We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel for a perfect city break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mount Royale Hotel & Spa
Ranked #5 of 46 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel for a perfect city break”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Arrived at this beautiful hotel and from the second we walked in the service was faultless from the reception staff, bell boy, restaurant staff and barr staff it was amazing. As for the rooms they are full of character, very dated but this is a victorian style house so to be expected. The bed sheets and towels were very clean the only gripe is that the bathroom could have done with a deep clean round the back of the toilet etc but all the visable areas were spotless and I was very comfortable! If you want boring and modern dont stay here but if you want stlye and service then book now! Then there was breakfast - WOW - the grill (cooked english breakfast) was brilliant, the eggs bendict was to die for! Tea coffee toast, cheese, cereals - you could of eaten yourself silly if you really wanted to! It was fantastic - I would have paid more for this hotel than we did so its such good value (we paid £125 a night). The only drawback is the car park, it is very small and we got blocked in but you dont need your car to get to town etc so not a problem for us! Try the Old Siam up the road for a Thai meal - it was superb and I will be leaving a seperate review for this! All in all great hotel and we will stay here next time we are in york!

Room Tip: Room 8 is very big with 2 floors but Im sure all rooms are lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Toni H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stuartoxtoby, Owner at Mount Royale Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
We are a private independent hotel with a character that is both individual and a little quirky, but our commitment to good service and customer care is our greatest goal and we are therefore very appreciative of your lovely comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

873 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    597
    193
    62
    12
    9
See reviews for
100
544
13
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Stayed for 3 nights over the Easter weekend. Convenient location, on-site parking, and quick 10 min walk into town centre. Very warm welcome from John and a room upgrade. He could not have been more helpful – with tips on visiting the area, help with bags, he even offered to sort the car out for us later as the car park was full.

Room
Each room is individually and traditionally decorated with some interesting pieces of furniture. We had a big bed which we found very comfortable. Also:- Spare pillows, and blankets; a good blow dryer, above average tea/coffee making facilities, a walk-in closet, iron and ironing board, hangers, lots of drawer space, a fan, mini bar, a flatscreen TV with a good clear picture and great WiFi. Our room (33) was a ground floor garden room with huge floor to ceiling glass on the outside wall, so had a great view of the greenery and gardens outside. Useful thick curtains ideal to block daylight, and lighter ones to simply avoid people seeing in.

Bathroom
Clean and a good size. Huge sink, large bath and rain shower. Basic toiletries were provided as well as big flurry white bath robes.

Hotel Bar
Basically two rooms, one cosy area with a real fire near the bar and a bigger lounge area with lots of comfy sofas.

Breakfast
We weren't really expecting it, but breakfast was certainly one of the highlights. Good range of cereals, fruit, juices, etc and a choice of hot dishes. All delicious in particular the fish cakes and Haddock Eggs Benedict – you can have two but they are decent size so one was usually more than enough! The toast was crunchy and they even make their own bread.

Dinner
We had dinner in the bar one night. It was really excellent, homemade beef pie with hot water pastry, rich gravy and perfect chips. Absolutely delicious – my mouth is watering just thinking about it. The third night we ate in the restaurant Oxo's which was also excellent and which I will review separately. In fact, one of the reasons we stayed here was for the restaurant and we were not disappointed.

Facilities
We did not have time to use the sauna, steam room, pool or hot tub, but they all appeared to be very well looked after, so maybe next time!

Overall we really enjoyed our stay here; the top features being the caring, helpful staff and the fabulous food. We even got a little Easter treat from the folks at Mount Royale Hotel. So thank you Mount Royale for a great 3 night stay with fantastic service and really fabulous food.

Room Tip: I am sure each room has it's own charm, we liked our room (33) as it was large, airy and had a g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kcstravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stuartoxtoby, Owner at Mount Royale Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thank you for your positive feedback, we do try our best to provide a good service and is always nice to hear that our hard work is appreciated, and we hope to welcome you back in the not so distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Weekend Wedding.
Stayed Friday and Saturday (wedding day)
Greeted by friendly reception staff.
Bride & Groom had a lovely upgrade from the Hotel looking onto the beautiful gardens.
Our room was lovely spotless & bright so no quarrels with the accommodation however two afternoons we tried to get drinks in the bar the first afternoon we had to wait approx 5 min to be served despite nobody in the bar on the following afternoon we tried again this time waiting approx 15 minutes despite ringing a bell for attention, on both days we were unable to get draught beers/cider as they said the lines were being cleaned? Bottled beer only.
I wanted to pay cash for our drinks however I was asked to pay on my card which details were taken upon arrival, I said I would rather pay as I went along and again the bar tender said he would prefer it if I put it on our room bill.
We were booked into the exquisite restaurant at 20.30 Sat night x 4, we arrived on time and made our presence known 25 minutes later we were still waiting to be seated in the restaurant and there were people in before us who were also waiting to be seated, we left.
This was our friends wedding day night we walked in high heels trying to find somewhere to eat as the night was getting late and we were starving.
All restaurants were full in walking distance, with sore feet we ended up having a Chinese.
What was a perfect glorious wedding day turned into a upsetting evening.
At check out on Sunday morning we went to pay our bar bill, there were beer on it which we had not had when they doubled checked the bill, there were duplicate bar bills.....so check your bills.

Room Tip: lovely views overlooking the gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trisha C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stuartoxtoby, Owner at Mount Royale Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Thank you for your comments, we do appreciate customer feedback in order for us to continue moving forward in the right direction. We are sorry to hear that your recent stay at the Mount Royale was not the best experience and are very surprised by your comments as customer care and attention is very high on our list of priorities, and delivered on almost all occasions as mentioned in other reports. Your comments shall however be noted and relayed to all staff members concerned, and we hope you will continue to visit our beautiful city of York
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weeting, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

My husband and I have just returned home after a short stay at The Mount Royal. The staff at this hotel are all worth their weight in gold, superb service from start to finish, nothing is too much trouble for these wonderful people.
We were celebrating our Silver Wedding Anniversary and ate in the restaurant on Saturday evening the food was delicious and service again great.
The hotel is ideally situated and it is only a short walk into York, we didn't use the facilities at the hotel but took a walk around the gardens, the swimming pool looked very inviting but it could all do with a little TLC, as could the room we used, while comfortable there were a few things requiring some attention in the bathroom and a small plant had managed to grow under the door into the changing area from the fire exit
However this said the bed was large, comfortable and the room very clean, breakfast served by the friendly welcoming staff, was tasty and the choice extensive .
I would not hesitate to recommend the hotel and hope to return again in the future.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stuartoxtoby, Owner at Mount Royale Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
As a small independent hotel customer service and satisfaction is very high on our list of priorities and therefore positive and constructive feedback is always appreciated.
We look forward to welcoming you both back to the Mount Royale Hotel in the not so distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

Clean, grand, pretty and stylish and excellent service and the best breakfast ever! 10 minute walk to York. Perfect!
Car parking tight but they are more than happy to take your keys and sort it out for you. Very friendly people.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarahlowe1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stuartoxtoby, Owner at Mount Royale Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thank you for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

Absolutely the nicest hotel I've ever stayed in!! Such attention to detail, lovely staff, beautifully hotel, couldn't have been happier. The food was excellent, although we only ate there for breakfast (which we will remedy next time) couldn't recommend to highly enough!!

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Vanessa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stuartoxtoby, Owner at Mount Royale Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Mother and Daughter weekends are special times and we are delighted you chose to spend it with us and that the service you received only added to your time away. We look forward to welcoming you back on future shopping trips
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

**WOW** If i could give this hotel 10 stars i would.
I arranged a surprise birthday weekend at the Mount Royale and when we checked in they upgraded us to the honeymoon suite with was fantastic. After eating in the lovely restuarant they brought out a lovely birthday cake for my wife and all sang happy birthday to her. I cant thank the staff enough for making it a great weekend they were all lovely and each time greeted you with a lovely smile which goes a long way in my book. Thank you again to you all and we will definatly see you again soon.
Oh and the massage i had in the hotel was also fantastic.xx
Steve and Lindsay Ford Lincs x

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Steve F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stuartoxtoby, Owner at Mount Royale Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Many thanks for your wonderful comments and so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.
All our staff take great pride in their positive and genuine customer service, and if we can offer some small gestures to enhance what was a special weekend then we shall always endeavour to do it with a smile.
We look forward to welcoming you both back to the Mount Royale Hotel in the not so distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
1.0 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
1,200 reviews
1.5 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 46 in York
609 reviews
0.9 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.5 mi away
The Principal York
The Principal York
#10 of 46 in York
1,164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Royale Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Royale Hotel & Spa

Property: Mount Royale Hotel & Spa
Address: 117/119 The Mount, York YO24 1GU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in York
#8 Romantic Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Mount Royale Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A grade two listed William IV building with mature old English garden housing the heated swimming pool (open May to September). Sauna, steam room & hot tub (open all year). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Mount Royale Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Royale York
Hotel Mount Royale York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing