We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great pub, wonderful food and beer garden”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Exhibition Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in York
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Exhibition Hotel
Ranked #110 of 192 York B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great pub, wonderful food and beer garden”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

The Exhibition is well-located in the centre of York, and a great pub for both food and drinks. The staff are lovely, really friendly and helpful, and the atmosphere is always friendly and relaxed. The inside of the pub is comfortable, with lots of squashy sofas and memorabilia on the walls - and a lovely fire in winter! The beer garden is especially wonderful, a lovely place to relax when the sun comes out. The food is great too - good quality, and generously-sized portions.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrswildcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    21
    6
    3
    5
See reviews for
10
51
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
NZ
Level Contributor
652 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2013

Did not break the bank for a fine roast dinner for 2 with a superb gran reserva rioja 2002. Lovely friendly pub regulars and good service by staff. Generous portions, well prepared & Would recommend for value & quality when in YORK.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank r s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2013

We didn't stay in the hotel but called in for a meal one evening during a recent short stay in York, and would really just like to "echo" a couple of the other reviews about the food and the 'atmosphere' in the pub. Certainly a friendly and attractive bar - and a warm one with the log fire to greet us on what was another of those cold nights! The food was really well cooked and presented, tasty, good portions - and reasonably priced too. Judging by the reactions of some other people in the pub that evening, we weren't the only ones to be impressed either!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2013

Stayed here for a night with my girlfriend after spotting it as we drove into the city. Cosy and nicely-decorated traditional pub with a few rooms upstairs for a reasonable price. The room was small but had the basics and was clean. Main problem was noise from street just outside, one of the main roads into city and right at a junction with traffic lights so lots of cars and buses sitting outside almost constantly, which made it a bit difficult to get peaceful sleep.

Food in the bar is pretty decent and good range of drinks, with the open fire providing a nice bit of warmth.

The Hotel is well-located for the Minster and the city and was a decent enough choice for the price and for one night's stay, but I couldn't stay in any of the front rooms for long due to the traffic noise. Not much they can do about it though unless they got some double-glazing in which I'm not sure is practical on a Georgian building!

Room Tip: Ask for one away from the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lemec79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2013

This is one of the most attractive, friendly and warm pubs you will ever come across. Good pub grub, excellent well kept beer served by the friendliest bar staff in an atmosphere of old gas lamps, interesting pictures and a warm fire. My Wife and I love the place I'm sure you will too...

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thosthetourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2013

We stayed at another hotel just up the road but came for tea on the 5th march 2013 hats off to the chef we went for curry night OMG best i have ever tasted , so good we went back the next night my husband had the burger and i had the roast beef both gorgeous but enough for four people... staff lovely especially the young girl who was our waitress ..what a hard worker bless her... i come from a hotel background and this young lady is an asset to your company, so polite and nothing was too much trouble for her..well done . whoever cleans needs a mention too as this pub downstairs in the bar area was spotless . Thankyou for an enjoyable night , we will be back this year !

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2013

We didnt actually sleep in this Hotel, but went in for a drink. Its a lovely place. lovely warm fire. very cosy and comfy. Lovely well kept and tasty real Ale. Bar staff were lovely and friendly. Would recommend go and visit and have a pint of pippins -mmmm lovely!!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank morgandavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.0 mi away
The White Horse
The White Horse
#167 of 192 in York
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Gillygate
The Gillygate
#43 of 192 in York
4.0 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bootham Tavern
Bootham Tavern
#113 of 192 in York
3.5 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Trembling Madness Apartments
0.1 mi away
The Georgian House
The Georgian House
#87 of 192 in York
3.5 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
0.2 mi away
No. 21 York
No. 21 York
#10 of 192 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Exhibition Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Exhibition Hotel

Property: Exhibition Hotel
Address: 19 Bootham, York YO30 7BW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #110 of 192 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing