We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots to see”
Review of Carlton House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Carlton House
Ranked #6 of 194 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 26 November 2009

Hotel was within easy reach of all the interesting places to see in York.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank someonenew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,487)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,283 - 1,289 of 1,489 reviews

Reviewed 23 November 2009

Just returned from a 2 night stay in the Carlton House Hotel, everything about Carlton House is first class. Our 3 young children thoroughly enjoyed it as it was their first time in York. This is one of a kind hotel, with the home from home comforts. We will hopefully be booking again as soon as we can. Loved it the Lamb family.xxx

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lambs3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2009

Very charming and beautiful place with fantastic treatment and service. Very close to the old town and train station. I would certainly recomment it!!

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank phermida2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2009

We really enjoyed our stay at the Carlton House, we had a very warm welcome, Mark and Melanie were very accomodating and couldn't be more helpful, moving cars etc in the rain for us. everyone who worked at the Carlton House couldn't have been nicer and it made a nice relaxed atmosphere

The accomodation was warm (appreciated when soaked through!) tastefully decorated, and very clean, and an excellent location, we hired a car to travel out of York for one day, but the rest of our stay was spent touring York on foot, the city center being a short level walk from the hotel, as was the station and all amenities.

great stay would definately stay at the Carlton House again

thanks

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank purleymaple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2009

The service staffs were really friendly and helpfully, park service was great, room was lovely furnished. Just this could be better: the room, especially the bath, was a bit too cold and the kettle was rusty inside.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank member13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2009

My daughters and I stayed at Carlton house for a de-stressing, get together weekend. The hotel is well situated - just a short walk into York and to the station. A very relaxed, warm atmosphere in the house, with very friendly staff. Great breakfast and service - Thank you.

  • Stayed: November 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank swa1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2009

We stayed at Carlton House in early October. Very nice rooms, very friendly and helpful owners and staff. Excellent breakfast and good location for visiting York.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John09Canberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.5 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0 mi away
The Ashberry B&B
The Ashberry B&B
#14 of 194 in York
370 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
#2 of 194 in York
892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bishops Guest Accomodation
0.8 mi away
No. 21 York
No. 21 York
#10 of 194 in York
894 reviews
0.1 mi away
Apple House Guest Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlton House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton House

Address: 134 The Mount, York YO24 1AS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 194 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range: £80 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner of Visit York Tourism Awards for Excellence 2008 & 2014 Guest House of the Year. Finalist 2010, 2011, 2012 and 2013. Carlton House is a lovingly restored 1830s Georgian Townhouse combining original features with modern amenities creating an elegant yet contemporary feel. Situated on the tree lined Mount gateway to the historic City of York. Enjoy an English breakfast made with locally sourced produce after your peacefull nights sleep.. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Carlton House Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing