We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect for short stay in York” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Carlton House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Carlton House
Ranked #9 of 205 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Newport, Isle of Wight
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect for short stay in York”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

After somewhat drawn out journey to York by public transport, we immediately felt the warm welcome and were delighted with our room on second floor. Carlton House is full of period charm and the owner so helpful re where to eat and local amenities. Excellent breakfast.
Would love to return.

Room Tip: Ask for room on first floor if stairs are a problem, though they weren't for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,314 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,088
    189
    28
    6
    3
See reviews for
253
758
33
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

This wasnt our first choice our booked b&b had a leak so we were farmed out elsewhere. Thankfully the owner did us proud and booked us into Carlton House which was just perfect for us, spacious 3rd floor modern clean warm bedroom, scrumptious breakfasts, car park as well and its position which was minutes from the city wall. Staff were fantastic, friendly, obliging and knowledgable on what York has to offer.
Fantastic reccomendation for Cote Brasserie and Lo Spuntino Italian and great reccomends for the citys real ale pubs. York Brewery's Guzzler 11/10.
The rain on Friday dampened our trip but the stay at Carlton made up for it, this b&b will be our first choice when we return in the spring.

Room Tip: Our 3rd floor attic room was so romantic at night....lights down low...movie on flat screen tv...bot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bennnarn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flint, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

Carlton House is well located for a trip to York. A short 10 minute walk gets you to Micklegate, an entrance to within the City Walls. The guest house staff provide excellent, unintrusive, service and the property is spotlessly clean. Breakfast is excellent with a wide choice of freshly prepared dishes. The avaliability of free parking is a welcome bonus. Would have no hesitation in recommending this guest house.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms (stayed in Room 14) are spacious and comfortable. Although situated at the front of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank D_M_J111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stevenage, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

Carlton House is only a brisk 10 minute walk from the National Railway Museum in one direction and an easy stroll to the historic centre of York in another. Parking on site is a real advantage. Our front facing 2nd floor room was well sized and immaculate and we liked the fact that the shower was in its own room away from the toilet and wash basin. The breakfast was freshly prepared with good local ingredients. All in all a very welcoming place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank C A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

We stayed in autumn for 2 nights at the Carlton House. The Welcome was already very nice and friendly. It's a very lovely House and I felt at home from the first moment. The Rooms have enough space for everything, are friendly and it's very clean. The Breakfast is fantastic as well. If I go back to York (and I will), I would definitely stay at the Carlton House again.

Room Tip: If you have heavy luggage, better not at the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JulieAlison2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swadlincote, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

Carlton House is a fantastic b&b. We arrived an hour before our check in time, and were given the room keys and told our room would be ready within the hour so we walked into york which is a short walk down the road. We returned later on to our room which was on the second floor, it was clean and nicely decorated. Complimentary toiletries clean towels. We heard no noise from the neighbouring room and had a lovely nights sleep. The breakfast in the morning was very nice and the staff were lovely. On checkout we were asked how long were were staying in york for, when we said all day, we were told we could keep the car in the car park to save us having to pay in town. We had a lovely time in york and Calton House.

Room Tip: When booking online it tells you which floor the room is on, ours said first floor but when we were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

We used Tripadvisor to find the hotel.
It is within walking distance of York centre and the Racecourse. Because York was extra busy the owner advised where to eat on saturday night without booking a table which was Bettys tearoom (a good choice).
The room was on the front a good size with a shower room with a powerful shower, the breakfast set us up for the days siteseeing. The only criticysm I would have is that you only get one chair in your room when there are two people(but this applies to most Briotish hotels).
The car park is small but if you leave you car keys the staff will move your car to enable the car park to be fully utilised and enable you to get out when you leave

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron186334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.5 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.9 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,027 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
St Denys Hotel
St Denys Hotel
#1 of 46 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mount Royale Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Hampton by Hilton York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlton House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton House

Property: Carlton House
Address: 134 The Mount, York YO24 1AS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 205 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner of Visit York Tourism Awards for Excellence 2008 & 2014 Guest House of the Year. Finalist 2010, 2011, 2012 and 2013. Carlton House is a lovingly restored 1830s Georgian Townhouse combining original features with modern amenities creating an elegant yet contemporary feel. Situated on the tree lined Mount gateway to the historic City of York. Enjoy an English breakfast made with locally sourced produce after your peacefull nights sleep.. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Carlton House Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing