We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Welcoming”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in York
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Southlands Guest House
Ranked #1 of 193 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Welcoming”
Reviewed 6 May 2012 via mobile

Second visit to Southlands,just as good as the first time. Early arrival not a problem,room just perfect. Stayed in room 2 this time instead of room 3, decor fresh and homely. Breakfast excellent,will be back again to try another room!
Karen and Steve can't do enough for you,excellent!!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NICOLA17GT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

482 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    457
    24
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
80
310
9
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2012

My family and I had a short one night stay here and we really appreciated the great service that was on offer here.

We had to change our plans at the last minute and leave at 6.30am and the owners were very accommodating and made sure to see us off and prepare us all a little packed breakfast.

The rooms were large by B&B standards and were quite traditional. Overall, a decent B&B which has been elevated to a high quality of service offered.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeremy g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

The reviews are 100% correct - Karen and Steven are the nicest and happiest B&B owners I have ever come across. They are always smiley and happy to help. On arrival we were offered tea and coffee and Steve even gave us a free map of York city centre with clear directions.

The breakfasts are amazing. You have so much choice. You can have a cooked breakfast, cereals, toast, croissants, fresh fruit and yogurt, cheese and homemade jams. All which is spot on.

The rooms are extremely clean and really nicely decorated. The bathroom is really modern and clean too. The bed was very comfortable too.

It is only a 10 minute walk to the city centre and very easy to find/get to.

We'll definitely be staying here again when we return to York in the future.

Room Tip: If you are walking into town, go via the park. Its just as fast as the other route but just a bit mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DiscoDonald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

So glad we chose to stay in this B&B over the Easter break. We normally stay at Travelodge or Premier Inn when we go away, but after seeing the reviews for this little B&B, we decided to give it a go for our visit to York. We stayed in a Family Room (Room 2), which was spacious and it even had a little fridge which was handy. The breakfast was delicious, our daughter couldn't wait to go down to the dining room each morning! It's in a really good location, not too far from the centre of York, and there is a City Sightseeing bus stop really close to the B&B, which was really handy for us. The B&B is in a really quiet area, we had two very comfortable nights sleep. Highly Recommended!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CheshireWelshgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holmfirth, West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
86 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012

This is a lovely small guest house. I thoroughly recommend it. A very nice welcome, a good location, comfortable, clean rooms, a bright breakfast room with great food, fair prices, free allocated street parking - what's not to like?
I have reviewed Southlands previously, and have stayed there often since. It is still as good as ever.

Room Tip: All nice and all rooms are quiet. Room 2 has a useful fridge and is a family room. Room 3 is also a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cityhopper7_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, Lancashire
Level Contributor
43 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2012

It was some weeks ago when i stayed here, but it was so nice i had to write a late review.
I needed some rest, and found Southlands to be a haven of peace and quiet. The hotel was very clean, and smelled lovely and fresh.
Bedroom was nice and large, big kingsize be, and a very nice strong power shower was welcome.
Karen's breakfast's were smashing, and a good start to the day
We have made another booking for later in the year, and wont be staying anywhere else in York in future

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PeterCrudge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 February 2012

A great quiet location with a nice easy stroll through Rowntree Park to the castle area. Warm welcome, great room and breakfast Karen and Steve could not have done more.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IcarusII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.7 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 46 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,145 reviews
0.9 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
1.5 mi away
The Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
#2 of 193 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 834 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Ashberry B&B
The Ashberry B&B
#4 of 193 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southlands Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southlands Guest House

Property: Southlands Guest House
Address: 69 Nunmill Street, York YO23 1NT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 193 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome to Southlands Guest House. Quietly situated yet just minutes from the hussle and bussle of the historic city of York & within walking distance of York racecourse. We pride ourselves on friendly service, comfortable en suite rooms, tea/coffee making facilities and other essencials. Enjoy a full English 'deliciously yorkshire' breakfast made to order (continental, vegetarian, vegan dairy free, gluten free or other requests available). Free on-street parking in marked bay directly outside the front door and environmentally friendly procedures in operation. * Southlands is completely Non Smoking ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Southlands Guest House Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing