We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really special place”

Margaret Clitherow Shrine
Ranked #89 of 200 things to do in York
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The former home of St. Margaret Clitherow, an ordinary butcher's wife who was martyred for her faith in 1586, is today a shrine in her memory.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
720 reviews
337 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“Really special place”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We were wondering in the Shambles when we stumbled on this little treasure - it is a place of tranquility and such a surprise to be nestled so unobtrusively where it is - and is easy to miss which sadly happened last time we visited York.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Narziss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    19
    12
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Not Margaret Clitherow's home”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Visitors should be aware that the shrine is to the memory of St Margaret, but it is not her home, which was on the opposite side of the street. See the biography of Margaret by Katharine Longley for further details. The shrine is, nevertheless, a quiet place apart from the hustle and bustle of the Shambles. A plaque to mark where Margaret was pressed to death can be seen at the south east end of Ouse Bridge.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“peacefull”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

we stumble across this shrine walking down the shambles it was a lovly old place with lots of information on margret clitherow to read nice place for abit of quiet time

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank superdad62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
1,035 reviews
882 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 588 helpful votes
“"SAFE" HAVEN IN THE SHAMBLES.....”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I came across the Shrine during my visit of the Shambles where it was crowded and noisy. No one was inside the Shrine when I entered so I was able to rest briefly and say my prayers.

Not knowing who Margaret Clitherow (must be a saint) was, I plan to study and learned what had happened to her and why there is a shrine in her honor at the Shambles.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank LolaGo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
93 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Peaceful”
Reviewed 8 February 2014 via mobile

Would have missed this place out had our guide not pointed it out during our walking tour of York. Not a must do but a nice place to stop for a few moments to ponder on the steadfastness of Margaret and the brutality of the government at the time

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank RSNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Margaret Clitherow Shrine also viewed

York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 
York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Margaret Clitherow Shrine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing