walk to the city centre.there are 3or 4 restaurants nearby and a local pub.the owners were always visible and couldnt do enough for you if you needed any info about the area.the only negative is that the hotel car park is only small so try and arrive early which we did as you may not get a space.but dont let this put you off as im sure the owners will have plans if they run out of space.overall we enjoyed our stay and booked again before we left to visit when the xmas markets are in november.keep up the good work .

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 35debs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StDenysHotelYork, Owner at The Parisi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Dear 35debs, thank you so much for your lovely review. We're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and that you liked so much about the place, choosing to book again for the Christmas markets in November. We will always try to help with bags when we can and if people get in touch with a specific request before booking we will do our best to accommodate them. We're glad that room 1 was suitable for you and have reserved it again for your next stay. It is great to read you thought we got all the finer details right - we spent a lot of time sourcing and researching everything in the rooms choosing as much as possible from local designer makers and artists - they will be pleased to hear you enjoyed the results of their hard work. Being in the centre of York, it is quite rare to have on site parking but we do try to explain that it is limited and available completely free on a first come first served basis. If our on site spaces fill up we offer free dedicated spaces about 200 metres away. If these fill up then we offer complimentary vouchers for a secure car park around 400 metres away. We just spotted recently that a nearby hotel charges £18 per day for parking and then £15 for WiFi (which we include for free) so we're pleased to be offering great value in comparison. Thanks again for all your kind words and we look forward to seeing you again in November. All best wishes, Sophie and Maria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

You couldn't ask for a better location in central York with parking. Maria made us feel very welcome to their hotel. Our room was very cosy with a lovely big bed that was most comfortable.
The selection for breakfast is excellent. The information I was given on places to eat and drink was most helpful. This was all contained in an e mail confirming my booking. Great place to stay.

Room Tip: Bigger Bed bedrooms may be a little more expensive but worth it.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hungryman47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StDenysHotelYork, Owner at The Parisi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Dear hungryman47, thank you so much for your lovely review. It is great to read you found us friendly and comfortable and were pleased with our location in central York. We're glad you liked the breakfast - it is largely locally sourced, free range and the compotes are homemade. It also great to read you found our recommendations helpful - we love making suggestions about nice places to eat and drink and are quite spoiled having so many on the door step. We agree with your tip about the Bigger rooms - while the Compact and House doubles have everything you need for a short stay or budget break we would recommend going for a Bigger Bed Plus room for a bit more space, some comfy chairs and huge 42 inch TVs. Thanks again and we hope we might see you again if you are up this way on another occasion. All best wishes, Sophie and Maria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.5 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,340 reviews
1.9 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#17 of 47 in York
1,506 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.9 mi away
Mount Royale Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Parisi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Parisi Hotel

Address: 51 St. Denys Road, York YO1 9QD, England (Formerly St Denys Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 47 Hotels in York
Price Range: £124 - £161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Parisi Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Parisi Hotel (formerly St Denys Hotel) is a tiny boutique hotel with bags of character in York city centre. With only 11 rooms, we provide a truly personal service and our award-winning team is ready around the clock to give you as much or as little attention as you like. The building is unique; charming and historic, filled with original art, a mish mash of colours to create a warm and characterful place to relax. The hotel is handy for the train station or our on-site drop off area and free off-site parking makes bringing your car simple. Free wifi throughout the hotel keeps you connected if you want to be and a delicious, locally sourced, ethically produced breakfast is included in the rate if you book directly with us. York’s fascinating history and culture is on the doorstep, with York Minster and the many historic houses, museums and galleries a short stroll away, not to mention many of York’s best independent restaurants, cafes and shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your The Parisi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing