We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable hotel in York”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mount Royale Hotel & Spa
Ranked #5 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We stayed at this hotel for two nights while visiting York. It is located a short walk to the city center. There is a great restaurant located at the hotel where we had dinner on one night of our stay. We also enjoyed the full breakfast. I highly recommend this hotel when visiting York.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Venus2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (938)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

528 - 534 of 938 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2014

We stayed 2 nights in the garden suite for our wedding. We were getting married at York registry and chose this hotel because of the gorgeous gardens and the restaurant reviews.
We were however, very disappointed. From the offset we were given a frosty welcome. My wife was ignored by a man who later turned out to be our head waiter. There were no complimentaries in our room, other people have stated they had robes etc. Our family stayed in the city apartments and they had wine waiting for them, we had no special treatment even at £225 per night and knowing it was our wedding.
After our wedding we had photos in the beautiful gardens and went to order drinks, but we were told we'd have to wait a while and he was busy, there was no one else there. Then ages later he came to take our order again. Everything seemed to be an effort. Even though we had requested drinks with reception earlier that day.
Later we had dinner the Oxo restaurant and have to say the food was second to none. But we felt rushed and again no special treatment and everything seemed to much trouble, yet other reviews stated they got special treatment for birthdays etc, weddings mustn't come under that category.
To add to this our room was next to wardrobes that contained the cleaning products were the maids congregated to chat very loudly. We were also woken at 3am both mornings by an alarm going off. No one seemed to know where this was coming from.
When we checked out we noticed £30 optional gratis added to our already extensive bill. Why would we pay for special treatment when we had none ourselves
I would like to add though that the gentleman who served breakfast was extremely nice and made us welcome and this is not a reflection on him. Breakfast was also lovely.
The pros with the hotel though are definitely the beautiful grounds.
We have very mixed feelings about this hotel, part of the stay was lovely but if there was a bit of effort put in my review would have been different.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank AshtonWigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We have just had two nights in this hotel. The level of service was beyond anything we have experienced before in the UK. From the lovely welcome from the lady on the front desk, to the owner, Mrs Oxtoby taking care of our children at the pool with cool drinks, service was high on everyone's agenda. We loved swimming in the open air pool in the hot sunshine, (were we really in York?) and we also enjoyed the hot tub, steam room and sauna. Breakfast was remarkable in its choice and quality. This hotel won't be to everyone's liking, especially if you are looking for corporate uniformity, but if you want character, and like being taken care of, then you will love it just like we did. Thank you to all for making our stay so special. We hope to be back very soon !

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank thepixie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

My husband and I stayed here for two nights as part of our honeymoon tour of the UK. We greatly enjoyed our time at the Mount Royale Hotel. They have a lovely back garden and are within walking distance of the city center (maybe 15-20 minutes). The walk from the train station was a pleasant 10-15 minute walk. Breakfast was wonderful and is served in a beautiful, airy room. Our hotel room was also large, and offered a four poster bed and large bathroom. Thank you!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank TwoRoamingTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

The breakfast here is terrific---cannot say enough about that.

The place is walking distance to central York----probably would take 25 minutes so it is not around the corner but is doable for sure. We waled from the train station and that probably is 30 minutes

It is a nice Inn but it was cool while we were in York and the room was pretty warm---and there is really no way to deal with this. They must know about this as they have a a fan running but that did not solve the issue

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pct_loper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stuartoxtoby, Owner at Mount Royale Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Thank you for your comments about our award winning breakfasts and we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed them.
We do however dispute the 30 minutes walk from the train station and town, as this is easily walked in 10/15 minutes as stated by many previous guests.
The weather has been extremely warm these last few weeks and unfortunately as we are a listed building we cannot have air conditioning, but do what we can with room ventilation and mobile fans. During this exceptional weather a lot of our guest have been making the most of our beautiful old English garden with outdoor private pool, along with alfresco dining. We hope you continue to visit the beautiful city of York and hopefully come and stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Great find - and the staff there couldn't do enough to make sure our stay was pleasant.
Had a room which led out onto the garden area - great to sit out and unwind.
Room was similar size to those you experience in US based resort hotels - LARGE!
Would definitely return.

Room Tip: Seek out one of the garden view rooms......
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Russ06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

A* service
clean
good food

HARD WORKERS,
SPOT ON!! KEEP IT UP!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
soooooooooooo relaxen………… was amazing having time away from the children.
fingers crossed we can get booked in again very soon, as i look forward to taking FULL advantage of the spa

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 933deborahm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
1.5 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
0.9 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 47 in York
663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 47 in York
1,439 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#17 of 47 in York
1,536 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Principal York
The Principal York
#12 of 47 in York
1,439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Royale Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Royale Hotel & Spa

Address: 117/119 The Mount, York YO24 1GU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in York
#8 Romantic Hotel in York
Price Range: £89 - £233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mount Royale Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A grade two listed William IV building with mature old English garden housing the heated swimming pool (open May to September). Sauna, steam room & hot tub (open all year). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, LateRooms and Cancelon so you can book your Mount Royale Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Royale York
Hotel Mount Royale York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing