We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disapointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mount Royale Hotel & Spa
Ranked #5 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Disapointing”
Reviewed 1 July 2010

Arrived at this hotel with my partner.He was on a course and i was accompaning him as i wanted to see York.
On arrival there was a mix up with the booking.The receptonist as not at all helpful and in fact came across as quite rude.Eventually this was sorted and we were given room 11.No thanks to the receptionist!!!
This room was a nice size with a four poster bed and a sofa.Bath and shower.
However the room was very dated and painted a dreadful colour.The soft furnishings need repacing. The bed was most uncomfortable with a poor mattress and it squeaked.The lighting in this room was enadequate to say the least. There was no dressing table with facilities for drying your hair etc.There was no fridge available and as the weather was very hot would of been a bonus.The shower was very difficult to operate.Carpet was not Vacumed Floor and skirting boards in bathroon stained..We ensured we made the room secure when we left it but on returning the cleaner had left the windows open !Also one evening we popped downstairs and left the TV on when we returned someone had been in our room and turned the tv off!!! There was no fan available and the room was unbearably hot and stuffy.There was what seemed like a kitchen fan/vent ouside our window which made a noise and ommited a terrible cooking smell.
The grounds were pleasant although the garden furniture needs painting and the small pool had flies floating in it.
There is a cat in the grounds and also a dog in the pool area .No good if you dont like pets!
!.Dinner at the restaurant joing the hotel was vey poor on both nights. The second night my partner choose calfs liver which was accompanied by Yorkshire pudding ,you would expect this to be excellent being in Yorkshire.Not the case it was served with two of the smallest ,i think frozen Yorshire puds.Very poor:( Breakfast was good although on two mornings we were kept waiting for a table.Not enough tables for Guests.
The area is ok although some rooad noise.Easy walking distance to railway station and city centre.
York is a fab city and i enjoyed all it had to offer.
Hotel receptionist again not very forthcoming with local info.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank location125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

889 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    607
    197
    64
    12
    9
See reviews for
102
555
13
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2010

We stayed two nights in June and quite liked this place. It is very cental and a short walk down to the city centre. The staff were very friendly and treated us well. The room we had was down a flight of narrow stairs which could be dangerous if one slipped! The room was below ground level but very spacious with a big bathroom. It was good enough for us to stay the next night also!
The hotel has a bar and restauant which appeared to be sub let. Both were good.
Breakfast was excellent and the service by the staff outstanding. The car parking arrangements were very cramped and difficult.
We liked the Mount Royal and would think that most people would. Its a great little place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dannyg555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2010

We stayed at the Mount Royale for a wedding last weekend. The whole day was fantastic. The staff were so friendly and went out of their way to please even when they were extremley busy. The room we stayed in was a suite and over looked the conservertory. The room was very large and really clean, the bed was very comfortable. The breakfast was a hot buffet very nice. The Mount Royale is in the middle of York town and York race course.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lexi71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon tyne
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2010

Only stopped in the mount royale for one night.
Room 18 was clean and quite large but in desperate need of decoration.
Was not keen on the mouldy shower curtain !
Breakfast and dinner were fantastic.
I would stay again but would avoid that room.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geordieboy73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
doncaster,UK
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2010

This was our second visit here for a wedding anniversary.We came in early May 2009 and late May this time.The room was in the garden annexe and was very large with a walk in wardrobe,large queenbed,large bathroom and lounge area with a beautiful veranda encased with vegetation.The delightful gardens are full of varied and secret sitting places with an open air gazebo which can be used for al fresco dining.At the bottom of the garden is a swimming pool,steam room,hot tub and a beauty therapist operates in the hotel cellar.The breakfasts are varied and excellent and if you are lucky with the weather you can eat outside.You can park at the front and it is a ten minute stroll to the centre and buses go past the entrance frequently.A very pleasant experience enhanced by the staff and we will go back again.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2010

Friendly, attractive hotel with a lovely garden. They have franchised out the restaurant (which has attracted mixed reviews) but breakfast is in the hotel itself. Qurkly collection of racing memorabilia, and the location is (just about) walking distance from the racecourse. Garden is one of best features: huge, with outdoor pool and a hot tub, although we saw nobody using them. Breakfast was very good and service was always friendly. Room was comfortable if a little tired and it's a good 20 - 30m walk to the main attractions in York. If you want to be handy for the attractions of York but also want some peace and quiet in the garden, highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank missvanwyck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 May 2010

We travelled from New Zealand and stayed in San Francisco, Edinburgh, York, Rugby, London, Paris, Venice, Rome and Beijing - and the best beds (fantastic pillows), biggest rooms, and certainly the most amazing breakfasts, were at the Mount Royale in York. The staff were also helpful and friendly. We had driven down from Edinburgh and decided to randomly select somewhere to stay for a night. We thought the Mount Royal looked impressive from the street, so that's where we stayed. Just a pity we didn't meet the Grey Lady ghost!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NZtravellers19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
1.0 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,258 reviews
1.5 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 47 in York
622 reviews
0.9 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.5 mi away
The Principal York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Royale Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Royale Hotel & Spa

Property: Mount Royale Hotel & Spa
Address: 117/119 The Mount, York YO24 1GU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in York
#8 Romantic Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Mount Royale Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A grade two listed William IV building with mature old English garden housing the heated swimming pool (open May to September). Sauna, steam room & hot tub (open all year). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Mount Royale Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Royale York
Hotel Mount Royale York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing