We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room shame about the food”
Review of Holiday Inn York

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn York
Ranked #36 of 47 Hotels in York
Reviewed 11 June 2012

I stayed for 4 nights at the holiday inn, Was pleased with the room, nice and clean. The breakfast was o.k, mediocre standard buffet. The club I was with ordered [in advance] a set evening meal, Soup, roast beef, desert. The soup was nice..but the roast beef looked and tasted like it had been sliced from a large wellington boot sole, it was tough and over cooked, the veg were raw and the roast potatoes the frozen variety. the profiteroles were soggy. The price £30 per head, the meal was worth perhaps £3 per head. Awful a never to be repeated experience

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,380)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,102 - 1,108 of 1,380 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2012

I think that most people can agree that - from some exterior angles - this hotel looks more like a small hospital. Which is to say that its exterior is a little dated. But, inside, we found everything clean and comfortable. You are in close proximity to the race course, and Tadcaster Road is a nice option if you feel like a walk through a very attractive residential neighborhood. The pub across the road - The Fox and the Roman - offers some creative variations on traditional English food. The single negative for this hotel is the distance from the town center. Not far, if you're comfortable traveling by city bus. But a solid 45 minutes, if you're walking.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nate1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

Bit worn but good breakfast in this racecourse hotel. Parking plentiful and free, Had a bit of trouble checking in - receptionist said I had not specified twin or double room and they only had twin left. A few minutes later they found a double so that was OK,

Room contained tired furniture though bed was comfortable, Curtains were good blackouts. Bathroom very small = much smaller than other hotels.

Another reviewer had mentioned a pancake machine like they have in US. We have used lots of waffle machines in US so presumed this is what he meant. It did turn to be a machine that delivers 2 perfect little pancakes and the hotel kindly provide maple syrup. The rest of the buffet breakfast is good making this one of the best we have had anywhere.

As others have commented, the pub across the road is OK for evening meal - their cod loin for a tenner was good and for £15 they offer 2 courses and a glass of wine - though I do not personally approve of cheap alcohol deals and thnk we should follow Scotland and have a minimum unit price.

So if you want an OK hotel with a good breakfast in this part of York - this is worth a try

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank glenberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2012

6 minutes by bus to the City Centre.

Lovely hotel, great staff, stay here for your visit to York.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neal-Ball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2012

We stayed in a family room but was disappointed with the quality. The bathroom was particulary bad. The tiles were broken and had no grout in many places. There was a lot of black mould around the bath and shower. The toilet also took at least 5 goes to make it flush and the extractor fan didnt work which left the whole room full of steam and smelling damp.
We think for the prices being charged this was far from value for money or the quality you should expect.
There was only 2 visible disabled parking spaces for the whole hotel so we had to park around the back and walk in the pooring rain with our cases despite just having an operation the week before.
The sound proofing was very poor so you could hear a lot of noise from ajoining rooms.

Staff were friendly however and did their best to make us feel welcome.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank porsche996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2012

Stayed here while visiting York with family, and stayed in a family room. The room is quite small, and bathroom is crammed tight. The hotel internally is quite dated and in need of refurbishment, it looks ok from the outside to entice you in. I would stay elsewhere if I was to come to York again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SukyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012

Lovely restaurant staff.Wonderful breakfast on parellel to any 5 star buffet breakfast .Clean room .Nice and quiet and easy to get into city centre. For the money we paid we were well satisfied.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Englandsixpence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
4.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express York
3.9 mi away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
0.2 mi away
York Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hotel Noir
Hotel Noir
#1 of 2 in Clifton
1,139 reviews
1.4 mi away
Best Western York Pavilion Hotel
1.4 mi away
Hampton by Hilton York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn York

Address: Tadcaster Road, York YO24 1QF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 47 Hotels in York
Price Range: £56 - £216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn York 3*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn York Hotel enjoys a prime location overlooking York Race course and is just 1.5 miles from the Historic City Centre of York, which boasts the York Minster, Shopping at The Shambles, University of York and the National Railway Museum. The Hotel is 1.5 miles from York Station and is easily accessible by road from the A64 and M1.Whether you're visiting York for a meeting, leisure break, sight seeing or simply to sample the great shopping delights that the city has to offer, the Holiday Inn York Hotel offers comfortable, modern, accommodation, fully air-conditioned throughout, suitable for both the business and leisure traveller.The Holiday Inn York is well equipped for hosting business meetings, weddings and social gatherings with seven meeting rooms that can accommodate 2 to 100 guests.The facilities and services at the hotel include our Family Friendly Restaurant; with 24 hr room service wireless internet access, and ample free car parking.Both Accessible and family rooms are available at the hotel.Kids Stay and Eat Free.* Also a fabulous location for a day at York Races ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Superbreak UK, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Holiday Inn York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn York Hotel York
York Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing