We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's a must!!!,”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Travelodge York Central
Ranked #29 of 47 Hotels in York
Reviewed 3 May 2014

This is a no brainer, £48 for an overnight stay when Premier Inn is £85!!! This hotel is very clean from outside to reception to your room, the staff are very helpful, very good location to York centre, good location to the Olive Tree restaurant, it's all quite new. Parking is a five minute walk away, and for an overnight stay it was £7.50, again, a no brainer. It's a hidden gem that's gonna get snapped up quick, you won't be dissapointed.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tomidatourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (907)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

866 - 872 of 907 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2014

This is the second time we have stayed here - last June for my birthday and this April for my son's. The rooms are really well set out and comfortable. Shower and bath which is my preference and reasonable wardrobe and shelf space compared with competitors like Premier Inns. It's next to Wetherspoons which makes for some late night and early morning noise but the breakfasts there are good. And the hotel is so very close to the important sites in central York. Finally the staff really want you to have a good stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
1  Thank amleyland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

This particular Travelodge is in a great location. Out the door turn Left or right and you will find shops, bars and restaurants. The newly referbished rooms are a credit to Travelodge and have brought it upto the standard of other hotels in York. A great place to stay for groups and couples.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
1  Thank debra15Durham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay here. Staff were very friendly, the hotel was very clean and it was in a fantastic location. Although there's no cooked breakfast or actually a dining room, Weatherspoons is next-door and offers a great selection for breakfast.

I would definitely stay here again and so would my friends.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Ruby06London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Very clean and well maintained room, very good location, pleasant and well mannered staff.
Normally we stop in Premier Inn, (since a very bad experience in Travelodge Kings cross). However on this occasion the local Premier Inn was fully booked so we decided to give Travelodge a chance to redeem themselves.
I'm pleased to say they did, this is by far one of the better hotels we have stopped in, we travel to many Cities in England on sightseeing tours and we always stay in Premier Inn/Travelodge. This one we fully recommend and we shall be returning.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Brian E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Having stayed at this hotel some years ago i was a bit weary about returning as my previous visit the place looked rather worn and grubby. Thye have just had a full refurbishment of the hotel and it is now clean and modern. Choice of pillows in the room is great, the bed is one of the most comfortable i have styed in. This hotel is situated next door to a weatherspoons pub were you can get breakfast at half the price. Parking is provide at a discount rate, this is situated within a 10 min walk of the hotel. Your are 5 minutes walk into the main town from here and right next door to the castle museum. They seem to have adopted the same styling as premier inns which seems to work. We normally stay at the Micklegate travelodge, but would definetly stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank diddery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Stayed for 2 nights, its got everything you would expect... The beds are sooo comfortable, didnt want to get out in the morning to explore....good rooms, lovely staff. The hotels location was a bit of a trek with the luggage from the train station but otherwise it was ideal as a base for exploring York late into the night.

The only things missing for me was the fact that there was no real breakfast available (there are standard box meals but in other hotels there have been breakfasts in all you can eat style) but then the Weatherspoon has a great breakfast available.....also the fact that there was nowhere to store the luggage did cause a problem espec when we left as we ended up dragging our suitcases around....otherwise could not fault it!

Room Tip: Rooms do get warm...v warm so be warned.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.4 mi away
Travelodge York Central Micklegate
0.6 mi away
Travelodge York Central Layerthorpe
0.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel 53
Hotel 53
#31 of 47 in York
1,832 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ibis York Centre
Ibis York Centre
#39 of 47 in York
1,930 reviews
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge York Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge York Central

Address: 90 Piccadilly, York YO1 9NX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 47 Hotels in York
Price Range: £47 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge York Central 2*
Number of rooms: 141
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelodge Hotels Ltd, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Travelodge York Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge York Central Hotel York
Central Travelodge York
Travel Lodge York
York Travel Lodge
York Travelodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing