We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mount Royale Hotel & Spa
Ranked #5 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 June 2014

My Mother recently celebrated her 90th birthday with her special friends at an afternoon tea party hosted by the hotel.

Everyone had a fabulous experience in the hotels wonderful surroundings, together with excellent service & attention to detail provided by Stuart and his dedicated team, accompanied by delicious food. The entire day was one that will live in the memory of my Mother and her guests for a very long time!

The Mount Royale is one of York's finest treasures!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YorkBeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (953)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

559 - 565 of 953 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2014

This is the most dog friendly hotel we have ever stayed in. They even cooked sausages for our dog's breakfast. The staff are very friendly and the hotel is clean. We stayed in a garden room which was nice. We would not hesitate in returning to this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScotlandBertie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We stopped over on a whim for one night only and unfortunately got the last available room which was probably not their best.The bed was extremely soft so there was a lot of rolling around! But the biggest surprise was the bar and the restaurant. Absolutely superb fine dining, an imaginative and interesting a la carte menu and gorgeous presentation! The breakfast was divine! Would definitely stop there again!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Maggy1408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Lovely hotel- despite an air of eccentricity about the place, the reception area was lovely. We checked in early so we had somewhere to park the car and walked into the city (took 10minutes) returning later for dinner in the OXO restaurant. Lovely food and wine. My husband would recommend the steak! We left Heidi, the dog upstairs in the room although i am not sure that dogs should be left alone? We ordered room service later, Heidi got a few treats too! Breakfast was delicious and Heidi even got some sausages in her own little bowl! The room was spacious and clean with tea coffee making facilities. There are beautiful gardens to the back which we could see from our room.

Would stay here again for the location.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZarSko29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We very much enjoyed our stay, the staff were extremely helpful and polite. The room was very spacious and the Hotel is very well placed with lovely grounds.
There is an air of eccentricity about the place, it reminded me of some of the hotels I stopped in with my mum and dad in the 80's.
We were forgotten about as we sat in the bar to go into the restaurant, then they deliberated over where to seat us, even though we made the booking prior to arrival. There was nothing rude or off hand about it, just a bit disorganised.
They had one chap running the whole show when we checked in and he had to turn the bar upside down looking for plastic glasses to take to the pool, then make us a sandwich for lunch.
The breakfast was top notch, as good as any I have had and deserves the award.
Overall we enjoyed our stay very much. I don't think it is particularly good value for money, but York hotel prices are higher than average and that has to be considered.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank JamesF76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

This is the second time my wife and I have had a night away at the Mount Royale and on both occasions we have been thoroughly satisfied with the service provided by the very helpful staff.
Our garden room was spacious and comfortable with good bathroom facilities. Our evening meal in the Oxo's restaurant was first rate delivering what the menu stated. The wine list was reasonably priced and we enjoyed a French Viognier to accompany our main meals of rump of lamb and roasted cod loin. Try the treacle tart with its custard and ice cream...very good.
Breakfast served efficiently with plenty of choice and well cooked.
Looking forward to our next visit..

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bill_allen7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Stay on a frequent basis My 40th today and the staff treated me to a lovely breakfast with birthday soilders a fantastic homemade muffin birthday cupcake ! Service and accommodation always brilliant .

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank soniajo2905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
1.5 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
1 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 47 in York
684 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#17 of 47 in York
1,562 reviews
0.9 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Royale Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Royale Hotel & Spa

Address: 117/119 The Mount, York YO24 1GU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in York
#8 Romantic Hotel in York
Price Range: £83 - £231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mount Royale Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A grade two listed William IV building with mature old English garden housing the heated swimming pool (open May to September). Sauna, steam room & hot tub (open all year). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Mount Royale Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Royale York
Hotel Mount Royale York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing