We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I suppose we're "regulars"!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mount Royale Hotel & Spa
Ranked #5 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Solihull, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“I suppose we're "regulars"!”
Reviewed 13 November 2013

We first visited the Mount Royale in 1997 and have returned every year since for a four day break with friends in October. This year we slipped in a sneaky break also during the summer! This is a family run hotel where the family and their excellent staff let guests enjoy what all good UK hotels used to be good at . Nothing is too much trouble. We eat there and of course have been known to drink there too in the cosy and welcoming bar. Foodwise ? Dinner in the restaurant is simply excellent and breakfast -- all cooked to order-- is an experience not to be missed. Over the years we have sampled a number of rooms but have settled on the garden suites which are spacious and very well appointed. Would we stay anywhere else in York ? Absolutely not, and indeed our oct 2014 reservation is already made. Kevin Wilson Tanworth in Arden UK

Room Tip: Pick a Garden suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard O, Owner at Mount Royale Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Thank you for such wonderful comments but more importantly thank you for your continued custom and loyalty to the Mount Royale.
As a family owned hotel we pride ourselves on good customer service, providing a warm and welcoming environment where our guests can relax and unwind and we look forward to welcoming you all back in 2014
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

883 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    605
    194
    63
    12
    9
See reviews for
101
552
13
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

We stopped at this hotel mid September after a long stay in Tuscany.
We found the hotel staff possibly the owner to be very friendly and we enjoyed a very well made Gin and Tonic in the cosy bar, hard to find people who know how to make good Gin and tonic.
Dinner was really good everything was tasty and unusual and really well presented and well served.
Good selection on the menu and reasonable selection of wines.
Our bedroom was fine up a lot of stairs then up another little flight of stairs till we got to an unusual shaped room, a little sitting area, up some stairs into the bed chamber. I have to say that looking at the photos there seemed to be a lot nicer bedrooms than the one we got, possibly you have to pay more for the better ones??
The bedroom was clean and the sleep quality was very good.
Parking is on the front of the hotel.
There is approx 20 mins walk into the historic center of York.
The hotel has a lovely garden with a little pool at the far end.
The weather was awful and we had a wee look in the garden then went back to the warmth of the hotel..
I would stay in this hotel again, but I would like to know more about what room they would let me have, next time.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FERRARISTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard O, Owner at Mount Royale Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
We are a private independent hotel with a character that is both individual and a little quirky, but our commitment to good service and customer care is our greatest goal and we are therefore very appreciative of your lovely comments.
All the rooms in the main part of the hotel are very individual and all with there own unique characters so it is always difficult to show someone a 'typical' room, but we are more than happy for you to have a look in some of the rooms (if not occupied) in order to find a preference.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loughborough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Only 1 night stay. We had one room upgraded without asking or being told - couldn't believe how nice it was - it was a garden room suite. Other room was executive twin. Service was brilliant - as someone else has said "how hotels used to be". Garden was lovely (and this was November). Breakfast was absolutely to die for. Hotel had loads of character, much much nicer than a modern box. If I had to be critical, may be some of the carpets were a bit tired, but don't let that put you off. Next time I'm in York will definitely stay there, hopefully in the summer as the outdoor dining looked fantastic

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard O, Owner at Mount Royale Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Thank you for your positive feedback, we do try our best to provide a good service and is always nice to hear that our hard work is appreciated, and we hope to welcome you back when a little warmer so you can make the most of our garden and outdoor facilities
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 11 November 2013

This was our first visit to York and the Mount Royale Hotel. Our experience was far better than we ever expected. We were made to feel very welcome from the minute we arrived. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly. Our room was lovely and cozy, the bar is great and the restaurant is excellent. The hotel is in a perfect location, an easy walk to the City centre. We will definitely stay her the next time we're in York.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room off the main hotel, through the breakfast area. Lovely and cozy, very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flemming J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard O, Owner at Mount Royale Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Such wonderful comments, thank you very much. The family and staff all aim to provide a warm and welcoming atmosphere with good food and good service and we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to York
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Stayed here for two nights last December . Very friendly staff on reception , offered to carry our cases to our room which was in the attic. Small room and smelt slightly musty on arrival but was lovely and warm and clean. There is a small carpark to the front of the hotel so would immagine it gets pretty full! Breakfast was fabulous and the best eggs benedict I have ever tasted :-) I would stay here again but would make sure it wasn't the small attic room !

Room Tip: Not the small attic room ! Staircase very narrow with steep steps!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mokey05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stuartoxtoby, Owner at Mount Royale Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
As a small independent hotel customer service and satisfaction is very high on our list of priorities and therefore positive and constructive feedback is always appreciated.
We look forward to welcoming you both back to the Mount Royale Hotel in the not so distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rotherham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 October 2013

From arriving to leaving the service was first class and extremely friendly. This independent hotel has lots of character and finesse. The bar is lovely and friendly and the food in the restaurant is excellent and well priced.
I would pick this hotel the next time I find myself in York.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 110Dino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stuartoxtoby, Owner at Mount Royale Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
There are so many options on accommodation these days, we are delighted you came to stay with us and that your visit was most enjoyable with good food and good service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We have arrived back home after visiting the Mount Royale Hotel for four nights. This was an exceptional hotel, the staff and everyone there were extremely helpful, the breakfasts and food in the restaurant were first class, although as we were meeting friends on two of the days for dinner we were only able to eat in the restaurant on two nights much to our disappointment. The banana cake is delicious, you should try for the Great British Bake Off. Many thanks to Marie, Sharon, John and everyone else who I don't know the names of and also the lady who bakes the cakes. Many many thanks Audrey & Ralph Stockley

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guernsey12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stuartoxtoby, Owner at Mount Royale Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful comments and we are delighted to hear that your stay with us was so enjoyable. Customer service and care is very important to all our staff and we do appreciate guests taking the time and trouble to acknowledge this. We look forward to welcoming you back in the not so distant future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
1.0 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,249 reviews
1.5 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 47 in York
622 reviews
0.9 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.5 mi away
The Principal York
The Principal York
#10 of 47 in York
1,209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Royale Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Royale Hotel & Spa

Property: Mount Royale Hotel & Spa
Address: 117/119 The Mount, York YO24 1GU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in York
#8 Romantic Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Mount Royale Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A grade two listed William IV building with mature old English garden housing the heated swimming pool (open May to September). Sauna, steam room & hot tub (open all year). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Mount Royale Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Royale York
Hotel Mount Royale York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing