We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent as always”
Review of Elliotts

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in York
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Elliotts
Ranked #103 of 194 York B&B and Inns
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Thanks you to Maureen and Phil for making our three night stay so enjoyable. We had a lovely large comfortable room, excellent breakfasts (thank you to Margaret and Sheila) and as ever the car park is such a bonus. We have no hesitation in recommending Elliott's.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maudybrown, Owner at Elliotts, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2014

Thank you so much. It was our pleasure and I will be sure to tell Margaret and Sheila. Look forward to seeing you again. Maureen x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (203)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 203 reviews

Reviewed 21 January 2014

This hotel is very central to York city.

Car park available on site.

rooms very spacious, complete with good seating area (we had a leather sofa)

good price, for two people, out of season for the 2day , get one free, offer.

would recommend.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barkshire47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maudybrown, Owner at Elliotts, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2014

Thank you for your very kind review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Maureen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

We have stayed at Elliotts a few times and always enjoy going back, out last stay was for just one night as a birthday treat and we were lucky to get in at the time as it is a very popular choice of hotel. We were greeted by Maureen and Phil who as usual were very welcoming and friendly nothing is too much trouble for them. Rooms are always clean and very comfortable, breakfast sets you up for the day,plenty of choice and served by lovely staff.
We are already of thinking about our next stay at Elliotts hopefully in the not too distant future.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JG052014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maudybrown, Owner at Elliotts, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2014

Hi. Thank you very much for the lovely post. It is so rewarding when I read our reviews and see how people like you take the time to do this for us. Thanks again. Maureen x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

we have stayed in many nice hotels in york but for the last few years elliots has become our firm favourite! we have stayed here sevrel times it doesnt matter what time you arrive maureen and phil will be there with a warm welcome! we have stayed in sevrel rooms all of which have very large light and airy with evrything you could need for a comfortable stay the whole hotel is spotless top to bottom always ample secure well lit on site carparking a bonus in york you can choose almost anything you like for breakfast served by two most delightfull ladies maggs and sheila all in all its like staying with your favourite auntie! cant wait to return in a few weeks janet c

Room Tip: room one massive biggest bed youve ever seen 3 seater sofa and a single bed! what more could you wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank E2016YYjanetc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maudybrown, Owner at Elliotts, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2014

Hi. Thank you so much for the most fantastic review, I am looking for forward to seeing you both again soon. X

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

We are grateful for the recommendation to this guest house. Upon arrival we were greeted at the front door by the owner Maureen and her husband Phil, who kindly helped us with our heavy luggage. The Victorian Terace is impressive with a variety of rooms. We were thrilled with our large, clean and well appointed room. The bed was enormous and very comfortable. The shower was a treat with high water pressure. The guest house is located just outside the city walls, a short stroll into the city via the museum gadens. We were treated with a delightful breakfast with a great choice and made with care. The experience was enhanced by the friendly attentive service - ( thanks Mary)
Maureen and Phil were available at any time to help with any questions.
Our only regret is that we couldn't take up the 3 night special offer as we only had 2 days free.
When we next visit we will take this special offer up :-)
And finally we appreciate the free Wi Fi, this is a bonus for overseas travellers with limited internet access.

Room Tip: We stayed in room one, I would recommend this room for the space and large bed and fantastic shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Docker707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maudybrown, Owner at Elliotts, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2014

Hello. I hope you are surviving your hot weather. Thank you very much for taking the time to post such a glowing review on Elliotts. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and your time in our beautiful city. Maureen x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

we made a last minute decision to go away to york for a couple of days and couldn't have picked a better place than Elliots. We had a lovely warm welcome from Maureen and the hotel was warm, comfortable and spotlessly clean. We opted for a four poster room and we were not disappointed, it was perfect. Breakfast was gorgeous and served by lovely staff who were chatty and smiling. We were close to the city centre and the museum gardens. We wanted a nice chilled out couple of days and thats what we got. Perfect. Thank you Maureen and your lovely staff, you will be seeing us again very soon. Dawn and Sid Coates.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dawn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maudybrown, Owner at Elliotts, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2014

Hi. Thank you so much for such a fabulous review. It was lovely to meet you both and I am so please you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to see you again. Maureen x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013 via mobile

Our second stay at Elliotts ..... 5 minutes from the town. Clean comfortable, lovely large rooms with everything you need. Maureen and Phil are so friendly and helpful. Breakfast .... excellent choice, cooked well served by 2 lovely friendly ladies, so nice to see such happy smiling faces so early in the day.
The only down side was that our 2 days there weren't long enough....next time will be longer!!
Gerry and Anna

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gerry-Anna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maudybrown, Owner at Elliotts, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

Hi. Thank you so much for taking the time to post such a glowing review. It is always a pleasure to have you both stay with us and I look forward to seeing you again. Have a great Christmas. Maureen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 mi away
23 St. Mary's
23 St. Mary's
#15 of 194 in York
241 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Sycamore Guest House
0.2 mi away
Minster Hotel
Minster Hotel
#23 of 194 in York
1,124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
St. Raphael Guest House
0.0 mi away
Alcuin Lodge
Alcuin Lodge
#3 of 194 in York
396 reviews
0.1 mi away
No. 21 York
No. 21 York
#14 of 194 in York
827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elliotts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elliotts

Address: 2 Sycamore Place, York YO30 7DW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #103 of 194 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range: £65 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Privately owned guest house only 5 minutes walk into the city centre. Free on-site car park. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Elliotts Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing