We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in York
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Southlands Guest House
Ranked #1 of 192 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Marske-by-the-Sea, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

I have just returned from an extended weekend break with my partner to take in the sights and attend the Ebor Race Event. From our arrival to departure Ron and Nicole offered outstanding service, which included some added details that made a difference in the quality, fresh flowers in our room and Lindor chocolates which I confess my partner didn't realise were there! Fabulous breakfast and a terrific break, I would highly recommend a stay at this homely guest house and wish Ron and Nicole every success with their business. Thanks Karen and Richard.

Room Tip: All rooms beautifully decorated to a high standard, my only observation would be that the Roofs Room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

478 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    453
    24
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
80
308
8
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

We visited York as a family for York Races and we couldn't have found a more pleasant place to stay.

Ron and Nicole are perfect hosts and parking is no problem as they supply a parking permit throughout your stay.

We stayed in the roof room with our baby son, it was well appointed and spotlessly clean in every way, surprisingly spacious as well.

It is a brisk walk to York Races, just off the main road in a quiet residential area and has the added bonus of a perfect 4G signal for those wishing to access form or cards via websites.

Would definitely recommend and will be returning for certain.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dinkystar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

Visited Southlands for the second time this year, this time taking friends. Once again Ron and Nicole was excellent hosts, we stayed in the roofs room again which is gorgeous with excellent facilities. Tea, coffee, hot chocolate and bottled water available and plenty of milk. Breakfast once again was outstanding. Can't wait to go back, perfect location with a nice walk through Rowntree Park.
Steph & Jay

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mankiniderbys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

Fabulous describes our recent three night stay at Southlands. Our hosts Nicole and Ron helped in making the stay both comfortable and relaxing. Their attention to detail in the well appointed rooms and delicious breakfast menu was worthy of their star rating. We manged to pack into a very short time a number of trips and visits in York recommended by Nic and Ron making this trip really special. Thanks - we'll be back

Room Tip: New website is well worth a visit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Che N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

Spent an amazing two nights with Ron and Nicole at southlands. The gates room was perfect and a great location to explore the city.
Breakfast is to die for with an amazing selection of cereals, juice, yogurts and fresh fruit salad.....not to mention the cooked breakfast with sess the highlight!
Hope to be back soon.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
167 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

This was a lucky dip off the internet - and how lucky were we. Ron & Nicole are super hosts. The hotel is Victorian but they've made it light, airy,clean crisp. bright - and friendly. Full English breakfast as good as I've had anywhere and my wife thought the scrambled eggs & salmon was the best she's ever had (and she's had a few!). Fresh-baked bread everyday. Ron & Nicole have only been b&b-ing since March - they've absolutely cracked it! Our sons in York at uni for 2 more years - we'll definitely be visiting Southlands again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

After a terrible stay somewhere else the night before, we were thrilled that Ron and Nicole were able to accommodate us a night early. We were even more thrilled once we arrived and saw how nice their guesthouse is and how welcoming they both are. We couldn't have chosen a better place! The rooms were immaculate and tastefully decorated. I'm always happy to see more clean, modern decorating in B&Bs as opposed to frilly antiques and florals. Our Rooftop room was bright and cheery (though my 6'3" husband had to watch his head on one side of the room!) The bathroom was small but that is to be expected. It was clean and well stocked and actually had hooks to hang things on. Each room had a tray of items including a tea pot, coffee, tea and hot chocolate, cookies and chocolates. We even left a bottle of cider we purchased in the fridge downstairs so it would be cold when we came back later in the day. They delivered it to our room in an ice bucket with a bottle opener. Breakfast was the best we had on the entire trip. Cold cereals, fresh fruit, yogurt, fresh baked bread and your choice of a selection of hot items, including a full English breakfast. All served in a sunny breakfast room. The guesthouse location was great too. It's just a block from a little neighborhood with a grocery, several restaurants and shops. Only about a 10-15 minute walk into York City Center. We enjoyed talking with Ron & Nicole. They took time to talk with us and make suggestions about places to see and eat in town. Very friendly. Would highly recommend and would certainly stay again!

Room Tip: We enjoyed our rooftop room; very bright though not ideal if you're very tall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bongobird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.7 mi away
St Denys Hotel
St Denys Hotel
#1 of 46 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,096 reviews
0.9 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
1.5 mi away
The Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
#2 of 192 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 826 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Ashberry B&B
The Ashberry B&B
#3 of 192 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southlands Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southlands Guest House

Property: Southlands Guest House
Address: 69 Nunmill Street, York YO23 1NT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 192 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome to Southlands Guest House. Quietly situated yet just minutes from the hussle and bussle of the historic city of York & within walking distance of York racecourse. We pride ourselves on friendly service, comfortable en suite rooms, tea/coffee making facilities and other essencials. Enjoy a full English 'deliciously yorkshire' breakfast made to order (continental, vegetarian, vegan dairy free, gluten free or other requests available). Free on-street parking in marked bay directly outside the front door and environmentally friendly procedures in operation. * Southlands is completely Non Smoking ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Southlands Guest House Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing