We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great location, quiet, safe area - Will...”
other travellers have booked this property
Garden view from the balcony - Central York
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Garden view from the balcony - Central York
Lounge area and LCD HD TV. T Lounge Area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
Garden view from the balcony - Central York
Lounge area and LCD HD TV. T
Lounge Area
Bedroom
Dining
Bathroom
Gardens
Wall mounted LCD TV in the bedroom
Features
York at night
York Minster
Kings Arms Pub
The Shambles
Features
Apartment from the gardens
The complex
Gardens
Features
Secure allocated parking space
York is great for New Year and Winter
York is enchanting in Winter as well as Summer
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
York, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Heathclif...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed 1 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014
3
people found this review helpful

Be wary of term.. " luxury appointed through-out. As the apartment was described as "luxury" we were very disappointed to find so many issues ( we had booked this apartment on the strength of positive reviews.) After making sure we arrived at the requested time we found that Shaun was not there to let us into the apartment. We waited about 20mins or so for him to arrive. Also.....

1) Oven was VERY dirty
2) Dishwasher was not working and smelled absolutely disgusting. I guess the dishwasher had not been working for quite some time. ( apparently it has since been replaced with a new one after we left)
3) Waste disposal didn't look too clean and didn't smell too pleasant either. Grubby bowl placed under pipes underneath the sink
4) No microwave plates/dishes
5) No egg cups ( well we couldn't find any)
6) Cereal/soup bowls from sideboard...some of them the glaze was all cracked
7) No hand towel in kitchen, only tea towels
8) General cleanliness area around sink was poor. I used kitchen paper sprayed with anti- bac around the rim at the top of the sink and the dirt that came off was disgusting.
9) Rubber collar around washing machine was dirty (wouldn't think about putting my washing in there)
10) Drawer under the oven unit was dirty inside
11) Glass shelf and glasses above sink were not clean
12) Two under cupboard kitchen lights stopped working.
13) A decent sharp knife wouldn't go amiss
14) A small guest soap in the bathroom would have been appreciated
15) Bedroom blind very dusty
16) The bedroom was very warm at night, perhaps a fan would help?
17) A radio was also be very welcome
18) And last but not least....would a small welcome package be too much to ask in a " luxury appointed" apartment?

I sent a few photos to back up my claims to the owner.

I have been in contact with the owner and said I didn't think it was unreasonable to ask for a refund of sorts ( as a goodwill gesture) as we had paid for working, clean appliances but he refused to offer us one because he claimed we did not give him an opportunity to address these issues of which he said... " could have been dealt with within an hour." I doubt it! When I book a "luxury" apartment I don't expect to have to make arrangements for repair men/ or someone coming in to do cleaning that should have been done before I arrived....I'm on holiday for goodness sake!
Mr Truelove offered us a reduced rate ( because the dishwasher was not working) only if we chose to stay there again in the future and that was it. Very disappointed.
The apartment was in a great location but," luxury"?...No.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Jul 2014
After 3 years of very happy customers it is inevitable that eventually a guest arrives who cannot be pleased......

The review speaks for itself and the majority of people will see that the guest spent more time attempting to gather evidence immediately upon arrival for a refund post stay than enjoying this fantastic apartment and city.
All the points listed in the review could have been resolved on the day of arrival if they were indeed a problem, but we were not given the opportunity to address them. The guest called me to ‘complain’ about 'cleanliness issues' (vaguely) but didn't then respond to my request to allow us entry to the property to see what the 'issues' were and resolve them - seems a bit odd eh?....

And lo and behold a few weeks later, the next I hear is a request for a partial refund or a threat of a bad review. I conceded the dishwasher seemed to have been broken (although we couldn't get access to look at this at the time, but it has now been replaced with a brand new one) so offered a discounted rate off a future booking. I didn't however concede anything else because we could have come in and addressed the other points that day had we been asked to do so.

If our apartment was really as bad as the guest is trying to make out we certainly wouldn't enjoy the bookings we do (nearly 100%) and the repeat customers that come back time and time again. Just check out our positive reviews on this and other popular booking sites.

It's sad that as a one apartment owner who works very very hard to provide a quality product, service and experience that I have to deal with this sort of thing. I have no doubt that people like this would complain in the best hotel in the world looking for a refund.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Purley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 August 2013 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Great location for exploring York
Liked least: Had problems using Iplayer on Freeview, but we were hardly there so no problem
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 January 2013 for a stay in December 2012
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: ambience
Liked least: kitchen worktop space limited, no bathroom mirror but these are minor thoughts
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Fife
Reviewed 7 December 2012 for a stay in November 2012
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
doraexplo...
west midlands
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Quiet haven in the centre of town”
Reviewed 8 September 2012 for a stay in August 2012
2
people found this review helpful

This apartment was a real find! I stayed here in August 2012 with my husband and was impressed with the level comfort in the apartment. There was a waste disposal, washer/dryer, fridge/freezer, full oven /hob and microwave. Living room hosted TV with sky, internet access through dongle or wifi and an on the wall tv in the bedroom. There was plenty of storage space in the bedroom and one of the living settees converted into a double bed. There was iron and hairdryer available too. The bath had a shower over and was nicely fitted. My only small niggle would be that the sealant around the bath needs renewing by the taps. But honestly this is the only thing that I could fault.
The apartment is ideally situated right around the corner from the Ouse Bridge, which takes you into the centre of town, close enough to get home if you get caught out with the English weather, or are loaded up with the ample shopping opportunities in town and far enough away in its own private grounds to be away from the Town Centre noise that could be on an evening.
The car parking is accessed through gated electric gate, via means of a key fob, the same fob is used to access the apartment block. Lift access or stairs then take you to the floor (first floor) and then one door accesses the row that it was on. Automatic lights come on to illuminate the corridors.
A lovely restaurant is right over the road (called The Living Room) so nothing is too far.
A nice touch is that they stocked the cupboards in the kitchen with washing up liquid and dishwasher tablets and there was tea and coffee available in canisters. I took my own not knowing this.
We got lost around York on the way in, but rang the caretaker (number contained on the welcome letter) and he guided us in and showed us our parking and the facilities available to us.
A real find, I will go again and recommend thoroughly.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Modern, clean fittings and right on the edge of town, extremely friendly and helpful staff
Liked least: Sealant around the bath
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Reviewed 22 May 2012 for a stay in May 2012
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Convenient location
Liked least: Wi-fi arrangement
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
23 May 2012
Thanks for the great review. The apartment is in a fantastic location and we are happy that you liked it.

With regard to the wi-fi, we are replacing this with full wi-fi (not on a dongle) next month not least because of the increase in iPad owners!

Thanks once again and look forward to you returning.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 May 2011 for a stay in April 2011
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Tourists Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
25 May 2011
Thanks for the great review. I have mentioned the wardrobe to the cleaner and it is now spotless! Thanks again and look forward to seeing you in the future. Jonathan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing