We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal location for a wedding!”
Review of The Hospitium

The Hospitium
Ranked #72 of 211 things to do in York
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This timber-framed building was built in the early 1300s, and is believed to have been used as lodging for weary travelers visiting St. Mary's Abbey.
Reviewed 25 July 2013

We got married here in April 2011 and it was superb. Perfect location, and the staff were so helpful, friendly and supportive it just made everything so easy. We were lucky enough to have wonderful weather, so guests were able to mingle in Museum Gardens and around the side of the building by the river which was just ideal. We had photos taken by the Abbey ruins as well which was just lovely. Bradshaws the resident caterers were superb - even making last minute changes (on the day!) It was just the perfect day and the venue has been heralded by all our guests. I can't recommend it enough.

1  Thank Peta B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (72)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"museum gardens"
in 19 reviews
"amazing wedding"
in 4 reviews
"wedding breakfast"
in 2 reviews
"york museum"
in 2 reviews
"city centre"
in 2 reviews
"caterer"
in 14 reviews
"photographs"
in 6 reviews
"organisation"
in 4 reviews
"ouse"
in 5 reviews
"pillars"
in 2 reviews
"ruins"
in 5 reviews
"abbey"
in 4 reviews
"upkeep"
in 2 reviews
"character"
in 2 reviews
Filter

61 - 65 of 72 reviews

Reviewed 24 November 2012

We came here for a wedding. What an amazing setting at any time of year. The hospitium & the surrounding grounds were just absolutely beautiful. A nice calming retreat to visit.

2  Thank gypsy064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

We got married here on 2nd September 2012
What can I say about this place apart from Fantastic.

The staff here were amazing especially Jen. She took control and helped my wife with all the planning.
The outside caterers were amazing.
Just everything was even better than we could imagine

Everyone who is getting in married in or near York has to look at this place its out of this world.
Thanks to everyone involved.

1  Thank Cameron_Mitchell69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2012

My husband and I married here at the hospitium in September 2012 and the entire team were wonderful. Nothing was too much trouble, they covered every detail and more. The value is absolutely excellent and the services of Melody and Jenn was fabulous from start to finish. Considering the charge compared to other venues we looked at on the web this is an amazing choice. Once we were invited to look in person we didn't bother to visit anywhere else because we were made to feel so welcome. I can't recommend the Hospitium and their resident caterers Bradshaws highly enough.

Thank CLund99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 25 August 2012

I recently graduated at York Minster we got our gowns and photos at rthe hospitium I didnt realise it could be hired would be a great venue for a wedding small cafe in reception a number of rooms in beautiful suroundings of the museum gardens st marys abby ruins and close to river ideal for photos

Thank Janet P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Hospitium also viewed

 
York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to The Hospitium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing