We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific staff, relaxing holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mount Royale Hotel & Spa
Ranked #5 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We stayed at Mount Royale during 3 nights and really enjoyed our stay.

The rooms are tastefully decorated and very spacious (we were in a Garden Suite.)

The thing I like the most when traveling: there were bathrobes for the both of us.

Because of the quite cold Summer weather, we decided not to use the pool and spa but had a quick look instead and those seemed nice as well.

Although English breakfast is not really our 'cup of tea', the breakfast at Mount Royale was surely the best one we had whilst in England.

Other pros: the parking lot where you can drop of your car easily, the (very good) Oxo's restaurant next door (you don't even have to go out of the hotel for dinner if you don't want to.)

Cons: none!

The staff go out of their way to make you feel at home.
You can clearly feel that they all make a perfect team.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (953)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

552 - 558 of 953 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2014

We stayed here for one night and the hotel was beautiful. We had a warm welcome from reception then shown to our beautiful huge bedroom oozing character and charm. The ensuite was immaculate and huge!

The grounds are great with outdoors pool, hot tub & sauna. At night we dined in the hotel oxo restaurant the food was presented with great care & detail & tasted amazing the foods not cheap but you get what you pay for (wine prices were very reasonable which was a bonus!!)

Breakfast was the best I have ever had at any hotel or B and B. Fresh fruit, pretty home-made jars of granola and muffins plus various cooked options.

Would strongly recommend stating here.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barber442013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We have just had the most amazing lunch at Oxo's Restaurant to celebrate my husbands 60th. As new residents to York I had left the reservation a bit late but this was not a problem at all for any of the wonderful staff at this Hotel.
We had a table overlooking the garden and all our guests were made to feel extremely welcome.
We opted for a set menu but had varied food, well presented and of really good quality.
The staff were attentive and helpful without being overly fussy.
The atmosphere was relaxed and informal - just what we wanted after a stressful few months.
The Hotel and Restaurant really deserve praise - its an oasis of calm in a bustling city.
We had the most perfect day and cannot thank them all enough.
We will certainly be back to sample more of the menu delights.
(Our daughter and family stayed overnight and thoroughly enjoyed the experience, especially the choice at breakfast and the use of the Hotel pool for the grandchildren)
A truly memorable weekend - many thanks to Stuart and all the team.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank smtr550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We stayed here for two nights for the York Races weekend earlier this month and loved every minute . Most welcoming and attentive staff , especially Jayne and Robert - superb location for both the city and the races all within walking distance . It is a wonderful old house , very twee and although it does require some TLC in places it has a great ambience . Lovely rambling gardens, a top class restaurant Oxos and fabulous breakfasts made it a great weekend . We have visited the races for the last 5 yrs and tried a couple of other hotels but this was a great find , actually recommended to us last year by our taxi driver on our way to the racecourse . We will return - thank you !

Room Tip: Please delete rating for fitness centre as not applicable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank susiestodmorden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

This was our second stay at Mount Royale. We booked in for the long Easter weekend - so a busy time for them. I am a bit durprised by recent negative reviews about decor. One person's 'dated' is another peoson's 'quaint' so I would not set much store by these reviews. It is amazing hw some people can obssess about the tiniest thing which does not fit in with their pre-conceptions.
We had a family room which was extremely large and very comfortable. The gardens have been spruced up since last year - and now present a lovely quiet area to wander around in before the extremely nice breakfast. It is ideally placed just away from the main city centre, and so is wonderfully quiet - even in peak season. And it must be said that for such a large room, the tariff was very reasonable.
We have no hesitation in recommending the hotel. And especially Oxo's. We will be coming back next year, and hte year after, and the year after...

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Thelondonsurgeon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

I have very mixed feelings about this hotel .... The room was substandard and not cleaned properly and the house keeper very rude .... Not the best way to start an anniversary break after pointing out what appeared to be a damp patch on the wall in our room , which had old secondary glazing and broken window catches . The room had an old feel to it and was decorated accordingly , apart from the black leather sette and Aztec print rug , which I can only assume was hiding something as it certainly didn't fit in. (I didn't dare look) . The bathroom was tired and date and needed a good bleaching .. I just feel that for the price this hotel lets itself down .... But they probably don't have a lot of returning guests ! The staff were all brilliant (apart from the housekeeper) and very helpful and attentive .... Just think the whole place could do with an Alex Politizi makeover or at best a deep clean in and out .

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank angelxxnic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Mount Royale hotel for one night to celebrate my birthday. We booked this hotel as it provides easy access to the centre of York (15/20 minutes walk) and allegedly had leisure facilities for us to use too (sauna, steam room, heated pool and hot tub).

We stayed in one of the garden room, the room itself is very spacious but also very dated (especially carpets and curtains) and not particularly clean (as we discovered when we moved a table to find a thick layer of dust around and below it...).

The leisure facilities are very poor, we tried to use them twice but always ended up with the same disappointing experience:

- pool was too cold, and when we questioned this we were told that the hotel would otherwise be bankrupt if they made it warmer... although another member of staff apologies and said the temperature should be about 4/5 degrees higher

- steam room, smelled of damp (cellar style) and there was no steam; the response we got was that it was our fault for not flagging to the reception our intention of using the steam room 30/40 minutes prior actually turning up ready to use it.

- hot tub, on both occasions the water was really cloudy and murky, we signalled that but the staff didn't really take any actions.

When we flagged these concerns to the manger we had a mixed response, hence the inconsistent in the title, they apologised but found excuses as to why things were the way they were.

In summary for £230 for 1 night, we were disappointed.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank 834Simon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
1.5 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
1 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 47 in York
684 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#17 of 47 in York
1,562 reviews
0.9 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Royale Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Royale Hotel & Spa

Address: 117/119 The Mount, York YO24 1GU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in York
#8 Romantic Hotel in York
Price Range: £83 - £231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mount Royale Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A grade two listed William IV building with mature old English garden housing the heated swimming pool (open May to September). Sauna, steam room & hot tub (open all year). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Mount Royale Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Royale York
Hotel Mount Royale York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing