We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Micro Brewery Tour” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of York Brewery

York Brewery
Book In Advance
More Info
US$48.33*
and up
The York Pass Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tour
Ranked #13 of 199 things to do in York
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Established in May 1996 inside the historic Micklegate Bar Walls, York Brewery is both a traditional working brewery and a major tourist attraction providing customers locally and from around the country with the first real ales from within the walls of York for over 40 years. Come along and experience the traditional art of brewing within the historic city walls. We offer guided tours around the brewery offering an insight on how we produce our award-winning range of ales. Plus, make sure you visit the York Brewery Gift Shop before you leave for those last minute souvenirs and mementos. We stock an extensive range of exclusive York Brewery merchandise including our full range of bottled beers, gift sets, books and clothing.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
414 reviews
247 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“Micro Brewery Tour”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

Visited mid-afternoon whilst the 'olds' visited the local Minster.
There were 8 in our group - from all over the world - about the right size.
Interesting talk and tour of this micro brewery, finished off with excellent samples, of your own choice, in the bar (4 x 1/3 pints).
Small gift shop.
Well worth a visit.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve-and-Andie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    292
    128
    17
    7
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wishaw, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice, Small Brewery”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

Had a great time at this brewery. Staff very friendly and knowledgeable about the brewing process.
Had a nice time in the bar after the tour with Jan. Made out family very welcome. Great tasting ales.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barneveld, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice, small brewery”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

We had a really good time here. Your entrance fee is payed back in beers and the tour was really well explained. Great value for money. The nice thing is, it is a working, but sm all, brewery. Tour took about An hour of which a large part focussed on the process, which I liked.

Helpful?
1 Thank verho020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Good Brewery Tour”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

Thoroughly enjoyed this tour.
Although I'm not a beer drinker I have been to several breweries and this small brewery did an excellent job. The staff were knowledgeable and able to answer all our questions. This tour is covered by the York Pass but you only get half a pint as a taster, rather than a pint if you paid directly for the tour. Soft drinks are available instead. The tour ran over time because of everyone's enthusiasm but this was no problem to the staff.
Would definitely recommend this for the men.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Natasha J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Unpretentious glimpse of a working brewery”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

We called in here on a Friday afternoon and had a taster in the bar before we "did" the last tour of the day. It is a small, working brewery so if you go expecting anything fancy, you will be disappointed. However, we found the tour really interesting and informative, the staff really friendly and knowledgeable and the beer superb. There was also quite a buzz in the place as local people were coming in after work. Well worth a visit if you like real beer.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank FirstMateKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed York Brewery also viewed

York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to York Brewery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing