We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great house, great location”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Minster Bells

The Entrance Porch
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Entrance Porch
Minster Bells is one of five grand Town Houses Spacious Dining Area (Extending table) Leading to the Balcony
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
65 reviews
The Entrance Porch
Minster Bells is one of five grand Town Houses
Spacious Dining Area (Extending table) Leading to the Balcony
Modern Fully Equipped Kitchen with Integrated Appliances
Lounge - A large bay window great for watching the world go by (especially for children)
Lounge - with an original Victorian slate fireplace.
Master Bedroom with Period Features
Twin Bedded room
2nd Double Bedroom
3rd Double Bedroom
Single Bedroom
A newly fitted Victorian v Modern bathroom
The Entrance Hall
An array of quaint streets literally on your doorstep
Bootham Bar - entrance to the city walls (at the end of the street)
York Minster - 2 minutes by foot to reach
Take a trip down the River Ouse. Boats have 2 City Centre Boarding points. (Lendal is the closest)
The City Wall is approximately 50 metres away
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Townhouse -
5 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 9
York, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 65 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
sharon215
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great house, great location”
Reviewed 24 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Myself and four friends booked this house for our annual weekend away. The accommodation was perfect. Well equipped kitchen. The condition of the house was great and it was very clean. Extra towels in the linen cupboard if you needed it along with extra pillows. The double bed at the front of the house on the top floor was very uncomfortable it seems to have a futon mattress on it. And the shower on the top floor runs cold very quickly but not too much of a problem as there is a shower on the floor below that is perfect. These were the only things we found wrong with this house. And I feel quite bad saying this because the house itself is lovely. I'd love to own it.
The location is superb! We visited all of the attractions whilst there. All within walking distance ( 2 minute walk into city). Would recommend going to a service at the Minster. It was so beautiful.

Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 May 2015
Thank you very much for taking the time to review Minster Bells and I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and the location. We appreciated your feedback on the questionnaire about the mattress and shower as we had more guests arriving on the day you left and we were able to check these out as a matter of priority. All mattresses at the house are proper bed mattresses (using Futon mattresses would not be conducive for guests) and the one in the bedroom you mentioned is a memory foam mattress (with no springs, lumps or bumps) the bed and furniture in that room is all brand new. We checked the mattress out and had to put it down to personal preference but will continue to monitor this in case any other complaints arise. I can assure you, we would change something straight away if it was a recurring complaint. The shower is a relatively new shower and seemed to work fine when we tested it. However, after gaining the permission of the new guests, we asked the plumber to visit the property two days later to check the shower out. He felt that one of the knobs had been forced beyond where it was meant to go due to wear and tear and repositioned this. I don't want this response to sound defensive at all and want to stress once again that we really do appreciate your feedback. We are keen that our guests are assured that we take all feed back seriously and that we will take action once we are aware of any issues.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter A
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great house and location for York visit!”
Reviewed 18 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

I am recommending this house. Its in a great location with parking for 2 or 3 cars at a push and has character and cleanliness.

For the price point, I am not sure you could do better.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KatieR320...
1 review
“Great house!”
Reviewed 3 February 2015 for a stay in January 2015

We stayed here at the weekend and just had to write a review as the house was just perfect! It's such a great location as everywhere is within walking distance. The house had everything we needed and was clean and tidy and lovely and warm too which was wonderful as it was a bitter weekend! I would definitely recommend this house to anyone wanting to stay in York. Janet was so helpful too and was there if we needed anything. Fantastic House!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kencarr
Glasgow
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A great house in a great location”
Reviewed 5 January 2015 for a stay in November 2014

This house is ideal for a visit to York. The location is ideal for getting to the sights, transportation and restaurants. The property itself is well kept and well equipped. I arranged a reunion here with some old friends and had a great time, I definitely want to go back with the rest of the family at some point.

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoloTrave...
Bridgnorth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location....”
Reviewed 11 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

A very elegant Victorian town house, perfect for a family or a group of friends. Well equipped kitchen and comfortable sitting room. Location couldn't be better if exploring York, which has such a lot going on. Easy walking distance from train station. Good communication with owner prior to arriving.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen M
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely house lovely location”
Reviewed 4 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

I stayed in Minster Bells with 5 friends and we loved it .The house has lots of space and has a very welcoming atmosphere. Janet has thought of everything you could possibly need even having a baby bath (that we did not need) . There is a supermarket within 5 mins if you want to buy in breakfast and restaurants and pubs are just across the street. We all loved the house and the location could not have been better.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura V
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent place to stay - can't fault it!”
Reviewed 14 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed at the Minster Bells for 2 nights for my hen do at the beginning of June. It was perfect for what we needed and Janet couldn't have been more helpful. The house was clean & tidy when we arrived, had plenty of space for 9 ladies to get ready for a night out, a well stocked kitchen with tea and coffee for when we arrived, and was located only a couple of minutes walk from the centre of York - perfect for heel wearers! There was plenty of hot water, enough towels for the 9 of us and plenty of plug sockets too. And the information booklet provided covered everything you might need during your stay.

The only things I would mention are that some kitchen towel would have been handy for wiping fingers during pizza eating ... pizza was the hen do staple diet, and the one from Kings Pizza down the road was delicous, they even did one wthout cheese for a friend who is dairy intolerant ... and a few more toilet rolls would have been good as the 4 that were provided ran out on the morning that we were due to leave. Neither points are big deals by any means and are certainly not enough to make me mark down how fabulous the house was, just wanted to mention incase it's useful for future guests :)

I would not hesitate to stay here again and recommend it to anyone who is looking for a place to stay in York. I couldn't of asked for anything more for my hen do and stopping here certainly added to my pleasurable experience!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing