We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolute Insult to Vikings!!”

Jorvik Viking Centre
Book In Advance
More Info
US$50.27*
and up
The York Pass Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tour
Ranked #18 of 200 things to do in York
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Return of the Vikings – JORVIK Reopens 8th April 2017 The year is AD960 and the last Viking King in Jorvik, Eric Bloodaxe, has been banished. The city is thriving with a flourishing manufacturing centre and wide trading links. There are new buildings, new peoples and new stories to be told... The world-famous JORVIK Viking Centre will reopen on Saturday 8th April 2017 after a multi-million pound re-imagining following the devastating flooding in 2015. What’s New? •A New Ride experience with the sights, sounds and of course, smells, of the Viking-Age •Updated historical interpretation, showcasing the cultural ‘melting pot’ of 10th-century York •The latest cutting edge technology bringing the Viking period to life! Hop aboard our improved ride experience and be transported back in time over 1,000 years! You will discover the impact of international trade on Viking-Age York, including the evolution of a multicultural society in the city, as it’s not just trade goods that flowed into Jorvik but people from across the globe! Plus, with 22 new animatronics across the recreation there is something new to see around every corner. Our gallery experiences have been completely updated, with new display cases allowing you to get up close to the astounding Viking artefacts that inspired the creation of JORVIK. You will have the chance to dig deeper into the Viking story of York using the latest in cutting-edge technology located throughout the centre.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Absolute Insult to Vikings!!”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Throughout organising our holiday we promised ourselves a trip to the Jorvik Viking centre. How disappointed were we!!! Seriously thought it was all a joke and was waiting on Jeremy beadle to jump out!! There are about 10/12 glass boxes with artefacts dug up and a glass floor you can see the excavations through, however other than that you are sat in a dolly cart with a set of speakers at your ear and driven round a poor excuse for a Viking village, not filled with real actors but filled with dummies, you learn little to nothing about real Viking life and I felt robbed and insulted when we had come full circle after around 15-20 minutes. The gift shop was also a major let-down......utter tat.!! This cost £9.95 and I would rather give £10 to a homeless drunk than pay to visit here again......an absolute insult to everything Viking related and a real let down to York itself, especially when you compare it to the cost of getting into York Minster. Absolutely shocking, would definitely not recommend this to anyone at all, whatever age, whatever nationality. Avoid...there are better things in York to spend your money on.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Sonya L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,622 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,325
    1,121
    775
    259
    142
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Varese, Italy
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“fascinating”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

This is what museums are all about really. Unmissable. Imaginative and state of the art ways of communicating history, worth every penny.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Viking poo”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Brilliant!!! excellent value for money, lots to see and do, and the staff who are all dressed up are brilliant, the kids loved it all, especially the fossilised viking poo

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Faerienuff397
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
192 reviews
114 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 267 helpful votes
“Do not waste your money”
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

This is a poor display of the Viking ways of life. It is. It well presented. The dummy Vikings are poorly made and the whole experience is worth a miss

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Expensive disappointment ”
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

Although a great deal has been spent on this attraction since I last visited we were really disappointed. The first room was too dark and chaotic for the children (or adults) to be able to read the sheet telling them what to look for below the glass floor or indeed see it so they gave up and moved through to the 'ride' which again seemed to have lights not working in parts - the butcher's house and basement were pitch black. £30 and half an hour later we were back outside. We were told the ticket was valid for a year which is really only of benefit to local residents. Save your money and go to the York Castle museum with its whole reconstructed streets to explore - kids loved it and much better value.

Helpful?
2 Thank Flora50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jorvik Viking Centre also viewed

 
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Jorvik Viking Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing