We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Corporate weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mount Royale Hotel & Spa
Ranked #5 of 46 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Dumbarton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Corporate weekend”
Reviewed 3 February 2014

We recently stayed as part of a trip arranged by my wifes employer for all staff and partners, and would highly recommend staying at this hotel and may visit again in the future.
Very nice building with lots of character, and lovely gardens that in the summer would be nice to sit out in.
Breakfasts were first class and service second to none.

Overall made for a nice break end of January/early Feb 2014.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kmclean73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard O, Owner at Mount Royale Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
How wonderful of your wife's employer to arrange a trip for you all to the beautiful city of York and delighted to hear that you came to the Mount Royale Hotel this time for relaxation and not just business. We hope you all come back and see us, either on another group visit or individually, and enjoy the good food and service that we take pride in providing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

862 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    589
    191
    62
    12
    8
See reviews for
98
537
13
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014 via mobile

We had a one night break in York and stayed in a suite (room 20). The hotel is nicely located just outside the old city walls and is a 12 minute walk from the centre of York. We found the hotel to be excellent in all respects - the staff were very friendly and helpful, the room was very nice and the breakfast was exceptional. The best hotel we have found so far in York.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Spike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard O, Owner at Mount Royale Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
There are so many options on accommodation these days, we are delighted you came to stay with us and that your visit was most enjoyable with good food and good service. We look forward to welcoming you back
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

I treated my partner to a trip to York for his birthday and after much searching I chose the Mount Royale based on the price per night and its location. When we arrived we parked our car in their free carpark right outside the hotel, we were warmly greeted and shown to a gorgeous room on the first floor. They provided cafetiere coffee in the room which was a winner for me!! York is a short stroll away, the location of the hotel couldn't of been better. At breakfast they had a little continental selection buffet and each breakfast was made to order, i have worked in catering all my working career and my partner is a chef so we are a fussy pair!!...I've never had such a tasty fresh full english in a hotel!! It was ace!! The staff were lovely and nothing was too much trouble. I can't wait to return, thanks for a lovely break away Mount Royale.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loislois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard O, Owner at Mount Royale Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Many thanks for your lovely comments and we are delighted to hear that the birthday treat for your partner was spent at the Mount Royale, and that we helped to contribute towards making it very special. We pride ourselves on our award winning breakfasts which are all freshly prepared using locally sourced produce and are therefore relieved to know that they were greatly enjoyed by a 'fussy pair' !! We look forward to welcoming you both back in the not so distant future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Driffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Myself and my partner have just returned from a last minute night away at the Mount Royal and we can honestly say it was a fantastic experience.
From the staff who were all so friendly and accommodating, to the food which was second to none. We dined in Oxos on the night which was truly amazing and the lemon tart was to die for!
In the morning we were not disappointed either, I can truly say that breakfast was the best we have ever had in a hotel and once again the service was exceptional.
Yes the décor is alittle dated but this pales into insignificance when you take into account the fantastic staff, service and amazing food.
We will definantly be back!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 415Katie_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard O, Owner at Mount Royale Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Being a small independent hotel within a building of great age (built in the 1830's) and character, maintenance is an on going task, but your constructive comments re the décor have been noted. We do appreciate customer feed back to help us to continue to improve and move forward. Our commitment to serving freshly prepared food accompanied by good service is a continual goal and it is appreciated when this is acknowledged, thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 23 January 2014

I knew I had found something special when I came across the Mount Royale Hotel website but my stay with 9 friends for my 40th birthday totally surpassed my expectations with the warmest of welcomes, the highest quality of service and the beautifully exquisite rooms amongst so many other fabulous features. Rob made our stay super special and could not do enough for us. Our delightful afternoon tea, relaxing in the hot tub and sauna and treatments at the Secret Oasis spa made for an unforgettable weekend. We all left raving about the hotel and wanting to arrange a Summer visit as soon as possible. One of our party even booked a Valentine's stay before we left! With it's beautiful charm, period features and outstanding standards, I would not look to stay anywhere else in York moving forward. Superb in every department.

Room Tip: One of our party stayed in Room 12 located on the ground floor and this double was particularly spec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard O, Owner at Mount Royale Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
We are a private independent hotel with a character that is both individual and a little quirky, but our commitment to good service and customer care is our greatest goal and we are therefore very appreciative of your lovely comments. We are delighted to hear that some of your party have already booked to come back and see us and we look forward to welcoming you all back for a summer visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014 via mobile

My daughter stayed here 18th January. I had contacted the hotel to arrange surprises speaking to Glyn, Jane and Mary who were immensely helpful, excellent customer service. Daughter has not stopped talking about her superb stay.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Gladys L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard O, Owner at Mount Royale Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
We are delighted to hear your daughter had a most enjoyable stay with us and that we were able to help you organise some extra special treats for her birthday weekend. All our staff have a genuine desire to provide excellent customer service and your wonderful comments shall be relayed to all concerned, thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

From our first steps into the Mount Royle, after a short walk from the train station, we were checked in efficiently and timely and led to our room- 17 which was supposedly a suite. Although very spacious, there wasn't anything particular 'suite' about it. The room itself was very dated, and not our usual style however was clean an no specific complaints! It did the job, and as a last minute booking, not anything we would complain about! We turned up at just before 4pm, and while a note in our bathroom told us the outdoor hot tub would close at 4pm, we tried our luck! Glad we did, as it was great- At the bottom of the garden, enclosed in a pergola, we got a good hours worth and even been told we would have to get out soon was done in a very pleasant and understanding way! We were welcome to use the Sauna and Steam room still, and we did- what a great addition to our otherwise standard room! Breakfast- we saw a number of awards on the front door, and we know why! Very attentive staff, great choice, great options, great food and great service!! 5* Breakfast and we are not breakfast people! Overall, a very pleasant stay, and the staff really need to be commended for being so good at what they do! Although the room wasn't to our style, and the breakfast area showing signs of its age the bar and restaurant are defiantly in keeping with a very classy hotel!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank djb26uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard O, Owner at Mount Royale Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
We are a private independent hotel with a character that is both individual and a little quirky, but our commitment to good service and customer care is our greatest goal and we are therefore very appreciative of your lovely comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
1.5 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
1.0 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.5 mi away
The Principal York
The Principal York
#11 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,121 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 46 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Royale Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Royale Hotel & Spa

Property: Mount Royale Hotel & Spa
Address: 117/119 The Mount, York YO24 1GU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in York
#8 Romantic Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Mount Royale Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A grade two listed William IV building with mature old English garden housing the heated swimming pool (open May to September). Sauna, steam room & hot tub (open all year). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Mount Royale Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Royale York
Hotel Mount Royale York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing