We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old but charming”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mount Royale Hotel & Spa
Ranked #5 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Rosewood Australia
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Old but charming”
Reviewed 5 May 2013 via mobile

We stayed for two nights and would definitely come back. Very old building but everything is tastefully done. Staff are friendly and professional. Breakfast was excellent and our room was large and well equipped. You also have the bonus of Burrbridges restaurant in the building. We don't usually eat at hotel restaurants but this one is better than you will get In London. Only 10 minute walk to the town wall. We did not use our car for two days. I recommend it to anyone.

Stayed May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Leon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stuartoxtoby, Owner at Mount Royale Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 3 June 2013
We are a private independent hotel with a character that is both individual and a little quirky, but our commitment to good service and customer care is our greatest goal and we are therefore very appreciative of your lovely comments and look forward to welcoming you back in the not so distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

883 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    605
    194
    63
    12
    9
See reviews for
101
552
13
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2013

I've stayed twice at Mount Royale since I gave it a 3 star review because of the previous restaurant, which was not good. Now the new restaurant is intalled, I felt I had to write a new review, with more stars: the hotel is as friendly and charming as before, lovely breakfasts and - a thing I particularly like - you can get smaller rooms on a single occupancy tariff at a decent rate, which can be hard to find.

The new restaurant, though, brings the whole place into a new class, the food is very good and served with enthusiasm and frankly it makes a big difference to have the choice to stay in your own hotel and dine like this if you don't want to go out: my friends and I stayed in winter and were very glad of it.

We're going to keep coming back.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PamperLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stuartoxtoby, Owner at Mount Royale Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 10 May 2013
Wonderful to hear that you are going to keep coming back to see us and that your dining experience in the beautiful Burbidge's Restaurant was much improved. All the food in the hotel, whether it be our award wining breakfast or in the restaurant with its recently awarded AA Rosette, is freshly prepared to individual guest requirements using local produce.
We do hope your next visit to us shall be in the warmer months when you can also enjoy the full benefits of our delightful old English garden with outdoor heated pool, hot tub, sauna and steam room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 April 2013 via mobile

Hotels in York, as in so many tourist cities, are a mixed bunch to say the least, but the Mount Royale in its elevated position away from the noise and traffic fumes is a gem. I last stayed there with my parents in the early 1980s, but returning now with my wife I was delighted to find the same family in charge and, if anything, even higher standards of comfort and hospitality. We had a ground floor room with picture windows and doors leading straight into the delightful garden, an oasis of calm in the busy city. Breakfast was delicious with plentiful, locally-sourced ingredients. Dinner in Burbridges Restaurant was also excellent. The only downside is rather outdated decor in some of the public rooms, and in a hotel of this standard it would be nice to be able to make tea in a pot rather than in the mug, but those are minor quibbles. The staff, many of them long-serving, could not have been more friendly and helpful, and altogether our stay was a delight. Strongly recommended.

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Haslewood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stuartoxtoby, Owner at Mount Royale Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 6 May 2013
In such a competitive market as ours, we do try our best to provide guests with a level of service which is consistent and of a personal yet professional manner, and are so pleased that your stay with us was most enjoyable. The Oxtoby family have been the proud owners of the Mount Royale for the last 47 years and are still very much involved with the day to day running of the hotel, along with several loyal members of the team who have grown with them over the years. We take on board your constructive comments and are continually working towards updating and maintaining things, but as I am sure you can appreciate a building dating from the 1830's is an on going task. Thank you for taking the time to write such wonderful comments and we look forward to welcoming you back in the not so distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 April 2013

We stayed here the night before new years eve for a belated Christmas present. When we first arrived there was no one on reception as the member of staff was also working the bar. He apologised and gave us a lovely warm welcome. We were upgraded to the garden suite which was a pleasant surprise and it was a beautiful room, We were a bit disappointed that the jacuzzi wasn't open but we understood due to the time of year, it closed early. This did not dampen our visit though.
Our room was very spacious and we had a beautiful view of the garden, shame it wasn't warmer as would have been perfect to sit outside and enjoy a nice cup of tea or a glass of wine and watch the little birds!
We ate next door and the food was very good. My partner had the steak and I had a pasta dish.
when we came back to the hotel we had a few drinks in the bar, which was very cosy (open fire) and warm, The night porter/barman was very friendly and made us feel welcome. Unfortunately I can't remember his name, but nothing was too much trouble and he had lots of interesting stories to tell, especially about the football!
When we were checking out it was getting very busy and we were told they were fully booked for that night, they were hosting a masquerade ball, we said that maybe next year if we have no plans for NYE, it looked like it would be a great night so would like to visit for it.
We would like to say thank you again for your hospitality.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul1Rach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stuartoxtoby, Owner at Mount Royale Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 6 May 2013
Thank you for lovely comments and what a wonderful belated Christmas present. Unfortunately during the time of your visit and the lack of daylight hours means that the hot tub, sauna and steam do close early at this time of year for health and safety reason, which I am sure you can appreciate. We do hope that you will come and stay with us now the lighter nights and slightly warmer weather is here, and make the most of the hot tub along with our beautiful outdoor heated pool. We are in the process of preparing our Christmas brochure with the New Years Eve celebration package following soon after, and hope that celebrating either Christmas or New Year, or why not both, with us is something we can tempt you with.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 28 April 2013

We were warmly welcomed on arrival and bags taken to our spacious room. pre dinner dtinks in a cosy,quirky lounge were served with smiles. the staff were.helpful and friendly. In the restaurant a large table was set for our party in a seperate area. the food was outstanding and served.with courtesy and good humour.
after dinner was as good as it could be with superb service again from restaurant and hotel staff. breakfast was wonderful. dinner etc sat night was just as good.
a room was also set up as a chapel.for us to celebrate mass. nothing was too much trouble. we hope to visit again next year.
a huge thanks to all for a very special stay.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bordea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stuartoxtoby, Owner at Mount Royale Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 29 April 2013
We do appreciate your wonderful comments and so pleased your reunion of friends was such a pleasant occasion. As a small independent hotel customer care and satisfaction is very important to all the staff, and we do try and help in anyway we can to make your stay with us as relaxing and enjoyable as possible. All food in the hotel is freshly prepared and has been acknowledged by a breakfast award for many years and a recently gained AA Rosette for the restaurant, both of which we are very proud of.
Your kind comments shall be relayed to all concerned and we very much look forward to welcoming you all back next year, if not before.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2013

We stayed here for a weekend with a group of 20 friends. The staff were incredibly friendly. Nothing was too much trouble, even when we asked for all the furniture to be moved so we could have the use of an empty room. They agreed with good humour and efficiency. We dined both evenings in the on site restaurant which, although separately run, works closely with the hotel. The food in the dining room was excellent. A very varied choice,but not so much that you could have any doubt that everything was freshly prepared. It is not easy to feed so many who have, between them chosen everything on the menu!
Our room, number 17, was clean and warm with a comfortable bed. What more do you need from a hotel? I would say a good breakfast and it is here that the Mount Royal scores particularly well. There was a wide choice and everything was freshly cooked and produced quickly. I can recommend the porridge and the fresh fruit was excellent.
The hotel is an easy walk to the many attractions York has to offer and although it is not the cheapest around it certainly met all our expectations.

Room Tip: Room 17 is on the ground floor so no stairs to climb
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stuartoxtoby, Owner at Mount Royale Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 29 April 2013
Thank you for your lovely comments with regards to your recent stay with us. All the staff in the hotel are very customer focussed and if we can do anything to make your stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible, and it is within our means, then we shall always aim to do what we can. All the food in the hotel, whether it be breakfast or evening meal, is freshly cooked to individual tastes and requirements and we are very proud of our long standing breakfast awards and recently gained an AA Rosette for the restaurant. Looking forward to welcoming you all back in the not so distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton Arlosh
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

An exceptionally friendly family-run hotel. The staff are all dedicated to ensuring that the guests are looked after at the highest standards.A truly 'pet-friendly' hotel - Monty even had his bed vacuumed and his dish washed - for 'breakfast' he was given a sausage and a bonio! My husband and i stayed in room 30 in the garden suite. We could not fault it. The beds were very comfortable and it was nice being able to step straight out of our room into the interesting garden. the swimming pool is not open in April, but we could have enjoyed a sauna or hot tub if wanted. We have had good breakfasts in good hotels but this one 'took the carrot'' Handy having the excellent Burbridges restaurant next door and the bus stop on the doorstep - and the racecourse nearby for dog walks.

Room Tip: The garden rooms are great and very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stuartoxtoby, Owner at Mount Royale Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 12 April 2013
Being a small independent hotel customer care and satisfaction is very important to us and therefore do appreciate you taking the time to write such wonderful comments. We are all dog lovers at the hotel and so pleased Monty, and of course yourselves, enjoyed your stay with us and can be assured of a sausage and bonio breakfast on future visits (for Monty only !).
We do hope you manage to coincide your next trip with much better weather where you take full advantage of the swimming pool, hot-tub, sauna and steam room
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
1.0 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,251 reviews
1.5 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 47 in York
622 reviews
0.9 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.5 mi away
The Principal York
The Principal York
#10 of 47 in York
1,209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Royale Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Royale Hotel & Spa

Property: Mount Royale Hotel & Spa
Address: 117/119 The Mount, York YO24 1GU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in York
#8 Romantic Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Mount Royale Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A grade two listed William IV building with mature old English garden housing the heated swimming pool (open May to September). Sauna, steam room & hot tub (open all year). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Mount Royale Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Royale York
Hotel Mount Royale York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing