We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Smashing little find!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mount Royale Hotel & Spa
Ranked #6 of 45 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Scotland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Smashing little find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2009

We found this after searching Trip Advisor.
The hotel is an easy walk into the centre of York.
We had room 19 at the top of the hotel, looking out into the garden. Big bed, big shower, very comfortable and very clean.
We ate in the restaurant and had a great meal, good service too.
You had the feeling of being looked after in this hotel, but left in peace too which is great.
Good breakfast, lots of choice if you don't want a fry! And decent size cereal boxes!
I would definately stay again whilst down in York.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OonsP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

840 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    572
    186
    62
    12
    8
See reviews for
97
520
13
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Great Ayton England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2009

A great hotel with very friendly staff. We had an executive room as part of a "winterbreak" special that was spacious with a king size bed, a dressing room and large bathroom. The evening meal was well presented, freshly cooked and served at a suitably leisurely pace. The breakfast was superb with amazing choice. I had fishcakes that were prepared from original ingredients whilst I waited. My wife had a fantastic egg benedict. It's a little way into York but through a pleasant area that you we enjoyed exploring. A hotel that's definitely worth trying!!

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Masons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level Contributor
64 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2009

Just has a 2 night stay at the Mount Royale after seeing it rated as no1 hotel in York.

It lived up to that ranking.
Couldn't fault it. Stayed in a 'mini' suite (room 8) with a massive bed. Everyone very friendly, particularly the breakfast staff. Breakfasts were very good - try the Eggs Benedict. Bit of a jaunt into the city but not too far to be a problem.

Try the food in the Olde White Swan pub - very good. Loads of history and atmosphere.

Also had a Madras curry in Saffron - unless you can take molten lava - try a milder one. The Naan's are something else though. They hang them in front of you and they are that big you can hide behind them.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leothescouser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rossendale, Lancashire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2009

We stayed for 1 night at the Mount Royale, 2 adults and 2 small children. The service was outstanding from start to finish, Clare on reception was brilliant, even when I asked to alter the booking slightly. The Hotel is full of wonderful things to look at, antiquities and pictures, giving it a homely and well loved feeling inlike the clinical, minimalist rooms you often get in 'new' upmarket hotels. The room was spacious with huge windows straight out onto the garden. The bed was big and comfortable, so much so, we all slept in the same bed, it was lovely and cosy!!
The Hotel itself is ideally situated for both the centre of York and York racecourse, being easy walking distance to both. Although it is on a main road, it is peaceful and quiet, very relaxing! The food in the restaurant was good, service there too was excellent.
The staff should be commended by the Oxtoby's, they are delightful and nothing was too much trouble. We were so impressed, we have booked to stay again and will recommend it to everyone who wants to visit York, it makes a trip to that perfect, beautiful city complete!

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fionaq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2009

Returned to this beautiful hotel after 25 years and it's still as charming and well run as it was then. The rooms are comfortable and well appointed , not brand spanking new and minimalistic like some , but comfortable and spacious. Beds were large and comfortable - which is not always the case in good hotels nowadays.
Tea & coffee making facilities available as a little kit in the room and contain plentiful supply of assorted teas and coffees (including caffetiere coffee ). Rooms on front could be noisy if want to open the double-glazed windows as on a busy main road. Only negative point i had about the room was the lack of a fridge which is usual in most hotels of this standard.
Outstanding points about this hotel which raise it head & shoulders above any others in the area are the staff- friendly , courtious and efficient at all times , and the breakfasts. The breakfast probably ranks in the top 3 of all the hotels i've stayed in in the last 30 years. Stunning amounts of everything and, as mentioned by a previous reviewer , the eggs benedict are fantastic - that from someone who'd never had them before in his life- i'm a convert. Plus the cooked breakfast is excellent as are the copious amounts of brioche , breads etc.
The only 2 negative points i have about the hotel are 1) the parking. Whilst ample ,compared to most others in the area ,it can get a little packed at night as the car park is also shared by the restaurant next door. There does appear to be overflow parking at the closed building next door so probably not as much of a problem as first thought.
2) The dinners at the next door/attached ONE19 restaurant. They're OK - I'm using the word advisidly. I did the £10 fixed meal deal with the hotel and for £10 it was OK. Not stunning but even for as little as £10 i feel you could have done better elsewhere. Waiters were pleasent and attentive but food was just dissapointing- i would happily have paid twice that for better food . But at the end of the day it is convenient however be warned- as hotel does not own the restaurant you are not autamatically gauranteed a table just 'cause you are staying there, which seems odd as i've bever come across this set-up before.
10 mins. from the centre of York and 5 mins. from the racecourse it's ideally located and i can't understand why anyone would stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MACreadie26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2009

My husband and I (both in our 50s) have just returned from a 2-night break at the Mount Royale Hotel. The receptionist was welcoming and our room, which was located in the basement, was a very pleasant surprise. The bedroom was spacious, comfortable and well equipped. The bathroom was large with plenty of mirrors. The heating was adjusted via the radiators so you could decide on the temperature.

The breakfast was a delight. Juices, cereals, croissants etc were available from a "self service" table. There was an extensive menu offering hot food which was freshly prepared in the kitchen. It was beautifully presented (i.e. not piled high and messy) and was cooked perfectly. Staff were attentive and friendly and there was nothing that was too much trouble.

The hotel has a quaint little bar that leads out into a larger room. The staff again were helpful and friendly.

The gardens promised much. I will definitely return when the weather is kinder. From photographs the flora looked wonderful and the prospect of a swimming pool appealing to some. It looked a perfect wedding venue.

I have only two tiny niggles. Firstly I found the pillows quite hard. But by saying that they are not cheap. But more Dunlopillo than Siberian Down.

I am a very light sleeper so I suspect most people would not be affected by this. At 5 am some machinery that was housed adjacent to my room kicked in. I suspect it was the water heating system for the hotel and it lasted for about an hour.

Overall the hotel is a delight and I will definitely return.

It fully deserves its rating with Trip Advisor.

  • Liked — Customer care and comfort appear to be the hotel's priority
  • Disliked — The pillows were a little hard
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JCBNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2009

Booked a room as it had very good reviews on Trip Advisor. We had to book a slightly bigger room as the standard rooms were not available. Everything looked a bit dated but the bed was huge and comfortable, the satff were very friendly and the food was grorgeous. It was a short walk from town and so the location was very good. I was particularly impressed to wake up so see that someone from the hotel even went out and cleaned bird poo off my car as I had parked under a tree!!!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — The hideous furniture in the bedroom
  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank monkeybrochure5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
1.5 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
1.0 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 45 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,090 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.5 mi away
The Principal York
The Principal York
#11 of 45 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,046 reviews
0.9 mi away
St Denys Hotel
St Denys Hotel
#1 of 45 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Royale Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Royale Hotel & Spa

Property: Mount Royale Hotel & Spa
Address: 117/119 The Mount, York YO24 1GU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in York
#8 Romantic Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Mount Royale Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A grade two listed William IV building with mature old English garden housing the heated swimming pool (open May to September). Sauna, steam room & hot tub (open all year). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Mount Royale Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Royale York
Hotel Mount Royale York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing