We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn York
Nearby Hotels
US$120
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$115
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
York Marriott Hotel(York)(Great Value!)
US$95
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$202
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$162
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Park Inn by Radisson York(York)(Great Value!)
US$225
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$101
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$129
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$116
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$133
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hilton York(York)
US$142
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$117
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$288
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$168
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Holiday Inn Express York(York)(Great Value!)
US$71
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn York City Centre(York)(Great Value!)
US$91
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,455)
Filter reviews
1,455 results
Traveller rating
367
585
344
115
44
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
367
585
344
115
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstadcaster roadcity centrerace coursecross keysexecutive roomsmall bathroomfree parkingreception staffbus stophotel restaurantcar parkbuffet stylewould stay againleave the carstayed one nightgood nights sleeptea and coffee
Filter
Updating list...
1,185 - 1,190 of 1,455 reviews
Reviewed 19 May 2012

Just returned from York races, staying at the Holiday Inn Tadcaster Road.York. Great location for the racecourse. Clean rooms,large spacious bar with good bar menu. The bedrooms were very clean and the bed was comfortable.The Hotels best asset was the friendliness of the staff well done. Will be back.

Room Tip: Try for an upgrade.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alexr1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2012

Holiday Inn York, Tadcaster Road, York, UK

I visited this hotel while on a business trip to the area in May 2012 for two nights.

The package included:
- Breakfast served in the restaurant
- Double bed
- Evening Meal

The hotel is located right next to the racecourse, which if I was here for the race day, would be excellent. Unfortunately I was here for business(!) However, if you wanted to get into the city centre, it is a 25 minute walk or a 5 minute taxi ride from the hotel location.

The room I had next to the car park on the 1st floor. There was no noise problem from cars, so that was good. However, the room's walls were plaster and quite thin and I got woken up by several people in the corridor and other rooms at 6am in the morning. This was probably the only downside. The rooms itself was okay (photos attached).

Food in the restaurant was okay (photos attached) and tasted okay. Service was good. Breakfast Buffet available in the morning and choice of mains in the evening.

Overall, the staff, comfort, service and general meals were okay.

Food = 7/10
Service = 8/10
Atmosphere = 6/10
Value for Money = N/A (unsure on costs due to business)
Sleep Quality = 6/10
Rooms = 6/10
Location = 5/10
Cleanliness = 8/10
Overall = 6.5/10

Twitter: @hanstar007 - Scouse BBC (British Born Chinese!) Civil Engineer interested in anything funny, useful, photos, places, tech & food! Pro at: badminton, footy & snowboarding ;p
United Kingdom ·

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hanstar007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2012

This hotel certainly makes the best of what it's got and is to be recommended. The service is excellent and the rooms are clean.

We stayed over the Easter weekend; the hotel was full. We were upgraded to a better room on the top floor which had a minibar and were delighted with this as a fridge is useful when you have children.

We received amazing service from the reception team. The manager was incredibly helpful with our tourist type questions. The staff ran a colouring competition and put up the children's pictures behind the front desk. All who entered received a small sweet which was a lovely touch.

The breakfast was excellent. There was a good choice of fruit alongside everything else you would expect. The breakfast team made our children feel special by giving them special bowls and plates on Easter Sunday. The pancake machine was fun - I have only seen these in the US before so a bit of a surprise!

There is a wii room for children and teenagers - I thought this was a great idea.

On the downside, the hotel is a 40 minute walk outside the centre of York. We got a Taxi into York which cost about £9 each way including tip. We then found out about the £7.50 all day family bus ticket which could be used as many times as you liked - excellent value and the stop is a 2 minute walk from the hotel.

The rooms are small, although we did have the sofa bed down for kids. I would say the bathroom is particularly small and may present a problem for a larger person.

Coach parties do seem to use this hotel and there was some noise from the coaches at the back of the hotel but I would not say this was a particular problem.

We would return to this hotel, thank you for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janet78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2012

Stayed here more due to circumstances than anything. Would not consider paying full rate, and even at a reduced rate it was so-so. the exterior was very dated: 1960s Eastern European. The roome was big and roomy and the bed comfortable. Overall cleanliness not great (some hairs in bath...defo not mine). Prices in the bar were eye-watering. Breakfast was a good selection of reasonable quality. It was a 20-30 min walk into town although plenty of taxis, so location was not too bad. The best thing about the hotel was the staff who were very friendly.

It would take a really good deal to get me to stay here again with a number of hotels and B&Bs around.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CelticFire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2012

The size of the sleeping area of the room was more than adequate, 3 of us had plenty of room. however the bathroom was very small, even a child using it struggled! The rooms do need updating but it was clean and we had a comfortable nights sleep. In comparison the bar and dining area had been refurbished and had a much more modern feel. The restaurant staff were very attentive during our evening meal and breakfast and the quality of food was good at both meals. The breakfast was replenished frequently (often a problem at some of the other Holiday Inns). We too had a problem with our food bill which didn't add up at all even the staff` couldn't work it out but it was resolved in the end. Position wise great for the races, we used the local park and ride service to get into York which was only a short journey so was ideal. Despite rooms needing a refurb I think this hotel still offers good value compared to other York hotels I've stayed in especially if you get one of the HB packages.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Littlehall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews