We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“'Slaughtered Lamb', but in York.” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Blue Bell

The Blue Bell
Ranked #1 of 50 Nightlife in York
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Blue Bell is York's only Grade II* Listed Edwardian Public House. The first pint was pulled in 1798 and it's interior has remained untouched since 1903, allowing you to step back in time and experience a piece of living history first hand. Famous for it's wide selection of cask ales, pork pies, friendly service and lovely atmosphere, The Blue Bell is also York CAMRA's Pub of The Season for Winter 2016/17 and is listed in the Good Beer Guide as well as numerous publications regarding classic pub interiors. There are no TVs, music or games machines and although there is free WiFi, don't be expecting any mod cons or gimmicks. The Blue Bell is also York's smallest Public House and as such has extremely strict policies of no groups, swearing, Hen or Stag parties, mobile phones or Under 18s. At busy times you may not get into the pub - midweek afternoons are usually the quietest times if you would like to sit down. A warm welcome awaits you at The Blue Bell - but only if you follow the rules and do your part to create a warm, relaxed and (some would say old-fashioned) atmosphere of respect and friendship. It's a proper pub, for proper pub people...
Leeds
Level Contributor
85 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“'Slaughtered Lamb', but in York.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013 via mobile

Have you seen the film 'American Werewolf in London'?. No?
Watch the film and you'll understand why this is a pub to avoid.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
7 Thank PaulTLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    44
    6
    5
    12
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
254 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“Friendly staff, real ale, what could be better?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2013

We visit the Blue Bell most times that we are in York: it's a fabulous little pub with a good selection of excellent real ale (we enjoyed the Silver King last time) and very good sandwiches at lunchtime. We had ham on brown with pickles and mustard, delicious very fresh bread and sandwiches generously filled with tasty ham. The pub is tiny, please don't even try to fit in if there is a large group of you. Even as a couple you may have wait for a table or squeeze on the end of someone else's. This can be viewed as a bonus as it's a friendly place and you can enjoy a chat with your neighbours - a mix of locals and visitors. We have been to this pub many times and have never found the landlord, and the bar staff, anything but welcoming and friendly.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank has2bperfect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
38 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Awful landlord”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2013

I own numerous bars in the Northeast of England and was told this was a good pub for a decent pint of local ale. I was with a group of 3 and we weren't even aloud in the door. The idiot of a landlord insisted we weren't aloud in due to us wearing suits! He is clearly in need of psychiatric help. York is an ancient city of England and is dependant on tourism. I would avoid this place at all costs. There are so many excellent ale pubs in York. The landlord is basically a c@#t!!!!!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank WillP26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
141 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“The Real Thing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

We stumbled upon this lovely cosy old pub in Fossgate on our way to dinner and had a couple of pints of Bradfield Farmers bitter as an aperitif! Wonderful old fashioned two room pub with no room to swing a cat! Well cared for cask ales served with friendliness and charm. A must visit if in York.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Marek010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bolton
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Edwardian pub, York”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2013

This is a fantastic old pub, very authentic and cozy. Good selection of real ales on Fossgate. A few years ago they served spanish breakfasts that were the best. They have had a change of landlord since then but I can still tatse those quail eggs, potatoe bravas, bacon and fresh tomatoe bread. Wow! Washed down with a pint of Titanic stout. I have visited York every February for many years attending the viking festival and always pop in to this pub a real favourite.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank joeyMclaughlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Blue Bell also viewed

York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to The Blue Bell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing