We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Mark S

Fabulous break away from reality!

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 23 Sept 2021via mobile
We stayed for 5 nights in the Hebridean hut. We were looking for a UK staycation this year and we were certainly not disappointed. The shepherd huts are perfectly equipped with all creature comforts and we were really impressed with the level of comfort and privacy. Surrounded by beautiful nature and being able to help ourselves to fresh eggs each morning was a lovely touch. We were blessed with fantastic weather and enjoyed sitting out in the evening next to the fire pit. We enjoyed simply relaxing at the shepherd hut most days and also managed a trip to nearby York, which was easily accessible by bus. All in all,
an amazing experience which we’d like to repeat. Thank you for such an enjoyable holiday. Highly recommended!
Date of stay: September 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Springwood Shepherd Huts Glamping York, General Manager at Springwood Shepherd Huts, responded to this review
Responded 1 Nov 2021
Thank you very much for leaving us a review and we are so glad you enjoyed your 5 night break in our Hebridean Hut. We hope you can visit us again in the future
Many Thanks Eden - Springwood Shepherd Huts
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
£56
  • Algotels
  • Vio.com
4.6 miles from Springwood Shepherd Huts
Free parking
£183
Fully refundable
  • Preferred Hotels
  • Agoda.com
    £176
  • Expedia.com
    £199
5.5 miles from Springwood Shepherd Huts
Free Wifi
Pool
Exterior
£82
Go to your Happy Price
  • Skyscanner.com
    £66
  • Travelodge
    £61
  • Vio.com
    £76
5.1 miles from Springwood Shepherd Huts
£93
  • Priceline
    £112
  • Expedia.com
    £101
  • Hotels.com
    £101
5.5 miles from Springwood Shepherd Huts
Free Wifi
Restaurant
£67
  • Priceline
    £79
  • Skyscanner.com
    £56
  • Expedia.com
    £67
3.8 miles from Springwood Shepherd Huts
Free Wifi
£97
  • Priceline
    £97
  • Agoda.com
    £81
  • Expedia.com
    £91
5.9 miles from Springwood Shepherd Huts
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Grounds at The Principal York
£99
  • Expedia.com
    £107
  • ZenHotels.com
    £90
  • Hotels.com
    £107
5.6 miles from Springwood Shepherd Huts
Free Wifi
Pool
£89
  • Booking.com
    £80
  • ZenHotels.com
    £76
  • Priceline
    £89
8.5 miles from Springwood Shepherd Huts
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    £100
  • Vio.com
    £93
  • Priceline
    £102
6.1 miles from Springwood Shepherd Huts
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
View more hotels in York
Reviews (81)
Filter reviews
81 results
Traveller rating
81
0
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
81
0
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews shepherds hut fire pit fresh eggs hot tub thought of everything short drive designer outlet park and ride little touches milk in the fridge pizza cutter friendly chickens beautiful accommodation everything you could possibly need york town centre underfloor heating spent nights
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
50 - 55 of 81 reviews
Reviewed 14 September 2021

The huts are amazing really clean and have everything you need for your base, it’s a very quiet location which was perfect for what we wanted, I would highly recommend a visit we will absolutely be returning.

Date of stay: September 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank catherinelB960QF
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Springwood Shepherd Huts Glamping York, General Manager at Springwood Shepherd Huts, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2021

Thank you Catherine for your review, we are so glad you had the best stay with us and appreciate you taking the time to review us. We hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2021

Absolutely beautiful relaxing with every thing to do up the road the huts are amazing photos don't do them justice will definitely be back host's very friendly animals very well looked after and fresh free eggs the chickens are lovely beautiful scenery so tranquil

Room tip: All huts are amazing
Date of stay: September 2021
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shane A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Springwood Shepherd Huts Glamping York, General Manager at Springwood Shepherd Huts, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2021

Thank you for taking the time to review us, we really appreciate it. We are so glad you had the most relaxing stay and enjoyed our huts along with the animals. We all hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2021

This is the second time we have visited and to say we love it is an understatement. Beautifully decorated, beautiful location, the fittings are exquisite. Every time we thought ‘ I wonder if they have a …’ they did. The attention to detail and the forward thinking of what you might want / need for your stay is on point. Thank you - can’t wait to come again!

Date of stay: September 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank helenmQ3139AH
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Springwood Shepherd Huts Glamping York, General Manager at Springwood Shepherd Huts, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2021

Thank you Helen for taking the time to review us, and of course visiting us again. We are so glad you love our huts and cannot thank you for you comments enough we really appreciate it.
Heres to many more visits, see you again soon Thanks Eden

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2021

I arrived on Friday and opened up my emails to find my code, opened up the Hebridean hut and was amazed!

Everything is finished to such a high standard and everything I needed for a two night stay was provided 👍🏻

The location for both the moors and dales is fantastic, a stones throw from York and easy to find.

Very quiet setting and was a perfect place to wind down after two full days on two wheels!

Highly recommended, I’ll be coming back with Mrs next year.

Fantastic and communicative host too, thanks for a lovely stay Eden! 👏👏

Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank G2210JKjamesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Springwood Shepherd Huts Glamping York, General Manager at Springwood Shepherd Huts, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2021

Thank you so much for taking the time to review us we really appreciate it. We are so glad you enjoyed your break and we look forward to your visiting again along with your partner.
Thank you Eden

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2021

Had a really lovely stay here. It was so peaceful, not too far from York centre and the hut was absolutely spotless. They had thought of everything amenities wise, can’t fault it at all. Also loved the morning hello from the friendly chickens!

We had a takeaway one night from Sangthai which was good - definitely worth a try if you stay.

Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 797harrietk
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Springwood Shepherd Huts Glamping York, General Manager at Springwood Shepherd Huts, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2021

Thank you very much for taking the time to review us, we are so glad you had the perfect break away. We hope to see you visiting us again in the future from us all including the chickens :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews