We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Location”

Visit York Information Centre
Book In Advance
More Info
US$49.73*
and up
The York Pass Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We're the official tourist info spot for York. Visit us for the latest on upcoming events & festivals and advice on visiting York! Why not pick up a York Pass when you visit to get admission to your choice of over 30 top attractions for one great price!
Boulder City
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Location”
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

A good info centre in an excellent location. Friendly staff who know what they're talking about. I purchased some quality gifts for my return to the States. The staff wrapped up the breakables. Good humored staff

Helpful?
Thank GreasyDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    17
    3
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Excelent Tour with Mariano”
Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

Last weekend we did a tour in York with Mariano Capogrossi. He's been brilliant. He explained the whole story of the city and he is really friendly too. For us it was such a good experience. I will absolutely recomend him. By the way, we did it in Spanish but I'm sure he also does it in English.

Helpful?
Thank CarlosPalau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“York is the antidote...”
Reviewed 12 October 2013

For many visitors the tourist information centre is a first stop, a source of expert local knowledge to complement previous research. For us this is usually the case. Unfortunately we had a negative experience at the beginning of our stay in York.

The Centre was quiet during our visit. Even so, the advisor we spoke to appeared to disengage part way through the conversation and gave out a general ‘I don’t want to be here’ vibe. We were made to feel we were being a nuisance. Eventually we were directed in clipped tone to the brochures to get on with it.

As it turned out, this may have been the best thing to do in the first place. Whilst browsing in the brochure section a young lady member of staff very cheerfully offered helpful advice.

Despite our unfortunate initial experience we found York to be a great city break.

Suggestion: Address training issues using ‘secret shopper’ method.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Arturo1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halesowen
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Very Good”
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Excellent. All literature easily available and staff were very willing to help. Free maps for the city and it is situated right by the Minster

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Astontraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
101 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Lots of helpful information”
Reviewed 31 May 2013 via mobile

We called in here to collect our York passes which we had ordered online. Very efficient and if you have never visited York before this place is a must for maps and information. Call in, grab some info and then relax in one of the many tea shops to plan your day. There is so much to do in York, and if you don't plan your day you will miss many of the attractions. We have been many times before but sometimes just wandered around not really knowing what to see. This time we saw more in one day than we had in all of our previous visits.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank opiEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Visit York Information Centre also viewed

 

Been to Visit York Information Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing