We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel..Great Food”
Review of Holiday Inn York

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn York
Ranked #36 of 47 Hotels in York
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights while we visited York for the weekend. We got a taxi from the train station to get our bearings and it cost between £6-7 to reach the hotel. City centre is very easy to reach by taxi or by public transport. Bus stop is just on the main road and about 5 min walk from hotel front door. You can get an all day ticket for under £4.
When we arrived we were checked in quickly and we had a twin room on the ground floor. The room was a good size and had two comfy single beds, a chair in the corner, a desk, tv, wardrobe space, kettle and ironing board. The bathroom had a great shower in it and the usual toiletries you expect from a holiday inn.
Now this is my only gripe with the hotel and it is only a small one - we went to the desk to ask a question regarding the buses and there was 2 receptionists talking to each other, they turned round saw we were at reception but then carried on talking and left us standing there for quite a few minutes more. I would of minded if they carried on talking if the said to us ' I'll just be a minute' or similar. Ok Gripe over and that was a wee blip in this lovely hotel
We dined in the restaurant both night we were there and the food was amazing - i would highly recommend the pork belly or the sizziling pork as they were so scrummy and so tasty. The food was always piping hot and had lots and lots of flavour. If you order a side with your meal you get lots of it. We had chunky chips & roasted veg and we shared them between us. You didnt have to wait long for your food to arrive either and all the restaurant staff were very friendly and chatty.
This hotel might not be right in the city centre but is a great hotel to stay at when visiting york and is so easy to get to and is very quiet area to stay in.
Hopefully be back in beautiful york soon and this will be our first choice for our hotel

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scottishsuzee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,344)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn York
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,112 - 1,118 of 1,344 reviews

Reviewed 18 February 2012

Booked a 1 night stay during half term with our 4 year old, very impressed with this hotel, room a good size, our son loved his double sofa bed, our bed was very firm and could have been a bit comfier but its each to their own. The shower was great and the breakfast superb, is it possible to have too much to choose!! The hotel is in a good location behind the racecourse and a few hundred yards from one of the park and rides which is quite small and was very busy for our trip.
We ate dinner at The Fox and Roman across the road which again was very good. Overall very enjoyable stay and will use Holiday Inn again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mcray10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2012

the title says it all.

Everything you expect from holiday inn, clean practical hotel. Great service, fab restaurant.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveler071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2012

We returned again to HI York for a two night stay following a trip further south. Pleased to say we weren't disappointed! We had a quiet executive room, a large comfortable bed, plenty of tea and coffee facilities, fridge with complimentary water, clean bathroom...everything we needed.
As usual, staff were friendly, polite and attentive. I have already mentioned in another review about the location of the hotel which is about a 20 minute walk into the city or a 10 min bus ride...buses stop just further down from hotel. We enjoy being just outside of the city.
An excellent breakfast on both mornings set us up for shopping and exploring the city of York, which we have never tired of in many years of visiting. There is always something to do or find there! We will be returning there again and to the Holiday Inn!

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the garden or away from the lifts are quieter
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tricia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnYork, General Manager at Holiday Inn York, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2012

Dear Guest
Thank you so much for your kind comments, it really does make me ever so happy to read when our guests have a great stay with us.
Thank you very much for taking the time and trouble to complete this and I hope we can look forward to welcoming you back on many more occasions.
With kind regards
Louisa Green

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2012

Arrived by taxi from the station (about 10 minutes and £7 or £8) and was quickly checked-in. I was upgraded to an executive room, which was reasonably sized and was at the back of the hotel so was quiet. Breakfast was entirely in line with the usual Holiday Inn offering. It took about 30 minutes to walk back to the City Centre, but it was a pleasant walk and there are regular buses as an alternative. Paid around £70 for bed and breakfast.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hampshire-resident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnYork, General Manager at Holiday Inn York, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2012

Dear Guest
Thank you for your recent review on Trip Advisor. I am ever so pleased to read how you had a great stay with us and how you enjoyed a pleasant walk into York city centre.
Once again, many thanks and kind regards
Louisa Green

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2012

just spent a night in york with friends for a 50th birthday , stayed at the holiday inn , lovely hotel , rooms really comfortable and lovely and warm , (minus 4 degrees that night and 5 inches of snow) hotel staff really helpfull and very friendly .Pay for breakfast £7.50 , well worth the money lots of choice and again staff very helpfull and plesant .I would Highly recommed this hotel .

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaureenBarnett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnYork, General Manager at Holiday Inn York, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2012

Dear Guest
It was so lovely to read your recent review of the hotel and how much you enjoyed your stay with us.
Thank you ever so much for highly recommending us and I truly hope we can welcome you back to the Holiday Inn York again.
With kind regards
Louisa Green

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2012

Exec rooms have been refurbished but within the 4 walls that were there. The amount of space in each room is quite limited and the bathroom could not be any smaller! Wide choice of breakfast - full English and continental and the quality of the food was very good. It is self service apart from tea/coffee which comes in a very large pot. If you book room only you can take advantage of the hotel's discount offer of breakfast at £7.50 vs £12 if booked as part of the room. If visiting York make sure to visit Little Betty's in Stonegate for a late breakfast one morning.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnYork, General Manager at Holiday Inn York, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2012

Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the trouble to post a review further to your recent stay at the Holiday Inn York. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and I totally support that a must do in York is a trip to either Betty's or Little Betty's. And sorry for your disppointment that the bathrooms are on the small side, I hope that will not deter you from visiting us again in the future.
Kind regards
Louisa Green

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
4.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express York
0.2 mi away
York Marriott Hotel
3.9 mi away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
1.4 mi away
Best Western York Pavilion Hotel
2.1 mi away
Hotel Noir
Hotel Noir
#1 of 2 in Clifton
1,114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn York

Address: Tadcaster Road, York YO24 1QF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 47 Hotels in York
Price Range: £58 - £168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn York 3*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn York Hotel enjoys a prime location overlooking York Race course and is just 1.5 miles from the Historic City Centre of York, which boasts the York Minster, Shopping at The Shambles, University of York and the National Railway Museum. The Hotel is 1.5 miles from York Station and is easily accessible by road from the A64 and M1.Whether you're visiting York for a meeting, leisure break, sight seeing or simply to sample the great shopping delights that the city has to offer, the Holiday Inn York Hotel offers comfortable, modern, accommodation, fully air-conditioned throughout, suitable for both the business and leisure traveller.The Holiday Inn York is well equipped for hosting business meetings, weddings and social gatherings with seven meeting rooms that can accommodate 2 to 100 guests.The facilities and services at the hotel include our Family Friendly Restaurant; with 24 hr room service wireless internet access, and ample free car parking.Both Accessible and family rooms are available at the hotel.Kids Stay and Eat Free.* Also a fabulous location for a day at York Races ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, IHG, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn York Hotel York
York Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing