We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First hotel I shall ring in York!!!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mount Royale Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mount Royale Hotel & Spa
Ranked #5 of 46 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
243 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“First hotel I shall ring in York!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

Booked only a couple of days before travelling was pleased to find hotel with parking. Arrived about 10am and asked if we could leave car there before checking in in the afternoon, no problem they said (saved on parking costs!!). Hotel is about 15 mins walk from York centre past shops and pubs. Mount Royale has a pool and sauna which due to time we never used but will when we return. Our room was big, on the top floor with views over the gardens, comfy bed, and a decent shower. Breakfast was superb in lovely garden room, lots of choice, cereals, fruits etc and an excellent cooked breakfast. All the staff we met were friendly and helpful, and they were quite happy to let us leave the car there on the Sunday when we walked back into York. will definitely stay here again, shant bother trying anywhere else Mount Royale will be the first place I ring!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lincolnhatter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

824 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    564
    181
    59
    12
    8
See reviews for
97
508
12
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
71 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

We met our good friends from Australia for a weekend in York and had the most wonderful time at the Monunt Royale Hotel. The rooms were a good size,the shower had great pressure with all the necessary essentials provided. We loved the cozy OX bar and had a delicious pasta meal at the Italian resturant within the hotel. The breakfasts were also a highlight,the best bacon I have ever had!!! It's a good walk to town,about 20 minutes and the local buses stop across the street.
Great value for money!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stoke on trent
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012

My husband & I have stayed here 5 times , it's a little escape with luxury and character.
The rooms are amazing and clean they all are all in keeping with the property and make u feel relaxed and comfortable.
The breakfast is soooo nice and the service at breakfast is excellent, especially by the man with the earring ( sorry forgot his name)
The gardens are beautiful and there is a lovely undercover hot tub
This is the only place we would stop in York

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kevin738
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2012

This Hotel is absolutely gorgeous, the outside does not do the inside justice, the quality of the rooms, the service you get etc,
We were overwhelmed by the high standard of not only the rooms, but also the service that we received when we stayed at this fantastic Hotel, If you are at all hesitant about choosing this hotel, don't be you, will not be dissapointed at all.
10 out of 10 Thank You.

Room Tip: Try and get a view of the city as at night it looks great
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DrDavidB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

We booked a last minute break to York and straight away the hotel looked appealing. The staff were really friendly and helpful- a brilliant first impression of the people of York. The room was a good size with a four poster bed and was tidy and clean with a daily visit from to house keeping staff to bring new towels etc. It's easy to see why the hotel has won breakfast awards- great choice and the eggs benedict was to die for! Close enough to walk into the city without being right in the middle of it and the hotel provided alot of information of local attractions. Only downside would be the decor but a small issue in comparison to the experience as a whole.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LaurenAl07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

Four of us stayed in the Mount Royale, in two lovely rooms. Everything that we could possibly need was provided, the rooms were lovely, and the staff extremely warm and welcoming. We received a complimentary room upgrade on arrival. In addition to the enormous bed, our room had a large bathroom, with bath and shower, a snug and a dressing room! We ate in the restaurant in the evening, and were able to have a drink in the lovely little pub inside the hotel, sitting by the fire. The breakfast was excellent. The fishcakes are highly recommended, and vegetarians were also catered for. It took about 15 minutes to walk into the city, and was very straightforward to get to. All in all, it was a lovely stay, and I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BabsyNewbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teeside
Level Contributor
61 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

We booked just for one night as we were meeting friends in York the following day. We had been recommended to try the hotel. Booked a standard room and got a fair price. When we arrived we were told we had been upgraded to a garden room (without asking!). Very spacious, comfortable and well equipped, with enormous windows and direct entry to the garden. . Only criticism was that the fixed shower head was a bit too low for me at 6ft 2ins. The hotel is a bit old fashioned but in generally good condition and clean. This has enabled the character to be maintained. The garden is amazing in size , impossible to imagine from the outside, and I would think looks wonderful in season. The best feature is the service. Nothing was too much trouble. We had sandwiches for lunch, provided by the hotel but enhanced by complementary bruschetta and tomato from the very friendly Italian restaurant franchise holders when we had a drink. Breakfast was amazing. Great choice of juices, cereals and fresh fruit , copious quantities and hot selections freshly cooked. I am not surprised that the hotel entrance features several breakfast awards. We always like to try the restaurant at hotels we stay at. The restaurant here is franchised to a friendly energetic Italian gentleman who already has a restaurant in York. He has only recently taken over and has held 3 buffets as an introduction for invited guests. When we asked about dining there that evening we were immediately invited to the buffet. A splendid evening all round with a terrific atmosphere. Should be good when it settles down. There is a good bus service into the centre of York. Just be careful when driving in that Google Earth sends you into Albemarle Street down the side of the hotel when the entrance is at the front from The Mount.

In summary exceptionally friendly and pretty faultless already. Should be even better when the Restaurant gets established.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Norherner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
1.5 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
1.0 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.5 mi away
The Principal York
The Principal York
#11 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 982 reviews
0.9 mi away
St Denys Hotel
St Denys Hotel
#1 of 46 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Royale Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Royale Hotel & Spa

Property: Mount Royale Hotel & Spa
Address: 117/119 The Mount, York YO24 1GU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in York
#8 Romantic Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Mount Royale Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A grade two listed William IV building with mature old English garden housing the heated swimming pool (open May to September). Sauna, steam room & hot tub (open all year). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Mount Royale Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Royale York
Hotel Mount Royale York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing