We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent *AND* unpretenteous”
Review of Elliotts

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in York
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Elliotts
Ranked #97 of 192 York B&B and Inns
norwich
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Excellent *AND* unpretenteous”
Reviewed 24 September 2013

A very well located B&B, in a lovely old (large!) house. Room was large, bed was huge (two large singles pushed together to make a beyond-king-double). Breakfast room was nice, breakfasts excellent - especially the poached eggs, which I recommend.

Don't forget to ask about the "secret railway shortcut"

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bugbear6502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maudybrown, Owner at Elliotts, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Thank you for such a great review. It is so good to hear from our guests after their stay. Pleased you enjoyed yourselves. Maureen x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    173
    25
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
30
113
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Baldock, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Stayed here having seen other TripAdvisor reviews for Elliotts and can only add my praise to the others. Lovely welcoming owners and staff, spacious room (Room 3) and bed, great breakfast (love the black pudding), convenient location and off-road parking in a wonderful city; what more do you want? We can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maudybrown, Owner at Elliotts, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Thank you so much for your very kind review. It is good to hear you loved the black pudding. I do too. Look forward to seeing you next time. Maureen x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport
Level 6 Contributor
283 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights due to the excellent reviews, central location and parking spaces. We weren't disappointed. The owners were so friendly, helpful and welcoming. You can walk through the Yorkshire Museum gardens to anywhere in the centre of York within 10-15 minutes. The rooms were a good size and although our en-suite was compact, it was usable and fine for a couple of nights. Super king size beds were comfortable and the rooms were clean and furnished to a good standard with wall mounted flat screen tv's. We would definitely consider staying again next time we visit York.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TruerReviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maudybrown, Owner at Elliotts, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Thank you for such a lovely review. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Maureen x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Egremont, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Had an excellent time in York this weekend with our friends .Lucky for us we had Elliotts b&b recommended to us by another friend ,and we had already experience the warm welcome and the excellent service .Maureen,Phil & sheila,just couldn t do enough for us during our stay.The rooms were lovely clean and very spacious.Ideal location for the perfect weekend break.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amanda12013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maudybrown, Owner at Elliotts, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
It was lovely to meet you and I am so happy you enjoyed your stay with us. Sheila is going to be delighted with all the lovely compliments. X Maureen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We spent one night, unfortunately, at this beautifully presented B & B. The rooms were very clean, quiet, spacious and had great comfy beds. Maureen & Phil made us feel at home and were very hospitable. There was a good choice for breakfast which was cooked superbly and ably served by a wonderful lady Sheila who was a ray of sunshine in the dining room. An added bonus staying at Elliotts is that it is a short walk to the town (where there is so much to see & do). Another big plus is that there is off-street parking here & Maureen kindly let us keep our car there on the day of departure until 1.30pm so we could explore the city of York.

Room Tip: As there were four of us we had the family room which was up a few stairs but it would only be a pro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Saurus_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maudybrown, Owner at Elliotts, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
What a smashing review. Our lovely guests make this job worthwhile. Thank you. Maureen x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

just retuned from a long weekend at Elliotts in York.Met by lovely couple Maureen and Phil and made to feel very welcome. Room clean and spacious with large en-suite. great location all within walking distance of all attractions A very good selection for breakfast served by a lovely young lady called Sheila (hope she is still there when we return) Lots of little extras, fans in rooms,umbrellas and walking sticks in hallway

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ken c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maudybrown, Owner at Elliotts, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
What a lovely review. Thank you so much. I am really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Maureen x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balnarring, Victoria, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We have just returned from staying at the Elliot's we only stayed 1 night but we were made to feel very welcome by our hosts the rooms were very comfortable... Great location with the added bonus of having their own parking... The breakfast was amazing with all our requests met by Shirley ,s smiling face... Nothing was too much.. We would certainly go back ...

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maudybrown, Owner at Elliotts, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
Thank you so much for your great comments. Hope we see you again x Maureen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 mi away
Hedley House
Hedley House
#14 of 47 in York
1,548 reviews
0.0 mi away
Alcuin Lodge
Alcuin Lodge
#3 of 192 in York
350 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Hazelwood
The Hazelwood
#42 of 192 in York
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
23 St. Mary's
23 St. Mary's
#16 of 192 in York
212 reviews
0.0 mi away
Beech House
Beech House
#69 of 192 in York
281 reviews
0.2 mi away
Abbey Guest House
Abbey Guest House
#48 of 192 in York
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elliotts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elliotts

Property: Elliotts
Address: 2 Sycamore Place, York YO30 7DW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #97 of 192 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Privately owned guest house only 5 minutes walk into the city centre. Free on-site car park. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Elliotts Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing