We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mount Royale Hotel & Spa
Ranked #6 of 45 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great weekend”
Reviewed 20 October 2012

Our friends chose this hotel as part of their world tour and we joined them. What a great choice! The welcome was warm and friendly and staff had a sense of humour and a a smile on their faces.
It suited us down to the ground. The room was great with an enormous bed and everything we needed.

The position is great, just outside the city walls so easy access to the city without the hassle.

The breakfast lasted me all day long- what more do I need to say? We ate in the restaurant and the food was great.

If there is a downer, the guy in charge of the restaurant was maybe a little over the top and visited too often to make sure things were OK. The hotel is on the right hand corner at a set of lights not far past the racecourse.

Overall, we were very happy with our stay and would gladly stay again

Room Tip: We were give a free upgrade in the wing through the breakfast room. Well worth asking for these.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank imgoingbarmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stuartoxtoby, Owner at Mount Royale Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 24 October 2012
There are so many options on accommodation these days, we are delighted you came to stay with us and that your visit was most enjoyable with good food and good service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

839 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    571
    186
    62
    12
    8
See reviews for
97
519
13
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2012

Went with my mum for five nights and we were looked after wonderfully.
There is a family feel to the place which makes the experience so lovely.
I was moved to a lovely quiet garden room when I had a problem and it was much nicer
than the three 5 star hotels I have been to. A gem.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tom d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stuartoxtoby, Owner at Mount Royale Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 24 October 2012
Many thanks for your wonderful comments and so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.
As a small independent hotel customer service and satisfaction is very high on our list of priorities and therefore positive and constructive feedback is always appreciated.
We look forward to welcoming you both back to the Mount Royale Hotel in the not so distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2012

Helpful from the moment we arrived, allowing us to leave our luggage as we were early & our room wasn't ready. Decor a bit dated but has character. Breakfast was substantial!! Hot tub, sauna & steam room are fab & are located at the end of the gardens. Was pricier than I would normally go for but worth the money £135 for an overnight stay for two. Many of the other hotel I looked at had a min stay of 2 nights for their hotels, perhaps due to the races in York being on that weekend?

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mags71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stuartoxtoby, Owner at Mount Royale Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 25 October 2012
As a family owned hotel we pride ourselves on good customer service, providing a warm and welcoming environment where our guests can relax and unwind.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2012

Everything about this hotel was just lovely! The staff were always very warm and friendly, the room was clean and comfortable and the breakfasts were just outstanding! The choice on the cooked menu was top class and the extra cold buffet choice was like nothing I have ever seen before. So much went into everything they did, I would recommend to anyone and will be returning again soon!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa_cheshire_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stuartoxtoby, Owner at Mount Royale Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 25 October 2012
We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us, your comments shall be relayed to all concerned and are very much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2012

This hotel was chosen on recommendation from a business traveller and we weren't disappointed. It was good and our exec room was spacious and a bit different with older furniture, but which was of a good quality giving it a period quirky feel. The staff were extremely friendly, we really enjoyed a chat and a couple of drinks in the charming bar with open fire and the breakfasts we excellent. For us, the hotel was a little bit of a walk from the city centre - a good 20 minute walk, not bad if you do it once a day, but having walked in the morning and returning to the hotel in the afternoon we resorted to going into the city by taxi in the evening (£5.20 one way). Local restaurants / pub meals to the hotel proved the best value.

Room Tip: We are told they are all different. We had exec room 12 which was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kolrmt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stuartoxtoby, Owner at Mount Royale Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 25 October 2012
As a smaller hotel we aim to provide a more personal, relaxed but still professional service where guests can make the most of their stay and feel happy and content on check-out.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2012

I had to be in the area for work commitments and chose York as it was equidistant between 2 venues. Decided to go for a smaller private hotel and researched to find this one . I thought the reviews may have been over the top or even written by the staff but this place lived up to everything that had been said about it. It helped that I was upgraded to a lovely large room with comfy armchairs, a flat screen tv and dvd player and 4 poster bed, but I found the service attentive but not obtrusive, the food in the restaurant very good, if a little pricey and the breakfast was excellent. In fact the best fresh cooked bacon I have had for a long time. The hotel was very close to the city walls (10 minute walk) and easy for vehicle access and leaving York. I did not use the spa, but if I wanted that sort of hotel I would have chosen a rural location and a view. It is difficult to fault this place. I will return with my wife and she is usually difficult to please with hotels.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank finesseskip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stuartoxtoby, Owner at Mount Royale Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 24 October 2012
Many thanks for your wonderful comments and so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Mount Royale Hotel when next in York..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston, MA
Level Contributor
45 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2012

This stay was quite a surprise – a pleasant one, I hasten to add. I’ve not stayed in a small, private hotel like this before so I as unsure what to expect. I booked it because I wanted a suite and it seemed to be the only hotel in York with one available. But I need not have worried.

The “garden suites” are in a single-storey modern annex attached to the main building which is a former 19th century mansion. Actually junior suites, but surprisingly spacious with a comfortable sitting area as well as a good size dressing room and large bathroom. Even more surprising, every detail of the furnishings and equipment was distinctly 5-star quality and with nary a scratch to be seen. Free wi-fi with a faster download speed than at the most expensive hotels in London. Plenty of lighting. Absolute soundproofing. Wow.

Dinner is served in a distinctly gourmet and somewhat expensive restaurant which occupies space in the main building, and although the restaurant is independent of the hotel, the hotel offers half-board packages which include dinner there, and in any case any charges by the restaurant can be put on your hotel bill. Both the food and the service there are of the highest quality.

So far as the overall hotel service is concerned, it leaves nothing to be desired. When I was unsure how to fit my car into the small parking lot upon arrival, the receptionist came outside – in the rain – and quickly sorted out the problem. A dead lightbulb in my suite was changed in under five minutes with profuse apologies. The amazing breakfast, served in a pleasant dedicated breakfast room (not in the restaurant), was delivered with a level of speed and courtesy which numerous mega-expensive establishments such as the Lake Como Villa D’Este would do well to try and emulate.

The location is pretty good too. Easy to find as it’s on the main road into town from London. A seven-minute walk to a main entrance through the city wall, then a further ten minutes or less to the river, the shopping, the medieval streets and York Minster. The fabulous National Railway Museum is a ten-minute walk in the same direction.

Altogether a very pleasant off-beat change from the Hilton/Marriott/whatever chain hotel experience.

Room Tip: The garden suites are spacious, comfortable and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Westonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stuartoxtoby, Owner at Mount Royale Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 12 October 2012
Many thanks for your wonderful comments and so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Mount Royale Hotel when next in York..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
1.5 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
1.0 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 45 in York
1,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.5 mi away
The Principal York
The Principal York
#11 of 45 in York
1,044 reviews
0.9 mi away
St Denys Hotel
St Denys Hotel
#1 of 45 in York
574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Royale Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Royale Hotel & Spa

Property: Mount Royale Hotel & Spa
Address: 117/119 The Mount, York YO24 1GU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in York
#8 Romantic Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Mount Royale Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A grade two listed William IV building with mature old English garden housing the heated swimming pool (open May to September). Sauna, steam room & hot tub (open all year). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Mount Royale Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Royale York
Hotel Mount Royale York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing