We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B in fantastic location”
Review of Mowbray House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mowbray House
Ranked #85 of 194 York B&B and Inns
Reviewed 17 June 2010

We heavily rely on Tripadvisor when choosing accommodation. With very few reviews and none very recently, we were wary of staying here at first. However, we decided to take the plunge and we were not disappointed. We love staying at B&Bs and have stayed in different places across the various grading categories. This is a very good 3 star B&B – probably at the top end of the 3 star range. The bedroom and bathroom were spotless. The breakfast was very good and generous (especially for a 3 star place). The hosts were very friendly and welcoming and provided a lot of useful information as soon as we arrived. Conveniently located 10mins walk from the Minster.

I can see that there may be an issue with the sound proofing of rooms. But everyone was courteous and it wasn’t a problem for us. We enjoyed staying here and really recommend it.

Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
1  Thank vanandalan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (67)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

62 - 67 of 67 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2010

We travelled from Ireland to York at the Whit weekend and stayed once again at this fantastic Bed & Breakfast. Carol & Phil are just amazing, they made us feel so welcome. The room was great and the breakfast was better than any 5 star hotel.The B & B is ideally situated for anybody visiting York, only 10 minutes to town. I have recommended this B & B to several of my friends should they visit York. I am really looking forward to a return visit as as I can.....

Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
1  Thank marsireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2009

There is nothing I can say that can express just how wonderfull this Guest house is. The owners were so friendly and cheerfull, the rooms were perfect, and the breakfast was out of this world. We were so pleased that at check out time we booked in again for next year.
The bed was comfortable and soft, the amenities were spot on. I urge everyone who visits York to stay at this Guest House, Carol was a wonderful, smiling hostess and nothing was too much trouble. As for her breakfasts, my gosh I have never tasted anything like it. The food was cooked to perfection and the sausage actually had flavour which is so hard to find in guest houses these days.
Thank you both so much for ending our travel with a perfect 2 nights in your brilliant place. We can't wait to come again.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hbolton_xyx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2004

We would just like to put on record what a fantastic time we had in York. The service and welcome at Mowbray House was second to none. The room was immaculate, clean and well maintained. The decor appeared fresh and their policy of being a non-smoking establishment certainly pays dividends unlike other places we have stayed. The full English breakfast was very tasty and we would recommend you look no further than Mowbray House for your stay in the delightful city of York.

3  Thank denshep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2003

After spending 5 weeks traveling about England, I can say that this is one of the nicest B & B's that we found. The place is well decorated and immaculate. The rooms are very comfortable. Mr. and Mrs. Dawson were warm and friendly and very helpful. Their place is about a 10 minute walk to the Minster and did not prove to be a problem for my friend (who is in her mid 70's) and I. I would highly recommend this B & B to anyone who is looking for high quality, reasonable accomidations.

4  Thank BOC68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
New Westminster, BC
11
Reviewed 31 March 2003

Last time I was in the U.K. I made it a point to check out Mowbray House. I was pleased to see that the house is being kept in good condition and that it does indeed still stand. You see, this house has special meaning to me as my father, Wilfred Edward Mowbray, was the last Mowbray ever to be born in that house. He and his two brothers were all born in Mowbray house where they lived at the time as it was the family home. I don't know when it was sold or why, but to me it still signifies family. If anyone has any more information regarding the house and the family, I'd love to hear from you!

1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.5 mi away
B+B York
B+B York
#4 of 47 in York
581 reviews
0.0 mi away
Burton Villa Guest House
0.0 mi away
Park View Guest House
Park View Guest House
#173 of 194 in York
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Friars Rest Guest House
1.3 mi away
Farthings Guest House
Farthings Guest House
#52 of 194 in York
204 reviews
1.3 mi away
Holgate Bridge Hotel
Holgate Bridge Hotel
#86 of 194 in York
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mowbray House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mowbray House

Address: 34 Haxby Road, York YO31 8JX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 194 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range: £73 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Mowbray House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing