We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice B&B with consistent quality”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Carlton House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Carlton House
Ranked #8 of 192 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
81 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Nice B&B with consistent quality”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

I stayed in this B&B in Nov 2010 and now back again three years later. Carlton House maintained the same good quality. I think we stayed in Room 9 facing a back alley and was very quiet. The room was neat and very clean. The English breakfast was cooked to perfection and the buffer counter offered various choices juices, fruits and cereals. The service during breakfast was professional and attentive.

Overall, I will book again when back to York.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,326 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,098
    191
    28
    6
    3
See reviews for
255
766
33
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

This is now the 4th time we have stayed at Carlton House & as always we had a lovely experience. Lovely room, lovely people & a delicious breakfast! We will be back again on our next visit to York. A*

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank claire_rees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxfordshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

Just returned from a two night stay at Carlton House. What a great place to stay! The owners were very nice and welcoming, and the rooms were immaculately clean and beautifully decorated. We stayed in room 11 which was at the rear of the property and it was very quiet indeed. Breakfast was very good with lots of choice and set you up for a good day round the city! It is only a 10 minute walk into the centre so a great location too. We really enjoyed our stay here and would definitely return and recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bird4471
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridlington
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

We have just had a one night stop at Carlton House & couldn't find anything to complain about. The owners were very welcoming & a pleasure to deal with. The room was lovely & the breakfast was very good. We wouldn't hesitate to stop with them again or to recommend them to anyone wanting to stop in York. We think that a previous review stating that they were only there to takemoney was very unfair.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ripoff21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

Just returned from a few days in York where we stayed in room 7 on the first floor at Carlton House. Nice room with a double bed and two singles, so ideal for families. Immaculately clean. Room faced the front of the property but was still quiet due to secondary glazing. Parking facility was a bonus and the owners were very helpful and friendly recommending restaurants in the city centre which we visited. Good choice at breakfast. All round a very nice stay and we will definitely return. The property is a credit to the owners who work exceptionally hard to make your stay memorable.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

Carlton House was recommended to us by another B& B which was fully booked on our requested 3 nights 6th - 9th November. Very warm welcome from the owners, large room, No 7, at the front of the house on the second floor with double & twin beds, modern, clean, warm & comfortable. We are used to traffic noise anyway but the window was secondary glazed so no problems. A lovely period property with lots of charm from the moment you enter. The staff are very polite & can't do enough for you. What a bonus to be able to leave your car in their car park at the rear & walk into the city centre. Breakfasts provide plenty of choice from full English to variety of cereals, fruit & yogurts or continental style.Lovely Italian, Lo Spuntino, a few minutes walk away. First class food & service at very reasonable prices especially the early bird from 5pm - 6.30pm for £7.50. The Long Boat attached to the Premier Inn is also very good & a short walk away but be prepared to wait at busy times if you want to dine. Staff very helpful efficient & polite. Also visited the Reel Cinema a short walk away. Would NOT recommend this until it is refurbished. Screen 4 was extremely hot when sitting through a 2 hour film with no interval, also very dirty, smelly & seats filthy with the fabric on nearly all seats ripped & uncomfortable. On leaving we spoke to the Manager & other staff who were very apologetic & gave me the owners contact details to make a complaint. The staff deserve a medal as others were complaining also. Overall a great stay, good value & would definetely recommend the Carlton. We will be returning.

Room Tip: Ideal family room
See more room tips
Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tony T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, Isle of Wight
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

After somewhat drawn out journey to York by public transport, we immediately felt the warm welcome and were delighted with our room on second floor. Carlton House is full of period charm and the owner so helpful re where to eat and local amenities. Excellent breakfast.
Would love to return.

Room Tip: Ask for room on first floor if stairs are a problem, though they weren't for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.5 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.9 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,096 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
St Denys Hotel
St Denys Hotel
#1 of 46 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mount Royale Hotel & Spa
0.0 mi away
The Ashberry B&B
The Ashberry B&B
#3 of 192 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlton House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton House

Property: Carlton House
Address: 134 The Mount, York YO24 1AS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 192 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner of Visit York Tourism Awards for Excellence 2008 & 2014 Guest House of the Year. Finalist 2010, 2011, 2012 and 2013. Carlton House is a lovingly restored 1830s Georgian Townhouse combining original features with modern amenities creating an elegant yet contemporary feel. Situated on the tree lined Mount gateway to the historic City of York. Enjoy an English breakfast made with locally sourced produce after your peacefull nights sleep.. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Carlton House Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing