We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Haunted Berger on the Island”
Review of Golden Fleece

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in York
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Golden Fleece
Ranked #80 of 192 York B&B and Inns
Ocean City, Maryland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best Haunted Berger on the Island”
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Well after doing the York Ghost Hunt we just had to visit the Golden Fleece. My family found the Pub very comfy and welcoming in a possibly haunted way. The staff were friendly and helpful. While there we had lunch and the food was very very good. The burger I ordered was the best I had on my trip from Scotland to London. Great Pub food and experience. I could not see any ghosts while there ,but I could sense them :) I will definitely stop in again if back in York. Mabe try to stay there as well.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phillip R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

632 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    268
    156
    55
    66
    87
See reviews for
93
340
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Walked into the Golden Fleece today with my family, after sitting them down I went to the bar to be greated with "if you're staying you need to order food", I asked whether I could perhaps have a drink first "no" was the answer. Then perhaps we could have a look at menu whilst having our first round of drinks? "Go on then", customer service is a winner here! Maybe this pub gets enough custom to be able to be this rude, however I am still from the 'a smile costs nothing' brigade. Avoid unless you just want to say you've had a drink at York's most haunted pub.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nicholas D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these York hotels

Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014 via mobile

I've been a regular visitor to the Fleece for a long time and it's only got better with age. The food is reasonably priced and comes in mountainous portions, which is never a bad thing! The bottom bar is often filled with live music and a great atmosphere and the ales are very well kept. The Fleece is always busy, which is a good sign and this wonky old pub never fails to offer up a great evening! Credit to Steph, Guy and the team!
A word of warning, the lower bar is generally reserved for diners until 9pm. This has led to some poor reviews which is unfair on the pub, which is a business and has to make money. This is pretty standard in York, and drinkers can always be assured of a warm welcome later in the evening.
Cracking pub, staff, food, beer and even the odd ghost. Don't miss out!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank rarran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleethorpes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

This pub is central and is always very busy, a good sign! It's a pub with great atmosphere, and friendly staff. Tables can be reserved for food, and the menu is varied and reasonably priced. I have it on good authority that the beer is good too! (Husband)!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tina O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

We went here for a couple of nights for a drink and meal . Loved the Old Peculiar . Staff very friendly and good quirky atmosphere . Meals were good value for the money . Didn't see any ghosts but my wife felt spooked when her drink slid across the table

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jebuc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 30 December 2013

This is a lovely little pub with great history for ghost lovers. I would highly recommend this place to anyone. Unfortunately we saw no ghosts on our stay, but that just means we'll have to stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

I was visiting York for the first time with family members from New York. We wanted some good quality British home cooked pub food in a traditional pub.
We arrived early and ordered our food and drinks from the bar. Service was friendly, no problem here. We moved tables as our table was a little cramped and space was at a premium.
Then the food arrived. It may have been home made but it had all been microwaved and was tasteless. My lasagne was possibly the worst one I had ever tasted. I left it and ate the garlic bread. My daughter had cottage pie (surely they could not ruin that?). Wrong. Mostly glutinous mashed potato, you had to search carefully to find any meat. The only edible thing was the soup.
I can only assume that the other reviewer Chris K who says the food is outstanding has never been to one of the UK's quality pubs or he/she is joking. Please avoid this place if you want to eat or you might end up like the skeleton sitting at the bar!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeverleybane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.3 mi away
The Judges Lodging
The Judges Lodging
#12 of 46 in York
1,020 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.2 mi away
Hilton York
Hilton York
#39 of 46 in York
2,710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Judges Court Hotel
Judges Court Hotel
#46 of 192 in York
462 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Fort Boutique Hostel
0.1 mi away
Peter Warehouse
Peter Warehouse
#38 of 50 in York
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Fleece? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Fleece

Property: Golden Fleece
Address: 16 Pavement, York YO1 9UP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 192 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Golden Fleece Hotel York
Golden Fleece York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing