We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
  
Ways to Experience Castle Howard
from US$531.72
More Info
from US$70.00
More Info
Reviews (3,572)
Filter reviews
3,572 results
Traveller rating
2,172
869
317
142
72
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
2,172
869
317
142
72
Show reviews that mention
All reviews brideshead revisited stately home garden centre rose garden farm shop atlas fountain adventure playground boat house boathouse cafe christmas decorations beautiful house well worth a visit sunny day entrance fee value for money chatsworth mausoleum
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
451 - 456 of 3,572 reviews
Reviewed 22 June 2019 via mobile

Spent most of the day here and enjoyed both the extensive gardens and the tour of the house. Loved both in equal measure. Visited the garden centre afterwards and got good advice on various purchases we made. Well worth the visit.

Date of experience: June 2019
Thank HarareScotsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastleHowardEst, Public Relations Manager at Castle Howard, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2019

Many thanks for taking the time to leave us your feedback - we will pass on your comments to our Garden Centre team too. Best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2019 via mobile

Castle Howard is undoubtedly, one of Britains finest stately homes, built 300 years ago by Vanburgh, for the 3rd Earl of Carlisle & still home to the Howard family today. Utterly magnificent architecture & opulent interiors, containing many paintings by great artists, Gainsborough, Reynolds, Jackson, Pannini, to name a few. Set in around a thousand acres of landscaped grounds, a day at Castle Howard is a must if one is in the area.

Date of experience: June 2019
1  Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastleHowardEst, Public Relations Manager at Castle Howard, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2019

Thank you for taking the time to leave a lovely review and for sharing such great photos of your visit, we do hope to see you again soon. Many thanks again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2019

We chose a perfect June day to come here. The castle is full of history and well maintained furnishings. The top floor is taken up with Brideshead Revisited which was filmed here in 1979. perhaps a little too long in the tooth, but interesting. We went on a walled garden tour which I really enjoyed , the roses were beautiful.
The cafe by the Castle served good tea, coffee and snacks. We had a sandwich at the boathouse by the boating lake. That was fine but I don't know why they served the sandwiches in plastic containers. Not very eco friendly.
Well worth spending time here . The formal gardens with a huge fountain are wonderful and no restrictions as to where you sit etc. Dogs are allowed in the grounds, not in the house of course.

Date of experience: June 2019
1  Thank englishlady_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastleHowardEst, Public Relations Manager at Castle Howard, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2019

Many thanks for taking the time to leave us a review, we are delighted that you enjoyed your visit. We are pleased that you enjoyed our food offer, we are currently working to eliminate single use plastic in our restaurants and cafes. Thank you again for your feedback, we hope to see you again soon. Best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2019

A wonderful place to visit! The house itself is impressive - especially the dome, which was restored following a fire. The grounds are also amazing, with plenty to explore. The rose and walled gardens are lovely. When you're ready for a rest and refreshments there are 4 cafes - one a takeaway - to choose from. There's also a farm shop and a gift shop, as well a garden centre that stocks a wide range of plants. The only small negative is that there was no information in some of the rooms - e.g. the bedroom and living rooms; there were guides, but none offered any information about what we were looking at. But all in all a memorable day out.

Date of experience: June 2019
Thank Wendy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 18 June 2019 via mobile

I took my mum here as a day out. The place offers free parking which is a bonus but what we loved is the mini petit train from the entrance to the house (or you can walk it). The house is beautiful but I just wished there was an audio guide as well as in multiple of languages (an app would be fine rather than Walkie talkies) as this would’ve help me so much in translating BUT there are guides around the building who were all friendly and very knowledgable.
There is a gift shop and cafe at the end however, it doesn’t end there as there grounds is massive so we walked around to see wine of the sculptures but we loved the Rose Garden. We wish we had more time to see the other parts but we really enjoyed ourselves and hope to be back again when it’s sunny.

Date of experience: June 2019
1  Thank Lisa_lexp
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews