We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mount Royale Hotel & Spa
Ranked #5 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We cant rate the service in the hotel enough. We got married in York on 7th September and stayed 2 nights in this hotel. How I wish we had had our wedding here! We had 7 rooms for our party and every single one of them was great - spacious and well decorated, each with a touch of individuality. Yes the hotel is an old building but the owners have made sure it isn't dated whilst ensuring it has not lost any of its charm.The breakfast is amazing with lots of choice and everything was beautifully cooked. And the staff - I cannot fault anyone of them. From the second we arrived to the moment we left we received nothing but first class service. Our bags were carried to our rooms, ice buckets provided, taxis arranged. We had 2 young children in the group and nothing was too much trouble for the staff. From sorting out breakfasts to managing our pushchairs and car seats. The garden is lovely with lot of little paths to follow. The garden furniture probably doesn't quite match the rest of the hotel but this is just an observation, not an issue. The hotel is over my 'every day' budget which is such a shame as we would love to spend all our wedding anniversaries here! Hopefully we will return at some point as we did not get chance to use the restaurant. A really big thank you to all staff who helped make our wedding weekend special x x

Room Tip: Any of the 7 rooms we stayed in were great - couldn't find fault with any!
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarah s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard O, Owner at Mount Royale Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

Thank you so much for your wonderful comments and we are delighted to hear that we managed to contribute to your very special weekend.
As a family owned hotel we pride ourselves on good customer service, providing a warm and welcoming environment in our characterful and individual bedrooms and guest areas.
If we can do anything to make our guests stay more comfortable and enjoyable, and it is within our means, then we shall always endeavour to do this
We are also very proud of our award wining breakfasts serving freshly prepared local produce cooked to each individuals taste and requirements, and this also continues in our restaurant. We do hope that you come back and see us in the future and celebrate your special occasion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (912)
There are newer reviews for Mount Royale Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

604 - 610 of 912 reviews

Reviewed 29 September 2013

Although this is on our doorstep it was the first time we had been inside. We were invited to a friends birthday drink and were so surprised at how stunning the bar area is, the wood looks so inviting and the huge fireplace sets the scene. The bar staff were friendly and had a good grasp of how to serve a busy bar and keep everyone happy. Must come for something to eat. Wonderful atmosphere.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard O, Owner at Mount Royale Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

Delighted to hear you had a very pleasant evening, enjoying a birthday drink with your friends in our relaxed bar and look forward to you coming to dine with us in our beautiful Oxo's Restaurant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Spent three nights here in late September 2013. Paid £125 a night for a standard twin room (no.12) on the ground floor, just outside the breakfast room and at the bottom of the staircase. I wondered if that meant it was going to be noisy, but another door separated the bedroom from the room door, and it was quiet.
The bedroom was spacious, the beds comfortable and the furniture very nice indeed. There was a row of tea caddies on a shelf in the bedroom, which added further character. The bathroom was okay, but was a little cramped in comparison - the sink was large but the bath was small, and you had to stoop beneath the shower (at 5ft 7in I'm hardly tall).
We didn't eat dinner at the hotel, but made use of the bar a couple of times - Americans would call it quaint. Fortunately, there's a lounge area where you can enjoy your drinks/wait before your table is ready in the restaurant.
The Mount Royale is famed for its breakfasts, and I have to say the ones we had were excellent. The Mount Royale Grill and the eggs benedict I tried really were very good indeed, while the toast was hot, the coffee strong and the orange juice freshly squeezed. The pleasant, efficient waiter added to the experience.
In summary, it was a very pleasant stay. The Mount Royale is a 10-15 minute walk to the city walls, and a good choice for tourists and business people.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SouthernSunLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stuartoxtoby, Owner at Mount Royale Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

We are a private independent hotel with a character that is both individual and a little quirky, but our commitment to good service and customer care is our greatest goal and we are therefore very appreciative of your lovely comments. We are very proud of our award wining breakfasts, using freshly prepared local produce, cooked to individual requirements and tastes and delighted to hear they continue to be enjoyed. We look forward to welcoming you back when hopefully you could experience the same fresh local produce in our beautiful Restaurant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Great hotel within easy walking distance of the town centre. Room 4 was big, quiet and comfy. Bags taken to room for us. Great breakfast and after checking out we were allowed to leave car in car park for the day while we continued wandering around York. Will go back there for sure.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Webb1e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stuartoxtoby, Owner at Mount Royale Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

Delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us as we do try our best to make all our guests stay as comfortable and relaxing as possible. We look forward to welcoming you both back in the not so distant furture.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Very pleased with the hotel and would like to stay again to enjoy the full facilities. Very comfy bed and helpful staff. The hotel decor itself is fabulous and quaint. Very enjoyable breakfast too. Thought £125 was steep at first but comparing this to your large mass hotels like the hilton I would much rather stay here.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Krisswfc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stuartoxtoby, Owner at Mount Royale Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

As a smaller hotel we aim to provide a more personal, relaxed but still professional service where guests can make the most of their stay and feel happy and content on check-out.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

I spent weeks reviewing hotels in York for our 22nd anniversary weekend break away and finally made a booking at the Mount Royal. What a fabulous time we had! Our executive double room excelled our expectations. Despite being downstairs in the hotel, our room was full of character and had both an adjacent bathroom and a seperate dressing room. Everything was clean and beautifully presented. The staff couldn't have been more helpful and the food served for breakfast as well as our evening meal was absolutely delicious. We even took advantage of the free DVD loan service run by reception. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff and everyone had a smile! If we are ever in York again we wouldn't hesitate to rebook here.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel are away from the main road, so quieter.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lorraine O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stuartoxtoby, Owner at Mount Royale Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

Many thanks for your wonderful comments and so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.
As a small independent hotel customer service and satisfaction is very high on our list of priorities and therefore positive and constructive feedback is always appreciated.
We look forward to welcoming you both back to the Mount Royale Hotel in the not so distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

PROS : Lovely pleasant and helpful staff. Great food served in really nice breakfast room and restaurant. |Good location and parking . Only a 10 minute walk to the city centre or frequent bus service from outside the hotel. Our room was great in that it had both a bedroom and a sitting room with a flat screen TV in each.

CONS; A tired hotel typical of family owned establishments. A hotel chain would close it down for 3 months and gut the whole building. Our bathroom had a BADLY cracked wash basin and the carpet in the other rooms was in desperate need of shampooing. The room was clean .as was the linen but vacuuming of both the room and the hallways was missing. Again typical of family run hotels where they are not prepared to pay for housekeeping supervision. The outside maintenance looked like the man was fighting a losing battle with extensive grounds and an old building to maintain

Did we have a good weekend ? Yes for the reasons stated in PROS.
Was it good value for Money? It may well be for York area pricing. But a few weeks ago we had a marvellous weekend at Weston Hotel Scarborough at 60% less than this hotel's prices

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank istanbul187067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stuartoxtoby, Owner at Mount Royale Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

Thank you for your positive comments and constructive feedback and pleased to hear that you did, in part, have a good weekend. The hotel is a listed building dating back to the 1830's and therefore maintenance and upkeep of the property is on going, which I am sure you can appreciate, but this also adds to the unique and individual character of the hotel. The property has been owned by the same family for the last 47 years, and along with their dedicated team, including a head housekeeper, continues to provide a personal, yet professional service to all our visitors, a great many of which are returning guests. We hope you continue to visit the beautiful city of York and all the delights it has to offer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
1.5 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
0.9 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 47 in York
648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,343 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Principal York
The Principal York
#10 of 47 in York
1,334 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#19 of 47 in York
1,507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Royale Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Royale Hotel & Spa

Address: 117/119 The Mount, York YO24 1GU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in York
#8 Romantic Hotel in York
Price Range: £128 - £230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mount Royale Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A grade two listed William IV building with mature old English garden housing the heated swimming pool (open May to September). Sauna, steam room & hot tub (open all year). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Mount Royale Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Royale York
Hotel Mount Royale York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing