We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
  
Ways to Experience Castle Howard
from US$531.72
More Info
from US$70.00
More Info
Reviews (3,572)
Filter reviews
3,572 results
Traveller rating
2,172
869
317
142
72
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
2,172
869
317
142
72
Show reviews that mention
All reviews brideshead revisited stately home garden centre rose garden farm shop atlas fountain adventure playground boat house boathouse cafe christmas decorations beautiful house well worth a visit sunny day entrance fee value for money chatsworth mausoleum
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
520 - 525 of 3,572 reviews
Reviewed 10 March 2019 via mobile

Lovely setting for the tea room with a great ambience. Unfortunately it ends there. The staff were anything but attentive. Our drinks arrived some ten minutes before our scones. Was it worth the wait a resounding no. Truly an anti climax

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank 24august
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastleHowardEst, Public Relations Manager at Castle Howard, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2019

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review following your visit to our Cafe recently. We were sorry to read that the experience had left you feeling disappointed and wanted to reassure you that we have passed on your feedback regarding the service to the person who manages this area of the business. Once again our apologies that we failed to meet your expectations, we set our standards high across the Estate and take customer feedback seriously.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2019 via mobile

Absolutely stunning. Came just for gardens walk witb dogs and was here hours. Fair priced and we all bad a lovely time... Especially the dogs.

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank hannahbanana1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastleHowardEst, Public Relations Manager at Castle Howard, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2019

Many thanks for taking the time to leave us a review, we are so pleased that you enjoyed the grounds! We are holding a Festival of Dogs in early May so be sure to watch out for that. Thank you for sharing your lovely photographs and again for taking the time to leave us a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2019 via mobile

We went for a walk with our dog's around land near car parking and finished up looking around garden centre,then into courtyard area with our dog's.All these areas are free to wander,you only pay when entering the main grounds.The only place you can't take dogs is in the food shop for obvious reasons,gift shop and cafe are fine.This is our second visit, first time we got bacon sandwich and coffee from little takeaway shop,was very nice,this time we went indoors and we ordered, quiche and the fishcakes,was very tasty but would never fill you up! Portion size was a mini quiche and fishcakes were the size of four chicken nuggets...very pricey for the size,felt a bit ripped off!Staff as always are very nice.

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank cook2020pj
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastleHowardEst, Public Relations Manager at Castle Howard, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2019

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We pride ourselves on being a dog friendly destination, we even have a Festival of Dogs coming up in early May (be sure to check our website for more information). Whilst we are pleased that you enjoyed your food we are very sorry that you felt disappointed with the portion sizes served, we will pass on your comments to the catering team and take all visitor feedback on board. Many thanks again for taking the time to leave us a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2019 via mobile

This place home of the the famous brides head revisited is a must visit location wonderful architecture and grounds a must visit location

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank 268AndrewT
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastleHowardEst, Public Relations Manager at Castle Howard, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2019

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, we are so pleased you enjoy your visits to us and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2019

Opposite the big House this is a wonderful walk through trees & more trees
There are also water features & a wonderful cafe. There we were served the
most delightful breakfast

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank brownanthony1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews