We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a look”

Richard III Experience at Monk Bar
Book In Advance
More Info
US$50.21*
and up
The York Pass Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tour
Ranked #55 of 201 things to do in York
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Richard III, the last Plantagenet King of England ruled for two years from 1483 to 1485. His short reign was marked by controversy, rebellion and challenges to his throne which led to his death at the Battle of Bosworth aged 33 years of age. Find out about his early life as his brother, Edward IV struggled for the throne of England with Henry VI; see arms and armour from his reign and enjoy multimedia presentations about the key battles of the Wars of the Roses. Children can get involved in our special medieval camp featuring the gruesome bits Richard's history provided by 'Horrible Histories' author, Terry Deary.
Bridlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Worth a look”
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Quite a climb up some narrow, uneven steps (but this is part of the castle wall and tower so only to be expected. Inside there is a nice gift shop and a modest fee to go up further. The stairs get narrower the higher you go and I found them a bit tricky - made me quite nervous but it was worth it - lots of information and plenty to see, though it does rely heavily on laminated cards. The top floor has an interesting film playing and once you've looked at the evidence for and against, you are invited to give your own verdict as to whether Richard killed the children or not.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Caz G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    82
    48
    15
    18
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
86 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Enjoyable”
Reviewed 12 October 2013 via mobile

I enjoyed this as I'm interested in war of the roses and Richard lll it won't take you long and there is a small charge but I think it's worth it you listen to a little trail in wether it was infact Richard lll who killed his nephews in the tower or someone else.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank annemarie f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Tacky history”
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Seems a place lost in time, it could do with a makeover. Too many laminated information sheets and pretend newspapers. There was a really dull pretend trial of Richard 3, although the video upstairs was much better.
I think the owner, who seems a real enthusiast needs to visit some other attractions to see what works because the tower and the Kings story are very interesting.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank GarryFK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Poor quality, don't even bother”
Reviewed 24 September 2013

My husband and I visited this as we found the entrance by accident after walking the city walls. It looked promising given Richard III's historical connection with York.

Unfortunately, we were bitterly disappointed when we got up the steps into the somewhat shabby giftshop only to be greeted with a large sign informing us that 'there was no charge to look round the giftshop'. The attendant at the till seemed completely disinterested and only after asking did he grunt to say yes, they accepted the York Pass.

We climbed the stairs into the first room where there was a statue of Richard III who was supposedly on trial. The pinned up laminated sheets on each side of the room set out arguments for the defence and prosecution but although it said he would be on trial every 5 minutes, we could hardly hear the recording so decided not to partake.

There are a series of corner turrets which have very little information in them - in fact, in one of them there was a cardboard box for the television set used in the room upstairs!

Overall, avoid at all costs, not even worth the £3 entry fee.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Flossy89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Falls, Montana
Level Contributor
68 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“What a disappointment”
Reviewed 23 September 2013

After reading account after account of the discovery of the body of King Richard III, his possible involvement with the disappearance of his nephews and the arguments over where to re-bury his body, we were looking forward to visiting this museum inside Monk Bar.

What a joke!

Suppose to open at 9 am, it remained close until 9:30 am on Wednesday, September 11 as potential museum-goes climbed the lengthy steps to the museum door only to climb back down to the bottom when it remained locked.

When it did open, the ticket taker/gift shop cash taker was engrossed in his morning newspaper as he collected the two GBP pp seniors admission fee and simply nodded in the direction of museum travel.

Climbing to the next two levels, we found nothing but a series of posters hanging from the walls detailing in writing and pictures cut from magazines the life if King Richard.

Nothing but cheap posters and assorted printed materials either pinned to the walls or propped against them on the floor. What a disappointment.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank D.Farkswald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Richard III Experience at Monk Bar also viewed

 
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Richard III Experience at Monk Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing