We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful sleepless night and not very clean”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Travelodge York Central
Ranked #30 of 47 Hotels in York
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Awful sleepless night and not very clean”
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here on business in York as other regular hotel was fully booked

What a mistake this turned out to be

The hotel is right next to and built over a pub so I was expecting some level of noise but nothing prepared me for how noisy it would be

The room was like a throwback to the 1980's
Horrible uncomfortable bed with awful pillows that have no comfort. Bare facilities with a tiny poor reception tv. Plastic chair and cheap table.

The bathroom was not particularly clean with water marks around the bath and a dirty looking shower curtain. The toilet didn't appear to be particularly clean and I'm assuming cleaners spend a minimal time on each room with a quick wipe down of most surfaces

Carpets appeared worn and shabby

The night sleep was one of the worst I've had whilst away on business and the constant noise from the pub downstairs with arguing, swearing and glass breaking was continuous until midnight

A completely broken nights sleep led to me buying earplugs for the second night

No real breakfast facilities to speak of unless you want to buy one of the breakfast boxes which consisted of a small bottle of warm juice, a piece of fruit and a muffin.

Thankfully I won't have to stay here again. I expect budget type accommodation at a travel lodge but when it was only £20 cheaper than my regular hotel (the Hilton) in York it starts to feel like a con

Avoid

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DBF29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

842 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    360
    300
    114
    38
    30
See reviews for
200
406
20
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Only stayed here for one night. Hotel is in a very good location for exploring York. Room was comfortable, clean & good value. Easy to find and secure parking was only 5 mins away. Would stay here again if visiting York.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PIGGOTTS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for one night it was a sunday which meant we didnt have to much noise from the wetherspoons pub which is attatched to to the hotel, might be a noise problem on a friday and saturday night if your room is facing the outside area of the pub but our room was a nice size spotlessly clean and a comfy bed and good sized bathroom with a good shower,staff were friendly and if your looking for a good value meal try the pub our mixed grill was good and staff were very attentive and helpful and provided great service all in all a good value hotel if you can get a good cheap rate like we did

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gresha1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Me and my husband and 2 children stayed here for 3 nights excellent value for money dufing school holidays, sightseeing and attractions all in walking distance. Great car parking at the barbican car park which is a 5 min walk, very secure and value for money you can get a voucher from hotel for discount on car park.
Would stay here again

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kerrysmurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

I had selected this Travelodge based on website photos, location and price and was delighted when we arrived. We had a family room which was spotless with very comfortable beds. There is a Wetherspoons in the same building which offered very good value breakfasts. I would ask for a room on the opposite side to the Wetherspoon's outdoor eating area as the noise from diners was quite loud at night with the window open for air, but the outdoor cleaning at 6 am was REALLY loud. We used the City bus tours to move around initially and the hotel is only a couple of minutes walk from stop 7. Would really recommend this lodge.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank 9MJM99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sterling
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

Great value hotel especially if you find a deal! its ideal for a 1 night stop off just depends what your looking for, it has everything you need for a comfy room with a Perfect location for central York clean rooms and friendly helpful staff. Would stay here again without hesitating.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davietaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

The hotel was easy to find. Reception staff friendly, open 24/7. Room comfortable. Parking is up the road at the Barbican this is a safe environment for the car. It's locked away over the duration of the stay. The hotel was clean. When you are there on a warm night you can borrow a fan from reception, hair dryers also from reception but I took my own. Hotel within walking distance of the sights of York.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank SophieT09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.5 mi away
Travelodge York Central Micklegate
0.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
0.0 mi away
Hotel 53
Hotel 53
#31 of 47 in York
1,785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Ibis York Centre
Ibis York Centre
#39 of 47 in York
1,877 reviews
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn York City (Blossom St South) Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#32 of 47 in York
1,658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge York Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge York Central

Property: Travelodge York Central
Address: 90 Piccadilly, York YO1 9NX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 47 Hotels in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge York Central 2*
Number of rooms: 141
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelodge Hotels Ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Travelodge York Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge York Central Hotel York
Central Travelodge York
Travel Lodge York
York Travelodge
York Travel Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing