We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Pub!”
Review of Golden Fleece

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in York
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Golden Fleece
Ranked #85 of 194 York B&B and Inns
Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

My Husband, his Brother, and my sister in law spent a memorable Saturday night having a relaxing drink and catch up at the Golden Fleece. There are a fantastic selection of ales available. Staff are super friendly and love to tell you about the ghostly things that have happened to them in this lovely pub. Will be back to stay next time.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank MrsSheppard1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (688)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

401 - 407 of 688 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2014

Had an excellent evening in the Golden Fleece, great service and fantastic atmosphere. John the owner delivered over and above to ensure my wife and I had a great 2nd wedding anniversary in York. A great pub, with a great history.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
1  Thank rache; b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Having heard some of the eerie history of the place on the ghost walk we had to call in for a drink. Hospitable, chatty staff, nice real ales, sloping floors and long thin bars with plenty of newspaper cuttings on the Walls about it's history I really enjoyed our visit to this old historic pub.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rosebudBridlington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

Me and my partner stayed here for the night in April,had a fab night we did a ghost walk,great music playing at the pub on the sat night. Big breakfast was included,sets you up for the day! Room was lovely we stayed in the shambles room,lovely bathroom would recommend to anyone!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Naomi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

Popped into The Golden Fleece mostly to see the skeleton at the bar. Place was very loud and busy but as we were planning to have lunch there we managed to get seated in the back bar area right behind the skeleton. Atmosphere was quieter in the back bar which was a lot better. Ordered a variety from the sandwich menu, I had Cheese and Red Onion Marmalade which was very tasty and filling and also very reasonably priced. Desserts are all homemade too and very nice. Very enjoyable experience and whilst waiting to order at the bar, we witnessed something fall off the shelf (spooky goings on perhaps) staff were friendly and welcoming. The food menu itself is also very interesting and you can read about the history of the pub and it's ghosts inside. Definitely worth a visit!!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Megan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Wow! another perfect weekend in York thanks to the Golden Fleece.

Room was fab, food top notch, drinks lovely, staff very good, breakfast to die for.

Don't miss out on a experience you will never forget, give the Golden Fleece a try.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pip R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We have just come back from 2 day in York, we all ways go to the Golden Fleece , we had the steak & Stilton pie it was very tasty, would recommend to eat or just have a drink in here, it is very clean, there is always a good atmosphere in there and the staff are friendly.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank karen h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.8 mi away
B+B York
B+B York
#6 of 47 in York
739 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.3 mi away
The Judges Lodging
The Judges Lodging
#11 of 47 in York
1,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Mount Royale Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#28 of 47 in York
1,758 reviews
0.3 mi away
Middletons York
Middletons York
#25 of 47 in York
913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Fleece? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Fleece

Address: 16 Pavement, York YO1 9UP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 194 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range: £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Golden Fleece Hotel York
Golden Fleece York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing