We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“As good as ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ascot House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ascot House
Ranked #10 of 192 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Oldham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“As good as ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

We returned to Ascot House for the fourth year running. It is like going to a second home, Mr & Mrs Wood make us feel so welcome. The rooms are always beautifully presented and very clean, the breakfast is always perfectly cooked and plentiful, can't wait to return in August.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tony E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    349
    67
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
89
242
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
138 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights over the Bank Holiday weekend in May. Ascot House is in a great location, just a 15 minute walk from York city centre. Our room was extremely comfortable and immaculately presented. There is a residents lounge and drinks are available. The owners are really helpful and provided us with a map and recommended some places for us to visit. Breakfast was lovely with the cooked breakfasts freshly made to order. There is also the advantage of a small car park which is a bonus given that parking in the area can be difficult to find. I would definitely recommend this as a place to stay if you are visiting York.

Room Tip: Our room was at the rear of the hotel overlooking the car park but it was extremely quiet and very c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AM7772013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

This is the second time we have stayed at the Ascot House in the last 6 months. Everything about it is ideal, our room was cosy and comfortable with a lovely bathroom. Breakfast was excellent and staff very friendly. There is a bus stop right outside £1 each into York centre which saves you the hassle of driving and parking. We had a taxi back one evening and that only cost £4.00. Fantastic city to visit and would recommend the Ascot Hotel to everyone.

Room Tip: If you have trouble climbing stairs then ask for a room on the 1st floor as there is no lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank winstanley2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North of England
Level Contributor
70 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

If you want an ultra-chic modern stay in York, then look elsewhere. Ascot House offers a very traditional experience from the decor all the way through to the exemplary service. Breakfast went well beyond the usual fayre, and there's also the added benefits of residents lounge, licensed premises and off-road parking. Highly recommended if you want an excellent level of service at a sensible price.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zackary71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

We stayed here for two nights, what a lovely place to stay.Spotlessly clean, attention to detail, friendly and helpful staff, cosy and comfortable, wonderful en suite with lovely power shower, THE most comfortable bed, just did not want to come home, will definitely visit again when in York. Breakfast was exceptional just cannot find one fault. Thank you so much for a lovely stay. THIS B AND B IS A MUST IF YOU VISIT YORK.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

What a fabulous B&B a nice walk from York centre approx. 15 minutes walk to the centre. A beautiful old house full of character which has been preserved wonderfully.

The bedrooms are well fitted with comfortable beds made with lovely crisp cotton sheets and pillow cases. Plenty of storage space. Flat screen tv. Wet room with powerful shower, deep sink toiletries and lovely fluffy white towels.

The dining room is pretty and the tables are comfortably spread out. The breakfast was perfect. Good choice of cereals, fruit, seeds ,fruit juices, croissants to help yourself to. Then waitress service for cooked breakfast of your choice. Also porridge available. Plentiful toast, butter and marmalade. The girls waiting on were lovely, very welcoming and nothing was too much trouble.

There is a comfortable lounge with big comfy settees to relax in ,where you can have drinks of your choice at a reasonable cost.

The owners are very helpful, suggesting places to visit, places to dine and will phone for a taxi if needed.

We went into the centre by taxi and it cost £4 , great value. Opposite the B&B there is a small co-op perfect for those forgotten items. To the side of the B&B there is a pretty park with a play area for children.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank petawendy54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

The Ascot House is a very large and stately B&B in a character property run by a charming couple. The beds are really comfortable and the breakfast is typical olden style B&B with marmalade in a small glass bowl and butter in a special butter saucer neatly presented on your table. Plenty of food and variety at breakfast. Well worth a stay.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hmmusafir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.9 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.8 mi away
St Denys Hotel
St Denys Hotel
#1 of 45 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 45 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,096 reviews
1.1 mi away
B+B York
B+B York
#2 of 45 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
0.9 mi away
Tower Guest House
Tower Guest House
#6 of 192 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ascot House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ascot House

Property: Ascot House
Address: 80 East Parade, York YO31 7YH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 192 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ascot House 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ascot House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ascot House Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing