We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interactive and interesting for small children”
Review of Barley Hall

Barley Hall
Book In Advance
More Info
US$50.22*
and up
The York Pass Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tour
Ranked #34 of 205 things to do in York
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Barley Hall is a stunning medieval house, once home to the Priors of Nostell and the Mayor of York. The building has been lovingly restored to its original splendour with its high ceilings, beautiful exposed timber frames, and possibly the only horn window in England. Visitors to Barley Hall can make themselves at home and sit on the chairs and handle the objects and experience what it would have been like to live in Medieval England. NEW FOR 2016/17 Barley Hall’s ‘Power & Glory’ exhibition is now home to some of the most beautiful costumes from the smash hit BBC series, Wolf Hall. Adapted from the international bestseller by Hilary Mantel, Wolf Hall chronicles the rise of Thomas Cromwell, son of humble blacksmith, who becomes the right hand of the most powerful man in England, Henry VIII. Explore the complex relationships of court life in Tudor England, where love, lust and politics mixed together creating chaos for the nation. Discover how Cromwell’s machinations allowed for the annulment of one of Henry’s marriage leading to the English church’s divorce from Rome. Cromwell’s rise and fall was swift, with his execution taking place on the day of Henry’s wedding to his fifth wife, Catherine Howard, so experience the majesty of six of the costumes used in the series and make yourself at home at Barley Hall.
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Interactive and interesting for small children”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Our daughter, who is nearly 2, loved Barley Hall. Everything is hands on which was fantastic. She could dress up, play with old fashioned toys and smell and grind spices like an apothecary. There were lots of interesting things for the adults to look at and read too. It was reasonably priced, especially since we did the joint ticket with the Yorvik Viking Centre. It wasn't very easy to find! Down a wee alley off Stonegate.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Felicity W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    173
    150
    51
    13
    7
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
58 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Ok for 30 minutes”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Pretty hard to find, just ok if you want to get out of the rain! Could be made more interesting if the guides talked you through it. Lots of waxworks and loads of boards full of writing, if you enjoy reading reams of notes then you might enjoy the experience. Would not visit again.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank mustbesuzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knutsford
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great fun & informative”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

A first visit for us it was good to be allowed to interact with the exibits. It manages to teach a lot of facts in a fun way -- along the lines of Horrible Histories - & we heard lots of shrieks & laughter from children as we went round. Children, especially around 7 years upward would enjoy this.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank 203Elaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Really enjoyed this attraction”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Excellent little break from the hustle and bustle of Stonegate. Located down a little snickelway out of the way but big on character. Vast amount of information that doesn't bore you. Enjoyed the horrible histories part, the kids would love this!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Roo2687
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Trip down Medieval Memory Lane”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

I'm not sure you would notice Barley Hall unless you knew it was there because it is hidden in an alley and we had walked past several times without realising there was an attraction here.
We purchased the York pass and after visiting the big hitters we started using the pass for the middle tier, and saw Barley Hall on the list of places that accept the York Pass.
Given what they have to show here, an excellent job has been done to make the house, the exhibits and the commentary interesting and informative. Its easy to make a stately home or palace interesting but a medieval house has none of that glitz.
The audio commentary is highly recommended rather than just reading the exhibits, and I particularly liked some of the sets that have been aimed at schools- I wish my history lessons had been that interesting.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Natasha J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Barley Hall also viewed

 
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Barley Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing