We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth a quick visit” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Church of St. Michael le Belfrey

Church of St. Michael le Belfrey
Ranked #49 of 199 things to do in York
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Built between 1525 and 1536 during the period of English Reformation, this historic church stands majestically alongside York Minster.
Macedonia, Ohio
Level Contributor
63 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Worth a quick visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

This church was not "staffed" when we were there, but it is certainly worth a visit. There is literature available to give you plenty of historical information regarding the church.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank LeeandKarenK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    43
    5
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“wedding”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

Lovley to go back to St Michael 's and there was a lovley wedding on the Day we went ,With old fashion cars outside .

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sonia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colwyn Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
136 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Worth a visit - and free!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

Lovely church to visit. We couldnt look at it as much as we would have liked as we arrived as a wedding was about to take place. What we saw though was worth seeing and although it may be smaller than the minster and standing in its shadow, it isnt in its shadow for history. Loved it.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank karen s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
64 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“lovely place to visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013 via mobile

Lovely alternative to the minster across the road - not as big but free. Great place to visit. Lovely windows. The day we went they giving out free tea and coffee. Very friendly people in the church. Great windows and woodwork. Make sure you look and the plaques on the walls.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank yorkshireladdie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dummerston, Vermont
Level Contributor
159 reviews
98 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“St. Michael le Belfrey”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

A peoples' church rather than the Church's Church directly across from the Minster in York. Its bells are more often heard than the Minster's.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Church of St. Michael le Belfrey also viewed

York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 
York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Church of St. Michael le Belfrey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing