We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding!”
Review of The Hospitium

The Hospitium
Ranked #63 of 205 things to do in York
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This timber-framed building was built in the early 1300s, and is believed to have been used as lodging for weary travelers visiting St. Mary's Abbey.
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Wedding!”
Reviewed 7 September 2013 via mobile

Went to a wedding here yesterday and what an amazing venue it was totally romantic good organisation and the food was one of the best I've eaten at a wedding! The only things was a would have liked it to be able to open later it closed at 12 and I would have liked to have stayed longer!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Presl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    7
    1
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing in every way”
Reviewed 31 August 2013

My husband and I married here this year and cannot recommend it highly enough! What a beautiful building, incredible food and the staff were all amazing (special mention for Daryl and Melody who were just as excited as we were on our big day and kept the day running smoothly.)
If anyone is considering getting married here my husband and I (and our families and guests) can highly recommend it.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sidcup, Kent
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“Lovely building in a beautiful location”
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Lovely old building set in beautiful gardens and beside old ruins. All make attractive backdrops for wedding photographs and the Bride & 'Groom and all the guests at the wedding we attended enjoyed it all immensely. Stuart & Julie were married in nearby St Olave's Church and afterwards led their guests the short walk from the Church to the Museum Gardens where the Hospitium is situated. The nice thing is that The Hospitium is a wedding reception venue, unlike an hotel the wedding party have exclusive use of the building.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank foxycreature
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberfeldy, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Excellent venue for a wedding”
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Excellent facilities, beautiful building and gardens, excellent staff, first class food. What's not to like!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank KayDollive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor, N I
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
Reviewed 9 August 2013

This was the venue for the reception for our daughter's wedding in July. It was wonderful - staff from first contact were a pleasure to deal with. On the day all was perfect.
Having the first floor room for the meal with the ground floor room for band / dancing (lift for those not keen on stairs) was great. Location in the Museum Gardens beside the river is beautiful.
Caterers (Bradshaws) were excellent - great choice of menus, food delicious and beautifully presented; serving staff were attentive and professional throughout.
A very big thank you to all at York Venues and Bradshaws for your outstanding work - helping to make the day so special!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank JillyJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Hospitium also viewed

York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to The Hospitium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing