We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent B&B”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in York
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Orchard Rose Cottage
Ranked #128 of 194 York B&B and Inns
Reviewed 22 August 2013

Warmly welcomed by our charming hostess / owner Janet.Lovely spacious rooms with cozy beds and attention to detail ,eg ,fluffy bathrobes, current issue upscale magazines and toiletries. Housekeeping immaculate.Delicious breakfast and dinner.Convenient location for visitors to York.
Would highly recommend.
.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Sheelah974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (37)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 37 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2013

A beautiful bed and breakfast with a very kind and friendly host. Clean, charming rooms with lovely views and spacious bathroom. The breakfast was excellent, well cooked and freshly prepared. Thank you Janet, we will certainly return.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maxaimee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We loved our stay in this tiny village just outside York. Our hostess was warm and friendly; our room was full of light with a charming view over surrounding fields & a neighbor's ponies. We were given a recommendation to a good restaurant nearby & directions to the "Park & Ride" for York. Our breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Jolly friendly hostess Excellent accomodation Excellent food. Would go again

Clean, comfortable and relaxing with on suite facilities. Hostess only too willing to assist with all our needs and enquiries.

Beautiful location situated ideally for Castle Howard and other Yorkshire attractions.. Situated in a much sought after rural area.

Near to Sandburn Hall Flaxton York, ideal for functions.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Keith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

We stayed here at the end of July for two nights with our two dogs. Janet was very accommodating of our less than well behaved Rhodesian Ridgeback puppy.

Breakfast was lovely, local eggs, lovely black pudding and sausages.

The room was clean and had everything we needed.

Janet was fab, even posting items my fiance had left behind to us.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LeslieAnneClark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

I saw another reviewer say this is one of the best B&B's in the UK and I couldn't agree more. You could not go wrong in booking a stay here, whoever you are. Location - fantastic. House/room - beautiful. Hostess - perfect. Food - scrumptious The location is in a very pretty village not far from York but utterly peaceful. The house is utterly delightful - full of light, beautifully neutrally decorated and yet also full of character. The bedrooms are fantastic - big with comfortable beds, tea, coffee, toiletries and fluffy dressing plus other extras - everything you could possibly need. Janet is a superb hostess - warm and welcoming but not overwhelming. She will give you advice as to where to go and what to see - if she is in when you return then expect tea and cake! She has her own busy life with two gorgeous flatcoats (Jack and Daisy) but she really does put your needs first. As to the food, it is all excellent breakfast is magnificent and from local products (yes, the eggs do come from the hens you can see out side and taste the best ever!). She bakes delicious cakes and I also had evening meals from Janet and they were wonderful - from the G&T to the final pudding - something special to remember in Yorkshire. All in all, a memorable experience and I will be back!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ifield89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

we have just returned home from a 2 night stay at this wonderful B & B. Janet is the perfect host, she made us very welcome indeed, serving tea and cake when we arrived and made sure everything was perfect. The room had everything you needed and more (fluffy dressing gowns, and lots of other little extras), the breakfasts were delicious with all local ingredients and location couldn't be better ideal for York, Castle Howard and the coast

We left feeling totally relaxed and will certainly return in the near future

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank foggyBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0 mi away
Harmony House
Harmony House
#1 of 1 in Stillingfleet
145 reviews
0 mi away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
0 mi away
Hotel Noir
Hotel Noir
#1 of 2 in Clifton
1,153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0 mi away
Claxton Hall Cottage B&B
0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orchard Rose Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orchard Rose Cottage

Address: Harton, York YO60 7NP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #128 of 194 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range: £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Orchard Rose Cottage is a tastefully decorated country B&B, recently completely refurbished, small & friendly very comfortable accommodation. All home cooking. Overlooking the Howardian Hills. A hidden gem to get away and totally relax. Friendly and welcoming. All welcome. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing