We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small pub”
Review of Golden Fleece

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in York
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Golden Fleece
Ranked #83 of 193 York B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
294 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Small pub”
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

Very small pub and very little room, overall very friendly little place and decent prices. Not somewhere where you can spend the night really. There is a ghost walk that sets off from here at 7:30 and that is well worth the time. Overall nice pub

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Captivatedoutdoors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

626 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    265
    155
    55
    64
    87
See reviews for
92
338
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Penrith, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

I went here with some friends and my partner, we used this as a stop before we went on the ghost walk, I found it was hard to find a table so we had to send a friend a few hours before we even wanted to eat just to ensure we had a table. When my friends were served their food, their waitress was friendly and had a huge smile :) our waitress on the other hand was an older lady and didn't look too happy :/ but the good points are, the food was absolutely lovely, overall the staff are very friendly, it is in a very good location and I would quite happily visit there again.
p.s. if you do go, be prepared for very large portions :)

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NHine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ware
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

We popped in for a (soft) drink at 5;30 on a Friday. Nowhere to sit and I am pregnant. Went into rear bar and lady suggested we could sit and table in rear bar ( where the signs say priority given to diners) as we were going on the tourist walk from there in an hour anyway. The table we sat at was booked from 7:30. We were about to buy a second drink when a large male member of staff said if we weren't eating we had to vacate where were sitting as people had clearly ordered food without having a table (!) and their food had arrived. I explained we had sat their upon instruction from a member of staff as there were no other seats available. There was no apology or sense of understanding. I felt humiliated and other diners were looking at us, so we left. On leaving this member of staff just glared at us. Terrible customer service. Insufficient seating and most tables prioritised for diners. Won't be going back. Don't like to be embarrassed in public thanks very much.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lauren80ware
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these York hotels

Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 March 2014

We recently stayed here for two nights in The Shambles room for my birthday. All the staff we very friendly and helpful, room clean and tidy and full of character!! Great size four poster bed (very comfy) and massive bedroom and beautiful large bathroom with a gorgeous slipper bath and a large walk in shower. Caught loads of orbs on camera, kettle turned itself on twice when we weren't even near it and footsteps heard throughout Monday night but we were the only couple staying there that night!!! Quirky door lock on this room, we found it worked by asking to be let in (hint from the landlady and it worked then every time) Beware: the full English breakfast is massive but very tasty. Lunch was amazing too...although I kept getting poked on my right shoulder but no-one was sat behind me. Definitely staying here again as we loved it and it's the perfect base for exploring a great city and a spot of ghost hunting!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Called in for a pint just by chance really good pint of real ale , we looked at the menu and thought they were really reasonably priced meals . So we dined there last night , the food was so good we are going again tonight . A really nice pub really friendly staff a real treat . Well done to them.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Neil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Our weekly visit to the pub and has not till yet let us down, we are always visiting on weekends and love this place its what keeps us returning all the time, service the staff working which are great we almost know majority of them as we see the same faces all the time and it is the same for them 5*!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DevonnaBarret67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Shields
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

I must have visited this pub a hundred times for drinks and have always enjoyed it, but this is the first time I have stayed over. Stayed for one night in the Shambles Room; our friends stayed in the Minster Room. Both rooms were very clean, comfortable,quirky and full of character. When we arrived the bar was very busy but the staff went out of their way to make us welcome - nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast was huge and very tasty. I have no doubt that we will stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fatcatz435
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.3 mi away
The Judges Lodging
The Judges Lodging
#12 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 998 reviews
0.2 mi away
Judges Court Hotel
Judges Court Hotel
#49 of 193 in York
4.0 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Fort Boutique Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Peter Warehouse
Peter Warehouse
#38 of 50 in York
3.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
0.3 mi away
Guy Fawkes Inn
Guy Fawkes Inn
#43 of 193 in York
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,367 reviews
0.2 mi away
Galtres Lodge Hotel
Galtres Lodge Hotel
#113 of 193 in York
3.5 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Fleece? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Fleece

Property: Golden Fleece
Address: 16 Pavement, York YO1 9UP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #83 of 193 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Golden Fleece Hotel York
Golden Fleece York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing