We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mount Royale Hotel & Spa
Nearby Hotels
US$142
US$115
Doubletree
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$128
US$116
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hilton York(York)
US$154
US$138
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$184
US$151
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
York Marriott Hotel(York)(Great Value!)
US$93
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$204
US$196
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Middletons York(York)(Great Value!)
US$121
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Holiday Inn York(York)(Great Value!)
US$99
US$91
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$114
US$99
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$112
US$95
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (986)
Filter reviews
986 results
Traveller rating
673
218
73
12
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
673
218
73
12
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgarden suiteoxo restauranthot tuboutdoor poolseparate dressing areaeggs benedictwalk in wardrobedressing roommixed grillsteam roomquirky hotelsitting areaupgraded to a suitedvd playerlarge bathroomspa facilitieslots of character
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
597 - 602 of 986 reviews
Reviewed 1 June 2014

This is the second time my wife and I have had a night away at the Mount Royale and on both occasions we have been thoroughly satisfied with the service provided by the very helpful staff.
Our garden room was spacious and comfortable with good bathroom facilities. Our evening meal in the Oxo's restaurant was first rate delivering what the menu stated. The wine list was reasonably priced and we enjoyed a French Viognier to accompany our main meals of rump of lamb and roasted cod loin. Try the treacle tart with its custard and ice cream...very good.
Breakfast served efficiently with plenty of choice and well cooked.
Looking forward to our next visit..

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bill_allen7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Stay on a frequent basis My 40th today and the staff treated me to a lovely breakfast with birthday soilders a fantastic homemade muffin birthday cupcake ! Service and accommodation always brilliant .

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank soniajo2905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Stayed here in April, the hotel staff were friendly and always eager to help. We used all the facilities as the weather was amazing. The outdoor pool, jacuzzi, steam and sauna rooms were a brilliant touch which we used. The rooms were clean and very fitting with york. The centre was a 5-10 minute walk. Breakfast was exceptional and they catered for every need! Definitely staying here next time we visit York!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samantha A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Stayed for Bank Holiday weekend and Suite (room 23 downstairs). Room was large and comfortable although some of the furnishings may be looked a little tired (might be part of the style they were going for), it was clean and the bathroom was very spacious. Breakfast was nice but nothing special; a decent range. For our personal taste the tea and coffee weren't particularly nice (the ones in the room as the ones at breakfast - proper milk in the fridge might have helped rather than the carton stuff). Service was great; everyone was cheerful, helpful, and polite. Overall it wasn't what we were expecting but we weren't disappointed either. See room recommendations

Room Tip: Wouldn't recommend either room downstairs from reception - we had 23. It's below ground level and under the main reception so you get foot fall in the morning
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spaggs-n-Wood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Nice friendly staff. Antique, period features as you arrive - however, our room was pretty shabby. Really needed decorating, peeling paint on the over painted radiators, curtains that need fixing properly and generally wear and tear that you wouldn't expect for a 350 pound B&B tariff. The ensuite again needs a complete update and a good scrub. Awful shower curtain too - a shower door would make such a difference. The first nights' sleep was ruined by a horrid plastic coated mattress protector!! (we removed this for the 2nd night). Our room had a fire escape door onto a roof top escape route. The rickety old wooden hand rails were unsafe, again peeling down to the dried out wood. Breakfast was greasy for a full English, disappointing cheap sausages and the need for new cloths as the orange ones currently used were frayed.
The hotel really thrives on the reputation of the excellent OXO restaurant and the ideal location - only a 15 min walk into York city centre. The bar prices were extortionate - 15 pounds for 2 gin & tonics. As for the grounds.... the pool was filthy and we were not able to use it, the hot tub area looked unkempt and the grounds generally needed a sort out. The photos displayed on the website must have been taken in better days. The pretty outdoor shed was used as storage. We enjoyed our stay in York tho and the hotel has a nice atmosphere. Wouldn't stay again.

Room Tip: The hotel is on the corner junction of a very busy road - ask for a room at the back
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ForestBadger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews