We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mount Royale Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (986)
Filter reviews
986 results
Traveller rating
674
217
73
12
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
674
217
73
12
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgarden suiteoxo restauranthot tuboutdoor poolseparate dressing areaeggs benedictwalk in wardrobedressing roommixed grillsteam roomquirky hotelsitting areaupgraded to a suitedvd playerlarge bathroomspa facilitieslots of character
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
602 - 607 of 986 reviews
Reviewed 24 May 2014

I'd looked up this hotel on Tripadvisor and booked it on the basis of the posted reviews. The staff were extremely friendly, efficient and helpful. The hotel is olde worlde but we found the room and all the public areas clean and well maintained. Ideally located for a 10 minute walk into the city centre. Our bed (four poster, room 16) was comfortable with the bathroom and bedroom clean and functional. Tea and coffee making facilities were good. I recommend the breakfast. The choice was really varied. I was boring and chose the mixed grill and my wife had the smoked salmon and scrambled eggs. These set us up for the rest of the day. RECOMMENDED!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Pete_from_Kelsall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stuartoxtoby, Owner at Mount Royale Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

We are a private independent hotel with a character that is both individual and a little quirky, but our commitment to good service and customer care is our greatest goal.
We are also very proud of our Breakfast Award and we are therefore very appreciative of your lovely comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights early May. There was a mix-up when we checked in which was quickly remedied. They upgraded one of our rooms as a result. We stayed in suites, one was a Garden Suite. The rooms are massive and well appointed but in need of an upgrade. Everything is clean and in working order but it's all just a bit tired and old fashioned. It wouldn't put me off returning so please don't let it put you off staying here - just don't expect shiny new contemporary furnishings. The Garden Suite has an awesome outside terrace area looking out to the gardens, again with an upgrade to furnishings would be stunning.
The staff were all uber helpful and friendly. The bar area is really nice and cozy and it's always a bonus when it's table service. The breakfast was beautiful-really fresh and a great selection of hot food to choose from.
It's a 10 minute walk into town in a straight line so the location was perfect for us.
Will definitely stay again if I'm in York.

Room Tip: Garden suites are lovely - great views.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nadine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stuartoxtoby, Owner at Mount Royale Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Many thanks for your wonderful comments and so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.
As a small independent hotel customer service and satisfaction is very high on our list of priorities and therefore positive and constructive feedback is always appreciated.
We look forward to welcoming you both back to the Mount Royale Hotel in the not so distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights for my partners 30th and were very pleased with everything. A warm welcome and very friendly attentive staff without being ott. Great location for our needs. Has to be one of the best breakfasts in York(shire)?!! The only reason it didnt get a five is our bathroom would have been more suitable for persons of a shorter disposition! And slight tiredness to some bedroom decor. Would definitely return and recommend.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank frontside_three
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stuartoxtoby, Owner at Mount Royale Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Thank you for your positive feedback, we do try our best to provide a good service and is always nice to hear that our hard work is appreciated, and we hope to welcome you back in the not so distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Followed the previous reviews and expectation was very good.
Position for York great you can walk everywhere and safely leave the car there.
Great welcome, very friendly staff but all a bit tired. Lovely large room and great bathroom but door sticking.
Decided to eat at Oxos, again because rated number 1 in York but disappointing. Service very slow even after profuse apologies and free drinks offered, still slow and they were not that busy. Food was OK, Lamb a bit overcooked even though they kept saying they served it pink, Sea Trout again OK but the number 1 rating in York with two Red AA stars?
Breakfast improved view significantly. Really great service and a first class offering.
Overall lower rating probably due to our inflated expectation, the restaurant and value for money.Service rating given reflects all aspects other than resturant

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GlynnSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stuartoxtoby, Owner at Mount Royale Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Thank you for your comments, we do appreciate customer feedback in order for us to move forward in a positive way.
Being a listed building, dating back to the 1830's, maintenance and improvements are an on-going task, which I am sure you can appreciate, and our quirky individual nature, we can understand, is not to everyone's taste.
With regards to the restaurant your comments, these are a little surprising, but shall be relayed to all concerned

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Stayed for 3 nights for my husband's 60th birthday. The hotel staff were so friendly and welcoming from the minute we arrived. We had a brilliant meal in the restaurant for my husbands birthday, and the chef made a gorgeous chocolate birthday cake, the staff brought the cake out and everyone sang to him, complete surprise but he loved it. Our room was lovely, plenty of room and overlooking the pretty garden. We even tried the hot tub, lovely and bubbly. The location was brilliant, only 15 minutes to town centre, and plenty to see and do once there. Overall a brilliant break, we liked everything about the hotel, staff, and location, will definitely come again, thank you to everyone for making our stay so enjoyable.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel are quieter.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ann h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stuartoxtoby, Owner at Mount Royale Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

There are so many options on accommodation these days, we are delighted you came to stay with us to celebrate such a special birthday, and that your visit was most enjoyable with good food and good service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews